Customer Reviews for

The Tale of Despereaux

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great things come in small packages

Great Movie.

posted by Helen47 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Cute cover is deceiving.

This movie was extremely depressing. The plot behind the movie involves the queen's death after eating soup that a mouse has fallen into.
The rest of the movie involves a giant rat who gets his kicks out of torturing using the methods of the Coliseum.
I do not recomm...
This movie was extremely depressing. The plot behind the movie involves the queen's death after eating soup that a mouse has fallen into.
The rest of the movie involves a giant rat who gets his kicks out of torturing using the methods of the Coliseum.
I do not recommend this movie despite the cuteness of the main character.

posted by 2307282 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Cute cover is deceiving.

    This movie was extremely depressing. The plot behind the movie involves the queen's death after eating soup that a mouse has fallen into.
    The rest of the movie involves a giant rat who gets his kicks out of torturing using the methods of the Coliseum.
    I do not recommend this movie despite the cuteness of the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great things come in small packages

    Great Movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Family Fun.

    Great story line. Endearing lead mouse. Wonderful family or group entertainment. Get your popcorn and enjoy!
    Adorable characters and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Small, But Mighty

    Enchanted fun and swashbuckling action. Small, yes, but Desperaux is a mighty mouse. You'll love the adorable character and his surrounding cast. It has that lovable, fairy-tale feel (our should I say fairy- tail?).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    this is a really cute movie. I highly recommend it to all ages.

    A young mouse is not like his family or friends. He is brave and energetic. The mouse council decides to send him down the drain from which no mouse has ever come back. the rats capture him and give him to a friendly rat who used to be a sailor. Together they escape and save the princess and the cook's famous soup.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It was much better as a book.

    Me personally, enjoy seeing my favorite books on the big screen. But for the movie "Tale of Desperaux" I was highly anticipating on, I got very disappointed at the end. There were so many things added to the movie that weren't even in the book. This proves my point to my friend that books are better than movies (well in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good

    learn about wisdom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute

    that was a pretty cute movie. It also makes me really hungry! (the movie has lots of soup)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Charming animation, though story suffers

    As with most animated features today, this is great fun to watch. The characters are charming and well enacted. However, fans of DiCamillo will be disappointed by the storyline as it strays so far from the book as to be hardly recognizable. 'tis a shame, because the original work has so much more to offer than what actually ended up in the movie. If this is your first introduction to Kate DiCamillo's writing, you have been misled. Order the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    This was a great movie. I read the book right before I saw the movie and I was not a bit disappointed. Everyone I know says that they made a complete fool out of the book but I do not think so. You should buy this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tale of Despereaux is one for the sunday afternoon rest and relax DVD club!

    This is one of those stores that you can watch over and over on those rainy saterday and sunday afternoons even if its not raining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Adorable!

    I thought this was a very sweet, heartfelt movie. Definitely worth one viewing, but you'll want more. and Despereaux himself is so cute as a mouse!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Such great potential...

    This movie as a whole is great, but one or two of the characters (namely the villain) are introduced suddenly and aren't explained as well as they should be. The film could also be just a little bit longer to allow for more story depth. The amount given is great, but since it's based off of the book, a tiny bit more could have been put in easily without disrupting the flow of the movie. The music and animation are brilliant, and the lighting is superb. Over all a great film, but just a few fixes here and there could have made it even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It Could Have Been Better.

    I thought it could have been much better.I thought the book was much better than the book because they were nothing alike. I weren't read the book than see the movie because you would feel it was a waste of time.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1