Customer Reviews for

The Shawshank Redemption

Average Rating 5
( 82 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE MOVIE THAT HIT ME BECAUSE IT WAS SO GOOD AND I WORK THERE!

    The movie was so great! One of the best I've ever seen. I also work there, and it is so neat how I see every thing that was in the movie. And I think of how great that movie was. What I do is, I work that at the Hollowween tours. You should come and when your not being scared, take a look around at how great of place that was, and see where one of the best movies where made. I mean I'm only 13 and I thought it was a SUPER movie. The Shawshank Redemption, was flimed at the Mansfeild Reformatory, one of the oldest '' jails'' in Ohio. Just thought you might want to know that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uplifting, a great movie!!!!

    I recommend this movie to everyone, even people who don't like dramas. Its a story about hope. This should be on everyones favorites list. In other word, THIS WAS A GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    great movie

    amazing film the director did the orginial story alot of justice this movie is amazing from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Shawshank Redemption

    The Shawshank Redemption starring Morgan Freeman and Tim Robbins is the story of a man condemned to life in prison for a murder that he did not commit. His resourcefulness and ingenuity inspires other prisoners and lead to his eventual ingenious escape. It is an inspirational film that showcases the power of the human spirit to triumph over the most horrific adversities

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest movie ever

    There is not much i can say about this movie that has probably not allready been said. If you have not seen it before, don't let the opportunity pass. This movie will stick in you mind and soul forever. On that note i would like to reccomend a book that i feel the same about, it is called Endurance and it was written by Alfred Lansing. It is a true story and many other people have also written about it under the same title so if you ever do decide to read "Endurance" make sure you read the version by Alfred Lansing. I say this beacause he actually met all the people involved and they lent him their diaries for the sake of the book. But back to the movie, don't go to your death bed without seeing this film. it is also very long and emotionally draining so i would recccomend watching it when you are relaxed, have no distractions present or anything else to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    An unforgettable prison film done excellently from a Stephen King book of the same title.

    To see what a man can do if he really puts his mind to a purpose, to make it out of purgatory Shawshank prison. Is very inspiring Andys will to survive and overcome his imprisonment and give hope to his fellow inmates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgettable

    This is a movie that causes you to ponder on it for months - even years after you have seen it. The acting is exceptional and the situations so realistic that it stirs all the emotions, causing the viewer to experience the full range, varying from anger to joy...and even tears. It also provides many life lessons as it inspires hope. As a result one never gets tired of viewing the movie and may even gain further insights that were missed in a previous viewing. It is a must see for all teenagers and adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Makes a craft out of an industry.

    So many prison or "gritty" movies are action oriented, "in your face" drama and play for shock value. The Shawshank Redemption is very very real without screaming and shouting this fact. Its presentation of the realities of prison life inspire empathy, not pity. If the two seem the same to you, watch this movie and see the difference. Pity takes away dignity, empathy allows a person to keep their dignity and their humanity while expressing troubles and pain. When one stops to think of all that happens to Andy, one should feel incredible revulsion and pity. Instead, the movie leaves one with a renewed sense of empathy with one's fellow humans and , oddly, a sense of peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    True Redemption

    Morgan Freeman as Red just took this movie to a level beyond any other regular "as real as it gets" prison films. Tim Robbins as the quiet yet tough Andy Dufresne brings to life the corrupt nature of our penal system past and present as the wealthy bank vice president is ushered into the ugly realities of a maximum security prison: gang rape, sadistic guards, everday tedium, corrupt warden, vicious cell mates, and the business of life behind bars with a life sentence. Even though he was set up to go to prison, the tenaciousness of Dufresne wins over respect from the hardened convicts. I love it when the squealing guard gets his justice and the warden blows his brain into the world of hell. The System is as demeaning as the prisoners are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Prison love

    This is a great movie eventhough they spend too much time on getting punked out but the LT seems to enjoy the beatings and the flick seems to show how everyone in prison is innocent. Hard time my friend but not spent on this movie. One of the best prison movies ever. Adapted from little Stevie King's novel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brian 15, movie buff

    I've loved Shawshank for the longest time, Morgan Freeman is hands down my favorite actor of all time and this is my favorite movie of his and my favorite movie regardless of his presence. I'm pretty sure that Tim Robbins got snubbed for his potrayal of Andy Dufresne, who in the darkest moments shed a bit of light on the situation. I've not seen a better movie in my life and unfortunately i don't have this movie on DVD but i will be buying it soon. Morgan Freeman is my hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!!!!!

    I just love this story, it is a classic. Great Morgan Freeman performance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    By far, my favorite movie of all time

    I absolutely love this movie, and am so glad it's finally getting the special edition version it originally deserved. I think I caught this movie when it was on HBO once, and I just fell in love with it from the first scene I caught. It was the first DVD I bought when I got my player, and whenever it's on TV, my family literally cannot watch it if something else is going on, cause we'll get sucked in. It's that good. It never gets old. And it has such a good message. So few films do any more. It makes you hope, and see that what's on the surface isn't always necessarily what you're going to get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2004

    A REAL CLASSIC!!!

    This is one of the best movies of all time, and definitely Stephen King's finest. I have watched it over and over, and never get tired of it....truly great! If there were more than five stars to give, I would vote the maximum!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ONLY prison movie better than 'Cool Hand Luke'

    Among the many 'prison flicks' to come down the pike over the past 7 or 8 decades, there are only a precious few which make us want to see them again and again...The very best of these is The Shawshank Redemption. This is the cream of the crop. The beautifully-crafted, heartbreaking story unfolds gradually and drags us in so completely that the dank, gray walls and bars inside Shawshank make us want to reach for a warm blanket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Keeping Hope Alive in Shawshank

    The Shawshank Redemption is a movie about hope. The main character, Andy Dufrane, struggles against despair in order to keep his hopes alive. Wrongly convicted of a double murder, Andy has been sentenced to two life sentenced in Shawshank Prison. Staying afloat in prison is a difficult task for Andy. Violent inmates and corrupt guards make for an depressing setting, much different than Andy's fromer ''rich banker'' life style. Through all of the beatings from the inmates and working for the corrupt employees, Andy maintains hope that one day he will be free. Andy's friends help him keep his dream alive. The message the movie ultimatly sends to its viewers, is to never give up on hope. No matter how awful things might get, you can't just lay down and die, you have to keep fighting. Andy's attitude throughout the movie is just this. Getting beaten up by prison guards, spending a month in solitary confinment, watching old friends leave the prison, and running the corrupt warden's side businesses, never seem to phase Andy in any way. Although sometimes Andy has to find ways to keep his spirits up. Playing Motzart, polishing rocks, and playing checkers with Red were just a few of the things that Andy did to keep his mind off being in prison. One of the big topics of the movie, is how being in prison too long can make a inmate ''institutionalized.'' Andy has to fight off not only other inmates, but just becoming too familiar with being caged. Watching Andy deal with all of the traumas of his life somehow makes all of your own troubles seem less severe. So you didn't make the high school basketball team. At least you still have the freedom to do what you please. Andy's drive for hope is an admirable one. Even during the worst of times, Andy never wavers. Andy's friend Red, describes Andy as a bird that just wasn't meant to be caged, his feathers were just too pretty. Faced with the same situation, I would try to deal with things in a way similar to Andy. This movie is a must see for everyone. Whether you are in high school or in a retirement home, The Shawshank Redemption will be a movie you will remember for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An immediate classic

    This is one of my favorite movies. You can't go wrong with the actors in this movie. Absolutely brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robbins is average -but-Freeman Rocks

    The movie opens with a shell-shocked Tim Robbins fumbling about in his car-he ends up in Shawshank Prison. His acting is not detrimental to the film but is certainly uninspired. It turns a 5 star film into a great 4 star film. On the other hand, Morgan Freemans character narrates our tour of Shawshank and brings us into the film by giving the viewer a multitude of roles to identify with. He is the ''wise old man'' and the only ''guilty'' man in the prison. The movie also has 2 of the best ''bad guy'' roles you'll ever see. It is worthy of borrowing for a view before a purchase-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the greatest movie of all time

    the shaw shank redemption is the greatest movie ever made without a doubt. the characters are truly talented and the plot even better. the surprises keep you on the edge of your seat and you are unable to guess the end but when it comes you are so pleased yuo would do it all over again. Ilove it so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't miss this film!

    This story proves that Steven King's talent goes way beyond the scare-fests he's famous for - and the screen adaptation is brilliant. It's a fantastic movie about faith and hope, despair and depression, will and bravery. Tim Robbins really brings Andy to life, Morgan Freeman is a wonderful Red and the rest of the supporting cast is equally great. I've watched this movie countless times, and each time I see it I say to myself, ''What a truly good movie''!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 82 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5