Customer Reviews for

The Shining

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Master's Version

Make no mistake, THIS is the completely credible film version of one of Stephen King's best books. This movie was quite difficult for me to watch - (and THAT is what horror is supposed to be about). It is very true to the book and so realistic, that it becomes absolutel...
Make no mistake, THIS is the completely credible film version of one of Stephen King's best books. This movie was quite difficult for me to watch - (and THAT is what horror is supposed to be about). It is very true to the book and so realistic, that it becomes absolutely nail-bitingly intense. As King did/does in (all of) his book(s), this film takes the time to actually develop real characters that you can identify with and relate to, and then creates situations that will make you mind-numbingly nervous. Once you see this version, you will NEVER bother to watch the Kubrick version again. NEVER!

posted by 1102822 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

'Whaaaat?'

This movie sucks. I know King favors this one, but it's not scary. Stanley Kubric's movie may not follow the book, but the feeling of dread matched King's masterpiece of a horror novel. Read the book or watch Kubric's movie instead of watching this turd.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Master's Version

    Make no mistake, THIS is the completely credible film version of one of Stephen King's best books. This movie was quite difficult for me to watch - (and THAT is what horror is supposed to be about). It is very true to the book and so realistic, that it becomes absolutely nail-bitingly intense. As King did/does in (all of) his book(s), this film takes the time to actually develop real characters that you can identify with and relate to, and then creates situations that will make you mind-numbingly nervous. Once you see this version, you will NEVER bother to watch the Kubrick version again. NEVER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Stephen King's "The Shining"

    This is the true King original. Unlike Kubrick's mess from the 80's which was dramatically OVER acted, took enormous liberties,featured Duval as a lame/sad wife with no gumption, and Nicholson and his over the top madness. This lengthier version, which is well acted, allows for great character development and follows King's storyline to a "T". For those fans of the book, THIS is the movie version for you! Forget Kubrick's version and buy this one - you will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Comparatively Awful

    I understand that Stephen King fans would truly like to regard this film as 'The Real Shining'. And I get it when King himself, along with his minions, were thoroughly dissapointed by the liberties taken by Kubrick in his very loose adaptation of King's novel, but let's get real here! This made for tv mess is boring, unfrightening, and poorly acted. Weber is no Nicholson. Demornay is no Duval. And this not a good film by any stretch. Kubrick's visionary take on the goings-on at the Overlook Hotel far surpass this dreck and is truly a masterpiece, not just in the horror/thriller genre, but in the greater pantheon of film in genreal. There are no ambiguities here. The plot unravels smoothly and predictably. We are not challenged or scared with this adaptation whatsoever. I understand the production values pale in comparison to the Kubrick version, but there isn't one iota of creativity in the presentation of this tale. While Kubrick's was a tour de force of color, sights, and sounds, this was drab, univentive, and stagnant. Do not waste 4 1/2 hours of your time on King's crybaby ego-trip. Watch a true master of film strut his stuff in the 1980 version, faithful or not to King's original vision.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A real King movie

    I loved this movie so much more than the Kubrick version -- which was about Nicholson's character, not about the child. I prefer the actors in this version, too, especially De Mornay (a much stronger woman, not whinny like Duvall's version of the character), and the character of the cook. Finally, filming at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park, CO gives it more realism. As a true King fan, I give this version an "all thumbs up."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Whaaaat?'

    This movie sucks. I know King favors this one, but it's not scary. Stanley Kubric's movie may not follow the book, but the feeling of dread matched King's masterpiece of a horror novel. Read the book or watch Kubric's movie instead of watching this turd.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    Unbearable. Excruciatingly dull, badly edited, amateurish dialog

    Unbearable. Excruciatingly dull, badly edited, amateurish dialogue. A product of King's arrogance, rather than his talent.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece!!!

    Emmy's should have been given to the entire cast for their heartwrenching performances. I particularly liked Steven Weber and Courtland Mead in this film. Not overly acted and very true to the book. I would rate it a 10 out of 10 like T.V. Guide did not to mention the LA Times and Variety also gave it AMAZING reviews, so who am I to argue with them? Congratulations to the rest of the crew as well. The sound, music, mixing and foley added to the suspense and captured the emotions of the characters. It really drew me in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Anyone Who Loved The Book Sould Love This Filmed Adaptation!

    I read the Stephen King book and liked it alot and thought it was very scary and after I read the book I watched the Stanley Kubrick movie which was good and very scary but so many great things from the book were left out and that was a little disappointing so when I heard about this new mini series version I bought the DVD and I watched it and I thought it was superb, scary and thrilling and I thought the acing was great by the entire cast but especially, Steven Weber as Jack, Rebecca De Mornay as Wendy and Courtland Meade as Danny and I like how this version was for the most part very faithful to the book but the only complaint I have is with the goofy ending with Jack and Danny at the high school graduation, it just seemed tacked on and unnecessary but it doesn't ruin the rest of this mosty superb production and I highly recommend it to people who like Stephen King and have read his awesome book The Shining!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good adaption of kings book

    When I saw the Kubrick version of the film, it was before I had read the book, and I liked it. Now having read the book, I still like it eventhough there is not much of kings book in it. This version however sticks very close to the book. Practically all of the scenes from the book are in this review (the wasps nest, the scene with the doctor, the topiary animals, ect.) Also Steven Weber is super as Jack Torrance with his madness building very gradually. Rebecca De Mornay is pretty good as Wendy Torrance, though at one part I thought she seemed unusually calm given that her husband is about to beat her with a wooden mallet. Courtland Mead is terrific as Danny, and he's also good at showing fear on his face in a unique way. The only thing that I did not like in this version (the reason for the 4 star rating) is not particularly scary. There are maybe a few creepy scenes (the dead woman in the bathtub for example) but it is not very scary like theb Kubrick version. All in all when I want to see the book, I watch this version, when I want to see a good horror film, I watch Stanley Kubrick's version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A great fix to an already great movie

    I saw this movie when it first aired and I have been looking for a copy ever since. The Kubric version is a great movie, but King's version is a great story. It is true to the novel and it is upsetting that the first movie was not. Usually Knig movies are very much like the books. Of course Jack Nicholson is a great actor but you don't really get the full understanding of his character in the Kubric version. King however, gives you this understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very True to the Book!

    I thought that this version of Stephen King's 'The Shining' was outstanding. It captured so much of what was in the book in six hours. I am so glad that it was released on DVD and video last year. I bought it right away. If you're a Stephen King fan, rent or buy this DVD, but also read the book! It gave me the chills!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    im confused

    i saw this on sci fi and it was 6 hours long. it started at 6:00 p.m. and ended at 12:00 a.m.. it had 3 parts, each lasted 2 hours but the dvd says it's 4 and a 1/2 hours. that's the on ly thing i'm confused about. any way it was a lot better than the 1980 version it was scarier longer and had more character devlopment and it showed their personality better. the weapon was scarier and he actually hit her. jack was one of the most complex charaters ever. the shining was used a lot. and tony was used more and it had a better ending. and better story line. and it had flashback scenes which was awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great thriller

    This version stays true to the creation of Stephan King, it's not just a Jack Nickolson movie, great thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    King's BEST!

    I think this version of The Shining is the best Stephen King Movie yet! Its kind of long though. it has aired on sci fi channel and usa. Apparantly unsatisfied with the 1980 version, king wrote this version, and it aired in spring 1997. Unfortunately, it hasnt been released since now. it is filmed at the original hotel where stephen king got his idea for the novel. if you ask me, this movie is the best.(excluding the four-and-a-half hour running time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A GREAT King movie, at last on DVD

    A wonderful, true to the book version of The Shining. At long last availablr for us to see again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1