Customer Reviews for

The Thing

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    The original 1951 flick was a classic, but Carpenter made his ow

    The original 1951 flick was a classic, but Carpenter made his own incredible version. Definately worth adding to your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    When horror was scary

    You cannot find a horror film made today that is any where near as scary as this film. FIlms like this are hard to ignore. These older horror films may have some cheesy looking special effects, but, they are actually gory. Some of the horror films that come out today, I am ashamed to watch them, because they are just awful. I know this movie is old, but, you must see this film. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enduring classic!

    Usually remakes are quite inferior. John Carpenter's The Thing is superior over the 1951 version. The Thing is based on the story, Who Goes There, by John W Campbell. It is able a shape-shifting alien terrorizing some humans in Anarctica. This is what Carpenter goes by. The classic is typical of 50's alien films. The visitor is humanoid, there's a romantic couple, no minorities, a happy ending where mankind is always victorious, and a prophetic message. 1982's version is more thrilling with no gore or nudity & little profanity. The alien certainly lives up to it's name. The Thing is fun to watch because you don't know who the alien is disguised as. It's dog form was very convincing. There should be a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the best

    Frame by frame, it is simply the best alien invation flick ever made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Overlooked Classic!!!!

    An intense, white knuckle, masterpiece. Shows why movie theaters are can be the scariest places on earth. Not appreciated when it was first released it has earned (rightly so) a cult following and makes you wonder what happened to director John Carpenter that he has not made any movies lately that come close to this lever of horror mastery. Its not what 'The Thing' does but who might be 'The Thing' that matters. Better than 'Invasion of the body snatchers'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWSOME

    Best movie I've ever seen by far. Great acting and even better special effects. I'm still amazed that the did that back then! GO BUY IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A flat out Masterpiece

    This movie is what horror movies are all about. It is scary, entertaining, and intense. It is also a great movie period. It reaches a level of intensity and terror that few movies I have seen have. The visual style is breathtaking. The lighting and sets and use of the camera is masterful. The cast is brilliant. There is not a weak performance in the bunch. The stand out here is obviously Kurt Russell as the alcoholic pilot MacReady who is a born leader. Kurt takes complete command of the role and the movie. As Kurt becomes increasingly paranoid we are right there with him. By the end we are completely terrified for his survival and in his corner to kick The Thing's a$$. It is truly among the very best and most absolutely believable perormances in horror history. John Carpenter has achieved something truly amazing and mesmerizing. This, in my opinion, is his finest hour behind the camera. The Thing is a stomache churning, paranioa inducing, journey that is worthy of every fan it has and so many more that will experience it for themselves in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    body contortions and explosions rocking the tundra!

    An excellent movie for lovers of the destruction of the human anatomy. But also a good movie in its own right, focusing on humanities wild side. In the world of the movie no-one can be trusted; it is every man for themselves. They need to be on their vigil for the very imaginative 'thing' means buisness, needing their bodies for its own survival. It takes the saying 'I want your body' to the extreme, and doesn't seem at all interested in conforming to ettiquette, in particular, the rules and regs of eating at the dining room table.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intense and exceedingly well-crafted horror/sci-fi

    ON MY TOP 10 HORROR/SCI-FI LIST. Some viewers of this movie have had issues with the level of gore... yes, there is a lot. But it can readily be argued that the gore is truly integral with the needed level of terror that the movie wants to convey - we must feel the terror and disgust and fear of those men trapped at that frigid site. The movie is so sharply edited and tightly plotted - no extraneous filler in this story. Reminded me of the old classic (1934) all-male THE LOST PATROL, just a bunch of men in a difficult life-or-death situation - no distracting romance and 'relationship' issues here. Also, have you ever read Stephen King's PET SEMATARY? The Thing reminds me of it, in how it is so lean, and focused, and intense - unlike King's more expansive and thick novels. See if you can guess the voice of the female that is heard over the radio. ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trust No One!

    I just got this movie a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. I love scary and horror movies so this movie just took me away. I was surprised at some points but it was obvious at others of who the Thing was. If you like scary, horror, and gore you'll like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Carpenter and The Thing rule!

    I first watched this Carpenter classic when the PS2 game was coming out and fell in love with it. I love this movie it's just awsome, that's all I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a very good movie

    this is a good movie if you like horror sci-fi movies. I give it a 5 star rating because of the effects and sound in the movie. Im not going to tell you any of the parts you will just have to see for your self. Its a great movie, very scary and two thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kurt Russel kicks butt

    This movie focuses on the friendship/trust factor. And the fact that everyone trusts everyone makes it hard, just ask Blair. It's an awesome movie with a great cast and if you like to pick pick who's who try at this if you've never seen it before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exellent

    Everyone who is a sci-fi fan should see this title. Not giving anything else away. Brilliant!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ahead of it's time

    Excellent horror/sci fi movie in every way. Partically impressive was the make-up/special effects created with out the help of computer graphics.This gives the ''thing'' more dimension in appearance.Computer generated creatures tend to look flat and thus FAKE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE REAL THING

    THIS PICTURE SHOWS THE MENTAL POSSIBILITIES IN HOLLYWOOD. FROM THE ORIGINAL TO THIS RE-MAKE THE THING IS AN AMUSING YET EXCELLENT HORROR FILM IN IT'S OWN RIGHT. WITHOUT KURT RUSSELL THIS MOVIE WOULD BE SO-SO. WITH HIM IT'S THE BOMB.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Creepy to the max!!!

    I'm a drooling fiend for horror/science fiction movies and have been a huge fan of John Carpenter movies ever since he scared me with Halloween over 16 years ago. Carpenter's remake of The Thing is no doubt the most creepiest movie I've ever sank my fangs into. It's got all the great elements for a terrific movie: Great director, perfect cast, awesome special effects, creepy story and gripping plot, and a horrific creature lurking in the Antartic. What more could one ask for? Carpenter has worked so well with Kurt Russell. Russell plays MacReady, a helicoptor pilot, who is forced to witness gruesome events when an alien disguised as a dog enters the compound of the research facility. We soon learn that this dog is much more than meets the eye when it begins shapshifting and bares its ugly side. The research team discover that this creature has the uncanny ability to become its host once it's killed. It's a game of who's really who? Kurt Russell does an excellent job and plays the leading character perfectly as he combats the monster. Overall, this creepy movie is a 2 tumbs-up type of movie, one which will keep you up late at night. The DVD version has about ninty minutes of interviews with Carpenter, Russell, and various other people who worked on the film. Also included are numerous pictures of the site locations and actors. This is a MUST SEE science fiction film. Midway through the movie you'll be wondering if your spouse is really who he or she is supposed to be. The movie's end is very eerie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2