Customer Reviews for

The Sopranos: The Complete First Season

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sopranos-HBO Series-First Season-Exciting to Watch

    Exciting DVD to watch; especially for anyone who missed The Sopranos-HBO Series-First Season. It was also interesting to watch how much younger some of the stars appeared on Televsion; especially the major characters, Tony Soprano, AJ and Meadow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Sopranos-HBO Series- First Season- Exciting to Watch

    Exciting DVD to watch! This is a a must for anyone who missed The Sopranos-HBO Series- First Season. It was also interesting to see how much younger some of the stars appeared; especially AJ, Meadow and Tony Soprano. The acting was great and dynamic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch the DVD, then take the tour!

    I watched the DVD in preparation for the bus tour of Sopranos places in New Jersey/New York. Both were great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my favorite show ever!

    Not until i watched the show did i understand why my mum was so obsessed with it! Now that i have finally watched it i understand and i myself am no completely in love with this show!Briliantly written and acted! I always recommened this to my friends!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's like a train wreck that you can't stop watching

    Even my wife who doesn't enjoy the profanity can't stop watching this show. I hope HBO goes for season six--they'll have my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good

    This is the best mafia series since the godfather (if it can be compared). I loved it and was totally hooked. Only thing that can overcome it is season 2!! Love from Norway

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bada Bang!!

    Who came up with this kinda series?! Len and I never wanted to label ourselves 'hooked' to ANY tv materials. Tony, his family, his messed up friends, his enemies, etc., have all become a part of our household!! We are totally and shamelessly HOOKED to the Sopranos!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Women, Money, Guns, Expencive cars what men dream of

    The man's ''One life to live'', The best show on television. If you have the godfather, Scarface, Heat, you must have this for your collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazingly clever

    As almost all viewers thought, '' we'll watch the following episode next Saturday ''.. well, I could not wait until next Saturday!!! Tony and his capos will definately hook you. Personally, I think is a master piece, HBO is showing what TV, really is. 2 thumbs up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sopranos and the attention to detail

    Who better than HBO to bring out the best in TV. Being an avid Sopranos watcher one can only smile at the attention to detail the show embraces. From the Livia's kitchen to the drinking glasses used, this show really touches the finer points of TV. I remember growing up with an Italian grandmother and her having the same type of kitchen. This show is what all other cable program will be measured by. One more year and we can be treated to syndication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Addicting

    Rent the first video in this series...you will be back the same day to rent the next video...and the next...I thought I would rent one video a week up until the second season was being released in Nov...I ended up watching the entire first season in 3 days... and then...am anciously awaiting for season 2 to be released in November...Better than any movies rented this year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You'll be hooked!!!!

    Me and my boyfriend saw the first season in 3 days, and cannot wait for the second season series. Now from watching the first season, i know who's who and what is going on. We are HOOKED!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even catholic's like this one!

    Once you get pass the language and appreciate the well written dialogue, you won't have to go to confession. I am so hooked on this, I live for mass and Sopranos every Sunday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DON'T MISS THE SOPRANOS

    I knew from the start that this would be a hit when Edie Falco pulled out a semi-automatic from the kitchen pantry! Each epitsode grabs the viewer in a different way that most of us can relate to, from Tony and Meadow's college interviews to the time when Mrs. Soprano goes to the nursing home. At last a series with some punch and believable plots.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    so good

    The first season of the Sopranos is so awesome. This show draws you in and you cant stop watching... my friend and i watched the whole thing in one night. It is fantanstic =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bada Bing!

    If you missed the first season of the Sopranos, now is your chance to catch up. You will be glued to the set for every episode. My husband and I could hardly wait to get home at night and watch. We laughed out loud all the time. You don't have to be Italian to understand the dynamics of the family or become interested in what happens to each character. The shows are smartly written and a joy to watch. You'll be hooked. I can't wait for the second season to come out. If you don't have HBO now, you will by the end on this box set. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Italian-American Beauty

    The Sopranos is unquestionably the best series ever created for television in the past two decades. The writing is very smart and the acting by everyone is simply glorious. Some would say that The Sopranos paints a stereotypical/negative portrait of the Italian-Americans. I dont agree with that. I'm an Italian-American who grew up in New York and The Sopranos does a beautiful job portraying the Italian-Americans from every walk of life - look at Dr. Melfi, the FBI guys, the neighbors...And every culture has its own dark side and the Mafia do exists. The Sopranos on DVD is a keeper...watch the entire series on a long dark rainy day and you won't stop thinking about it for a long long long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh No. Soprano!!!!!!!

    Hey Listen shows don't get much better than this. Great Performances all over the place Paulie Wlanuts,(hot head) Christopher,Tony's crazy as a bat mother, and last but not least Tony himself. Every episode is funny and has a great story that evolves into the next episode until it all explodes into the final. Can wait unitl they bring out the second season on DVD. What no F*****' Ziti??

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SUPERIOR SOPRANOS

    The Corleones and Prizzis never had the Sopranos problems, but then again they didn't have to face 13 episodes in their sagas. And that's too bad, because David Chase could have done them justice had he been able to chronicle their lives as he does this mobbed up New Jersey crime family. But could he have put Sonny in Anger Management? Like all stellar (television) series, the first year episodes usually prove to be the best and this series is no exception. There is superior work here from all fronts ...writing, direction and performances in both lead and support. Most surprising is Steven Van Zandt as Silvio Dante. The best episodes are #9, BOCA and #12, ISABELLA. Screen them all... Bring out the peppers and sausage!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    great product and speedy delivery.

    great product and speedy delivery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2