Customer Reviews for

The Stand

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    Stephen King wrote the screenplay for the adaptation of his novel by the same name, which originally aired as a mini-series on television. The movie follows the book fairly closely, although there is some lack of character development when comparing the movie (particularly the characters of Fran Goldsmith and Larry Underwood) to the novel. Excellent performances in this movie by the entire (and well known) cast. (Ruby Dee, Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Gary Sinese, etc)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2012

    This movie was very realistic, it is about good and evil and how

    This movie was very realistic, it is about good and evil and how we fight for our souls. I recommend this movie to anyone who does not believe in the goodness of GOD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I don't highly recommended

    This movie help me realize that I shouldn't watch scary movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible compared to the book.

    Sometimes expectations are too high on a movie when the book was written that well; this was just terrible. I rented the DVD to it and couldn't even get through the first hour of it before I had to turn if off. The movie (mini-series) adaption of The Stand should offend any Stephen King fan and even Stephen King himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Stand

    I usually cringe when I find out that someone has tried to make a movie from one of Stephen King's books (I'm still trying to recover from 'DreamCatcher') but The Stand was a surprisingly good adaptation. Ruby Dee as Mother Abigail and Rob Lowe as Nick were superb. Of course there were plenty of things that got changed or deleted altogether but as a whole I really enjoyed it. I'll even go so far as to put it up there with 'Carrie' and 'The Shining' (Stephen King actually hated the movie version of The Shining, the TV movie years later resembled the book alot more). The Stand gets five stars and 2 thumbs up from me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome Movie

    This was a good movie I like the cast. I saw it a while back and loved it, today I am reading the book and I hope to own it one day. I have ordered it from the web site BN.com I like the book so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie, excellent theme

    If you can shut the commentaries off the movie is great, should have been removed though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic!

    The only King movie that adequately portrays the original book. Far more than a 'horror' show, it's an indepth examination of civilization & our reaction to crises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Long Books Make Long Movies and Long Reviews

    In the screen adaptation of ''The Stand'' Stephen King immediately captures his audience with the escape of a military police officer who has a deadly government created virus with a 99.9% communicability rate. Mix in the devil, going by the name Randall Flag, and you've stumbled into a mini-series with enough realism to keep you thinking ''what if'' and enough of Stephen King's unusual imagination to keep you trying to guess what is coming next. The story unfolds in such a way that you find yourself feeling as though you're in the situation right along with the characters. The movie score and soundtrack only add to the feel of the movie. But with the good we must also take the bad. The story becomes slow and drags a little at times. And seeing as how it was originally a mini-series it is best taken in small doses rather than trying to watch it all in one sitting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever

    This is the best movie ever. That's all there is to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie!!

    The book is incredible, and the movie is an amazing adaptation. The casting is great, because, as you will see, you grow very attached to the characters. This movie encompasses all aspects of a wonderful film-action, comedy, romance. This movie stays with you after you're done watching it. It is absolutely amazing- it's worth the time it takes to watch it and then some!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1