Customer Reviews for

The Station Agent

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie shines!

    Expert direction, a superb ensemble cast, nice location. Wish there was a soundtrack for the great, quirky music. In this age of big-budget, over-the-top blockbusters, this quiet little movie makes one appreciate the art of filmmaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Adult Movie

    A quiet character study about forming and maintaining relationships, no matter how reluctantly. Excellent and subtle performances, especially from the wonderful Peter Dinklage. The characters are grown-ups, and have grown-up reactions to their situations. The open-ended conclusion is also true to life: sometimes you win, sometimes you lose -- who knows how it will turn out? I loved the score, with its musical saw - the unusual music points up the theme of the film: everyone has something special about them, but it's not always what they think it is. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    an almost perfect movie

    The Station Agent is a quietly funny, charming film. A plot synopsis would make the movie sound like a melodrama (an angry dwarf moves into an abandoned railway depot, an encounters a divorcee grieving over the death of her only child...). The performers are outstanding; the writing is often witty and always truthful. Viewers looking for neatly wrapped, Hollywood beginning, middle and ending will be confused and disappointed. Those of us who want to watch people we can believe and care about will treasure this film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It would be hard to find a gentler, funnier, better-paced movie

    It would be hard to find a gentler, funnier, better-paced movie about the trials of solitude than the absolute gem that is The Station Agent. This has some of the best character role-reversals I've seen in a script. Tired of being stared and laughed at the whole movie, our dwarf lead gets drunk in a crowded bar, stands on his stool and yells, simply, "Here I am! Right here! Take a GOOD LOOK!" It is a supreme moment. And indie filmmakers - the director and actor commentary has a treasure trove of stories about the creative corners that were cut making the film. Stop by this station - you'll want to stay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    An excellent movie

    I enjoyed this movie immensely. Peter Dinklage is outstanding as the title character, a train aficionado who inherits a rundown train station building from his only friend, and makes new friends of his neighbors...in spite of himself.
    My only complaint about this movie...it ended too soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Station Agent

    This is an interesting movie about three very different people who try to find a place in the world and come together in an old train station depot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Station Agent

    This is an alright movie, fun characters, and the setting of the film looked good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only for Live Performance Viewers!

    Good, but you must appreciate amd enjoy plays to see how good this movie is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Refreshing!

    This movie is a breath of fresh air! I absolutely was enthralled by the characters and especially loved not seeing the same tired hollywood faces. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a thoughtful, funny story with realistic scenery and camera work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Film of 2003

    This is easily the best film of 2003. I went to see it after a friend told me it was wonderful and I came out of the theater with no regrets. This is a heartwarming, touching, hilarious and intelligent look into the way people deal with each other in modern day life and how loneliness results in unlikely friendships. The cast is excellent. Peter Dinklage is great, Patricia Clarkson is always wonderful and bobby canavale is funny. The three of them make a great team and this is a film for anyone of all ages who feels like a good laugh and being uplifted. This is also a movie you will be a fan of if you liked lost in translation. It is even better than that! I loved Sofia Coppola's film and script but I thought this was the best script of 2003. I absolutely loved it! Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is not funny at all.

    This movie is borring. I would not recommend this movie at all. The acting was terrible. It is a movie about nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1