Customer Reviews for

The Secret Life of Bees

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Faithful to the Book

    Interesting story of a young girl seeking her mother's identity while helping herself and her black caretaker escape from the cruel father who blames her for her mother's death. They meet three unique sisters who share a house and secrets that eventually bring closure and hope for the future to everyone. Well performed--casting was excellent Unlike most book adaptations, this one was faithful to the book except in a couple of very minor details. Read the book, saw the movie at the theater then bought the DVD.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    I generally do not watch any production of my favorite books although I am thrilled I took the time to watch this. This movie has an amazing cast and follows the book almost exactly. I would recommend it to anyone who has or has not read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    The Secret Life of Bee┬┐s was a wonderful book written by Sue Mon

    The Secret Life of Bee’s was a wonderful book written by Sue Monk Kidd about the hard life of Lily Owens. Lily Owens is a teenage girl who lives in South Carolina set in 1964. Lily’s life is based on a small memory of her mom that died, a mother that Lily accidentally killed. Lily is determined to escape her dreadful home and her cruel father T. Ray. They go to a place where Lily thinks her mother has been, Tiburon, South Carolina. Lily and Rosaleen find themselves living with the Boatwright sisters, a group of sisters that own a bee farm and sell Black Madonna Honey. Lily thinks her mother has known the Boatwright sisters at one point in her life. Through Lily’s inspiring journey she finds comfort, new discoveries, secureness, and even love. Lily deals with guilt from lying and grief for her dead mother. She is always alert in case someone tries to figure out all her secrets. The Boatwright sisters also have their own problems. May, the youngest, deals with the grief from her dead twin sister and can’t seem to keep herself happy. August, the oldest, is the mother of the family, she keeps everything and everyone going. June on the other hand is a closed book. June only opens up to certain people, Lily not being one of them, June and Lily’s relationship grows as the book continues on. 
    I believe modern day readers could relate to the characters in this story. The mood in this story is very wide-ranging. I feel as though the mood would appeal to a wide audience of readers. The characters portray the mood very well. Lily portrays fear but also strength. May portrays sadness and lostness. August and Rosaleen both portray braveness and T. Ray gives the book a hint of a sinister feel. One thing I liked most about the book was how believable the characters’ actions were. The authors tone really showed through in the characters’ actions. It showed how the author felt about each situation and how she would have dealt with it. I feel as though if I were in the situations that the characters were in I would have dealt with them the same way. 
    My opinion is that I loved this book. It is hard to point out just one favorite thing about the book because it was all so great. Something I really liked was the setting. I usually don’t read books that are set in the past but after reading this book I definitely will read more. I especially liked how they tied in different parts of history and made connections to the real world. Another thing I loved was the point of view. Lily told the whole story through her eyes and talked about how each thing affected her. I usually like when books have different points of views but sometimes that can get confusing. This book was not at all confusing. I can’t even think of one bad thing about this book, it was just so well written. If I could change something about the book it would be that they should make a sequel. I would love to see how Lily’s journey continues. 
    Finally I would definitely recommend this book to another person. Judging by how well written this book is I feel like any type of reader would enjoy it. Especially readers who are into the civil rights movement, realistic fiction, and inspiring stories. Overall this book included so many great messages that really changed my perspective on some things. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST SINCE BEDTIME STORIES

    I absolutely adore the book and the movie! Lily is the best, but the best characters are Rosaleen, August and May. I would say buy it as soon as you can. I can guarantee that you won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't miss Secret Life of Bees

    Well crafted, well acted and directed. Thoughtful, insightful, revealing and very human. I cared about the well-being of the the characters and was touched by their experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Secret Life of Bees

    Delightful! Warm hearted tale of family, love and hope. Fantastic cast with superb acting. Everyone was absolutely wonderful. Will be a classic among the great classics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VERY WELL DONE AND ENTERTAINING

    I started reading the book and stopped -- even though the book is very good and well written. I found the movie to be more to my liking than the book -- possibly because of the actors involved. Their performances were convincing and likeable -- even understated which made them more believeable. The movie is visually appealing as well. I will watch this movie again and again and would highly recommend it; although I believe women will get this movie where men may not. While it is not a "chick flick," it speaks more to emotions and relationships, and let's face it, this is not where many men's strengths lie. Overall -- wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    Good story, strong characters, excellent actors, what more could you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See

    This movie is a great movie to see. It has wisdom and history plus this century background. A must see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    excellent movie

    excellent movie....relationships between characers provided an insight to past ways....while providing an excellent tale which kept you hanging (future scenes sometimes tricky to predict)...just keep a box of tissues handy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Movie Cried like a baby

    I'm usually the very talkative one on a review but i'm speechless. All I can say is "Bravo! Bravo!" I literally turned into the stereotype woman with the box of tissues. Great movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DVD doesn't work

    I purchased the Secret Life of Bees and cannot play it in any of my DVD players. Since you cannot return opened DVD's to the store I'm stuck with a movie I can't view. What a disappointment!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Cast

    This movie tells the other side of what it was like in the 60's. African-Americans actually living their lives like they always did. Keeping each other going, keeping each other strong and letting life go on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM LOVING IT

    great movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Secret Life of Bees

    This was an extremely captivating movie that addresses a host of issues which include diversity, mental illness and the strength of women in society. I would recommend it for ages 14 and older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved this movie

    I kept seeing previews for this movie so I rented it. I thought the movie was amazing.I thought the acting was really good. I really liked the cast and thought that they were well chosen. I would recommend this movie to just about anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly good

    I was bored last wk-end and ordered this on PPV. The storyline was shockingly great the rest of it- adequate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Secret Life of BS!

    Yea, I don't know why people love this movie so much, the only good acting in this movie came from Sophie Okonedo. Dakota's acting was a little dissapointing and the acting from those wonderful hip hoppers: Alicia, Jennifer, and Latifah was so amazingly horrible! And I expected them to be horrible, but not that bad! The romance between Dakota and her little boyfriend was cheezy to the point of laughing, especially the part when he gets purple honey on his finger and Dakota sucks it off seductively. A little absurd for a couple young kids to do to build a romance in a movie! The plot dragged out, characters were 2 dimensional, and i almost turned it off! I know this movie is a period piece, but cmon Hollywood, can we stop making movies that portray white people as dumb hillbillies who just go around beating up African Americans?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Page to Screen

    A beautiful, thoughtful, lovely faithful adaptation of the book. The actors truly fill their characters with inner-light and tenderness. I thought the selections of the actors were spot on perfect. Many times books to screen fall short of our expectations but this one does not. <BR/>I was moved to tears and thoroughly enjoyed this jewel of a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3