Customer Reviews for

The Secret (Extended Edition)

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(78)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is what started it all for me!

When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was st...
When I found this I finally started my journey to a happier me. I was lost before in the routine of my terribly boring everyday life. All I wanted to do was sleep, to provide me with some sort of stimulation compared to the monotiny of the same ?!&% everyday! I was stuck in a big way and this is the door that I opened and stepped through and have not looked back. This is a wonderful starting point for those who are lost or stuck. I have a bunch of wonderful recommendations to watch and rad as well. Good Luck and God Bless!

posted by FindingMyWay on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Truths diluted by mystical, new age crap. Good, but could have been great.

This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this ...
This mystical, new-age crap about "the Universe" flooding you with money and power, or whatever else your heart desires, is silly. How can you believe in some nameless, faceless, mystical power, when there is so much evidence to point to an actual God, who created this world, who is our Father in Heaven, and who wants what is best, in the long term, for his spirit children here on Earth? Why is it easier to believe that crystals give you mystical energy, that "the Universe" gives you what you want, regardless of how righteous or evil, and that sin doesn't exist? Now for the actual footage - the beginning is overly melodramatic, quite nerdy, if you ask me. The Good: There is a lot of truth "Golden Rule, disguised in mystical terminology" in this infomercial. It will inspire many to be more focused, and to accomplish more. The Bad: Again, the new-age mysticism is irritating, as well as misleading to those who don't know better, so make sure you watch this with a healthy sense of skepticism for the more fantastic claims, and do your best to enjoy this very slick media production. Other than the cheesy introduction, the rest exhibits high production standards, and while some of the content is suspect, it contains a lot of good information, so it's worth the watch if you can get past the mystical new-age vocabulary "and some of the false claims".

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    91 minutes of wide open eyes and mouth

    I've read a lot of the reviews and was most surprised by the negative ones after seeing this DVD. All I can say to those writers is that you have never been in any of the positions that the narrators emphasize. About 5 minutes into this DVD, I was hooked. Unable to blink. It was difficult to close my mouth. The next day, two scenarios came true for me. The most amazing part is that it seems so simple. To those of you who call it magic or complain that these principles have been preached time and time again...well, you are right..There is nothing new in this DVD. But once you relate your own experiences to just one scenario in this movie you will understand that the techniques were developed just for YOU. Gothic music aside, there is no hokus pokus in this DVD. Its quite simply "the bag with a million dollars in it sitting on your bookshelf with dust on it". You can bring that bag of money down any time you want. But we have gone for years and years bypassing that bag. I'll tell you a story if you have the time to read... When I was a very little boy, maybe 3 or 4 years old, I recall sitting on my babysitters lap "I actually remember this story", and she was cracking open pistachio nuts for me to eat. there was one nut that sat very close to me on the table that she was putting them on once the shells were gone. This particular nut appeared to have the shell still on it. So I didn't touch it. I would wait for her to crack more open. It wasn't until she asked me why didn't I eat the one closest to me that I realized that it was without its shell. I will tell you that this particular pistachio nut was the best tasting of all the ones she cracked open for me on that day. And it sat closest to me the entire time. Pick up The Secret. Watch it. Live it. Your life is about to change.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better Than the Book

    "The Secret" DVD has fantastic visual imagery and promotes a clear message of positive thought and attracting our cherished goals into our lives. The teachings contained in this DVD are based on Charles F. Haanel's book "The Master Key System." This was a system that he mailed in the 1900's to subscribers for $1500 per course, which was at that time a huge amount of money. "The Secret" DVD dramatizes Haanel's teachings. Your thinking and feelings attract or repel money, relationships and health in your life. It's like a magentic energy that you build up with your thoughts and enthusiasm. Wealth, relationships and health are all created from a mindset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    If you are looking for a change,"no matter what it is" this will help! if anybody complains, they are usally complaining about the price, or that they "Knew this already" they are not thinking possitive thoughts,"One of the main points of the Secret" this is wonderful. It is only 30 dollars lol, some are ready for this information, and some are not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How can you not think positive after reading this book.

    I am very thankful and excited this morning. I started reading this book last night and finished it. Even if you already know this info. It doesn't hurt to be reminded of how our daily lives can be happy no matter what is going on. I can hardly believe anyone could write a negative review after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    It's a wonderfull book which I recommend deeply. I have giving this book to my children's teachers as a end of the year thank you gift. It works wonders.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie changed my life. I recommend it to anyone! Absoloutely amazing. I really dont know what else to say aside from it changed my life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Have You Thought About Your Thinking Lately?

    If more people in this world watched this movie, it would make it a lot happier place to be!!! The idea that you can control your destiny by thinking positively is amazing. Opens you eyes to possibility.....what a wonderful thing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the wonders of it all

    I recieved the secret as a gift from my friend, i had just finished reading, ask and it shall be given and many other books. but the secret was able to place everything that i had read into prospective, i am now on a journey to paradise, the best part of seeing this show on opera was sharing it with my children. my two grown children now understand what i have been trying to relate to both of them for such a long time my son brought the dvd and my daugther got the book, and they are both trilled. They will pass it on to my 5 grandchildren. Today i e-mailed everyone i could think of and told them about the book and ask them to just keep an open mind and listen to what i had to say, I also ask them to watch opera tonight, so that they would be able to understand what i am trying to give them all as a gift, one that they will cherish for the rest of their lives, just like i am doing and my children and friends that are open minded are doing. I thank you and I thank opera because i dont think she has a cule on what she has presented and i guess by the responce that she has recieved, she now does. I have a feeling that because of this show which aired on the secret the world is going to change and opera for being has open minded as she is and Rhonda Byrne and all who had part in bringing this beautiful book with so much love to all who are willing to open their mind and see that this is a gift that we were born with and we are all intitled to live a wonderful life. there is going to be so much positive energy going around because of this book,and it will have a dameno effect, so many lives are going to be touch, that i am sure that those who are still doubting will have to go and pick the book. again I thank you opera because you are the link to the world and by presenting the Secret you have just change it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Law of Attraction Works!

    I am so glad that someone has finally pulled the Law of Attraction into the media. The media always seems to focus on the bad things that happen in our world. As we know, what we focus on expands. I believe that our childhood obesity epidemic is a direct result of many parents fearing that their neighborhood is unsafe because of what we hear about in the news. We keep our children in the house, where they typically sit in front of a screen, which has been linked to obesity. Maybe the media will begin to realize that we need to focus more on all of the good people and things that are happening around us. If someone needs to lose weight, they should focus on being healthy and lean, not on their bad habits and unfit bodies. Thank you Oprah for helping to share this message. Jill Fleming, MS, RD Professional Speaker & Author of Thin People Don't Clean Their Plates: Simple Lifestyle Choices for Permanent Weight Loss (The Thin People Series)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Life-Changing Video

    This information will change your life if you allow it. The video is dynamic and beautifully arranged. Miracles are possible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    You guys are rediculous...It does work! I tried it"thinking about money" 3 Days in a row there was a check that came out of nowhere each day. It was unexpected! Besides for you negative people, what if it doesn't work...what is wrong with hoping for something good rather then expecting/dwelling on negative crap. You wonder why your marriages suck, why you don't get that promotion, why it seems like rain clouds are over your life. Yet someone else can live a great prosperous life and everything goes great. Yes they still have challenges but they have a better outlook on life, so they handle it better. God is no respector of persons, therefore if they can live life always happy and have good things and riches happen to them why can't you. The reason everyone isn't rich is becuase there are people like yourselves who never beleive anything is real. It's one thing for non-christians to be POOR, but for christians to be POOR is CRAZY! You are a child of the almighty KING OF KINGS, all the riches and glory he has, you to can have...You just need to seize the moment and go after it. People ask "what is wrong with america?" Has it ever crossed your mind it's you negative people who have no dreams or ambitions ruining it for the rest of us. All the murder and racism going on is crazy. If everyone would look at themselves and fix the problems with themselves, the world would be a better place. Even if your dreams don't come true, wouldn't it better to live your life in a positive manner rather then being stuck in the rat race being selfish and miserable while other people live life to the fullest. God wants us to enjoy life. People want God taken off the money and out of schools and then wonder why tragedy strikes them and those around them???You might want to do a self evaluation before blaming God. he loves you and wants to bless you, you need to let him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    fact: the secret works.

    to you negative people: if its not working for you then your doing it wrong. just yesterday i was thinking positively about getting money. i went to bed listening to the secret soundtrack and i left the dvd running on loop while i slept. i was thinking "more money, more money, more money," and the next day i got a letter from the IRS saying i had done my taxes wrong and payed too much money so they gave me some back. seriously, when does that happen?!?using the secret, i made my lupus go INTO REMISSION. beleive it or don't, use it or don't, its a free country, but those of us who KNOW will be living at the top.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A secret revealed

    This was a very inspiring movie to watch. It is life changing. In my opinion I see this as open door to reveal secrets about life and how to think of it in a more positive way. Everyone I know that has watched this has dramatically changed thier life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I use this to make my life better!!!!

    I have been using this DVD to make my life better, and I can't wait for it to start working!!!! So far, I guess I have been sort of having negative thoughts or bad energy or something, because things have pretty much been the same for me, more or less, which I'm sure is totally my own fault. But I'm trying!!! I want my life to be the kind of life where I think what I want and then I get what I want, like how Oprah is. I wish it was easier to not have negative thoughts, because they are the only reason this isn't working to make me super rich and famous and happy. I'm my own worst enemy!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is TOTALLY a life changing movie if YOU ARE READY for changes in your life.... I saw it, and immediatelly, my whole attitude chanched, and from that, my life has changed. Not because I won a lotto ticket, or because now a own a BMW, I don't.. but it changed because now I really know I can really have everything I want if I really beleive it and foccus on it.. Of course you have to move, and make things happen to, you have to put in some help, even to win the lotto, you need to move to go and buy a ticket, so, if you put action to your feelings and visions, at the end you WILL GET THE RESULTS YOU WANT!! Believe it or not, it happens, SO REALLY... BE VERY CAREFULL ON WHAT YOU THINK AND WHAT YOU SAY... YOU MAY BE MAKING YOUR OWN ROAD TO HEAVEN OR HELL.. And for all the negative comments, well, I bet their lifes are not so good. And with that negative attitude, it will probably keep being that way......... SORRY.. But negative people ALWAYS get a NEGATIVE LIFE... OPEN YOUR EYES AND YOUR MINDS, AT LEAST GIVE IT A TRY, WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO LOOSE??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    I completely enjoyed this video. It is very life changing. It is a common sense eye opener. Positive "Thinking" is not as easy as it seems. Thinking is one thing but feeling and believing is another. Sure we can think positive but do we believe what we think or is it simply "wishful thinking"? That is what this documentary is about. If you really want to understand this video watch - What the bleep do we know!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally the rebirth of old knowledge.

    What I liked was because of Oprah today there are millions exposed to a different method of change. One that is not simply positive thought. A method that can only be initiated by yourself. It did not matter to me that the people who produced this DVD are boosted to the top of the heap by Oprah. What matters is that many of her viewers would never have been exposed otherwise. What I didn't care about was how easy they made it sound. I have worked this program for over 35 years. It takes discipline, direction and a will to hang in there no matter how tough the road might seem. Is it worth the effort? You bet! There are hundreds of book with the same information. There are hundreds of teachers who have been teaching the exact same thing FOR YEARS. But this group somehow "clicked" with the world ... so hooray for them. And hooray for the world because those who have the tenacity to stick to this WILL make it a better place for us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Secret

    I made this work!!!!! For the bad reviews!!! how great is your life right now!!! If it was GREAT the only thing you could wright in you review is GREAT!!! The Secret can really help and it does take work ,,but it's amazing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FINALLY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am a true example of what this book teaches. After years of struggling to find myself, I have finally done so! I even have fun with the law of attraction since I have the power to do as I please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT BOOK

    This is a great family DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 78 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4