Customer Reviews for

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good slasher

    this is definately a slasher, but a very good one, with the most disturbing characters out of almost any movie. thumbs up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREATLY IMPRESSIVE

    I love this movie! This may be one of the best horror movies I have ever seen. Certainly everything you need in a horror movie is in this! Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    A real horror film that broke the recent onslaught of mind numbing horror flicks, this remake is in every way a classic with the original. An utter masterpiece of horror films. It kept me on the edge and im not known to be freaked out by horror films. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Texas Chainsaw Massacre

    One of the scariest movies ever. I was literally in tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Texas Chainsaw Massacre

    scary my favorit horror movie ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant.

    The original is better of course because its a classic. But the actual story is much stronger in this remake. It focuses more on what really happened than what the original looked like. i liked just as much as the first. Besides, the girls are hotter than the original. BUT, the new Leatherface is nothing to be compared to Gunnar Hanson. He was still good though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome! great remake

    This movie was a great remake. Better than the original. It had frightening plot and great acting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best of the best horror

    One of the greatest horror movies of all time. I recommend this movie to anyone whos into a good scare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This is not like on the first part of Freddy Vs. Jason, where the girl gets in the pLake Cryatal and acts all like she's scared.This movie was so realistic to me as an adult, it felt like when I went home, he was there.It's not one of thos movies where the soon-to-be-dead people live in big mansions, this is a film that really takes you away.I loved being only 19 years of age.That night I went back to my dorm and though, 'The director was really something.'I love this movie and will be buying it on the first day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrifying

    The remake of 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' is mabye the scariest film I have ever seen (with 'The Blair Witch Project'), granted that I have seen 'The Exorcist'. It builds up the charecters so that you know what they are like. It isn't a graphic as I thought it would be. There are no bowells shown. In fact the worst thing in the film doesn't even happen by a chainsaw. The acting was surprisingly good, and so was the writing. There a a couple of scenes that you may not understand the first time you watch it. For example when Jennifer Beals goes into the trailer, and she starts yelling at the woman because she thinks she stole the baby. When you are wondering why she said all this, re-wind back to the beggining and watch where the hitch-hicker pulls the gun out of. Looks a little bloody doesn't it, and she didn't pull the gun out of where you think she did. The film is at perfect lenth too. It isn't too long, and it isn't too short. It runs at 98 minutes and half an hour of that goes to chasing, slahing, and hooking. 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' is NOT for small kids. I said it wasn't very graphic, but it is graphic enough to not let an 11 year old kid watch it. It is okay for teens, mainly because they most likely have heard and seen worse things on cable. I have to say the scariest things about the movie is the newsreel at the beggining and end, the 'small town' thing, and the fact that Leatherface runs. In other films like 'Friday the 13th' and 'Haloween', the killers walk and the victims run, but you know they are somehow going to appear in front of the victims and brutally slash them to death. In those films, the victim could have walked and still lived. But in this film, the killer runs, and if you have a fear of being chased, then that makes it scarier, and more suspensful, and when you see a madman coming after you with a chainsaw, you know that if you stop you are going to die. I rate 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' five stars for it's suspense, writing, acting, and of course because it is scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Chainsaw' Remake

    I have never seen the orginal 'Chainsaw' film. But I can tell you that this one is terrifying. It is so scary, my legs were shaking toward the end of the film. It is a very unpleasant (but wonderfully crafted) atmosphere with a lot of hostility. The acting is good, with a very good performance from Jessica Biel. I really enjoyed this movie. You could consider a bit of it 'cliched' but it isn't as bad as something like 'I Know What You Did Last Summer.' I wanted this movie to end cause it scared me really bad but I wanted want more at the same time cause it's really good. This movie is like a test of strength and those who think they're brave enough or love the genre should definitely try this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best of them all

    The original chainsaw is a classic, and had high expectations for the remake and it delivered. This is the best of all five movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2004

    Exceptional horror movie!

    I always wanted to see the original TCM because of the historical aspect. So when this actual version came out I thought 'better than nothing'! And seriously: I never was more scared than this time...a perfect script, a astonishing casting, great photography and a very sexy Jessica Biel. Suspense at its best! Meanwhile I saw the original movie from 1974 and with the exception of some very interesting shots I have to say that I was some kind of bored and disappointed. Luckily Marcus Nispel didn't try to retell the original story in this remake but only took over a very raw storyboard from the original story -and this is the big difference- with some interesting psychological background. What the original score never did! That's the reason why the remake is very scary: you think it could really happen to you! We all hope not...nevertheless enjoy the movie! Mad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not Another Teen Movie!

    Not the usual teen slasher film. Not the dumb blonde running with a slow paced serial killer that manages to catch up with her. The Texas Chainsaw Massacre truely delivers a breath taking performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The scariest movie ever

    It was the scariest movie ive ever seen!When i saw that movie i was scared because i was watching it in the night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    S-C-A-R-Y

    This is the best horror film I have seen in years. The original TCM was okay, but its remake is way better. The movie was scary even before Leatherface (the killer) even appeared. I also love the way each scene was shot. I definitely want to buy this on 2-disc dvd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE GREATEST HORROR MOVIE OF ALL TIME!!!

    The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is the greatest horror movie ever made! The whole time you will literaly be on the edge of your seat. From beginning to end you will be scared senceless! I strongly recommend it to anyone who is a big fan for the horror genera. Everyone in the cast was great, and the director did an outstanding job! I believe that it will be remembered for all time as one of the greatest movies New Line Cinema made! I give 5 stars, 2 thumbs up, A+, and I hope it will recieve an oscar for Best Movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best slasher fick ever

    For me it is pretty hard to get scared in horror movies. Then I went to see the texas chainsaw massacre. It scared me to death. At first it starts out the way a classic horror movie would. Five freinds pick up a hitchhiker who seems a little off beat. Then they stop there car for help. Thats when I thought the movie was just going to be typical and predictable. But no, it sared the pants of me. It almost made me pee my pants to be perfectly honest. I wanted to go to the bathroom but was to scared leatherface was waiting for me out in the hall. At first I began to cry I was so scared then began covering my head with my jacket. This movie is defanetly a 10. The acting by jessica beil is outstanding and the acting by R. Lee Ermy is fantastic. I will definatly buy this movie the day it comes to DVD. I can't give this movie enough compliments. I can't get over how good it is. The originall was good but this defenatly goes to the top of the list for my favorite classic movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh yeah!

    Critics hold your venomous tongues! The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is in fact a marvelous remake of a marvelous classic horror film. It neither purports nor intends to be a ¿new and improved¿ version of the 1974 original. Instead, it borrows the original premise and adds wonderful new effects of lighting, sound, and digital technique. It also contains very cleverly choreographed and intense chase scenes, which in fact comprise much of the picture. I was also extremely pleased that the film was tasteful. Unlike the horror film dark age of the 1980s and early 1990s, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is not a festival of splattering blood and gore. Of course, in a film centered around murders committed by a large power tool there is almost inevitably some blood, but the film is not an anatomy lesson. It also, thankfully, contains no explicitly sexual scenes to divert the audience¿s attention from the storyline. The only criticism I can pay to this movie at all is that its dialogue is weak. Those seeking a strong script may be disappointed, but horror fans should be in for a treat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The only real Texas Chainsaw Massacre Movie

    I saw this movie a while back,and to be honest NO movie has ever scared me....until now! I'm not kidding this movie is very scary!!!! It was done to the extreme, and normally I don't like remakes, but this movie is so much better than the first one, and there were other things in it that I don't remember in the first one. If you want something to scare you while you watch it, look no further. This is the scariest movie I've ever seen, and I've seen a lot. When I was in the theater watching this movie, I cannot tell you how many people screamed, and that's not normal in the theater that I go to. Have fun and make sure you have somebody to hold on to. It's great, but I could sleep that night, but most people I've talked to said they couldn't!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2