Customer Reviews for

The Thing From Another World

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A True Classic

    This movie is a must see for anyone interested in science fiction. It is a classic and is much better than the remake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This film is a religious experience for me

    This is absolutely my favorite movie of all time! One of the few movies I've watched over and over again. It captures the mood, and draws me into their tension and sense of isolation like no other movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    When acting and cinematography set the mood

    'The Thing' is undoubtedly one of the best Sci-Fi/Horror films of all time. They certainly knew how to make them in the 1950's, and they did it with terrific acting and brilliant cinematography...not with the computer game-like filming of today.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    "The Thing" is my favorite scary movie of all time.

    "The Thing" is my favorite scary movie of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta love it!

    This is arguably the greatest sci-fi movie ever made. The cinematography is fantastic and the mood it creates is wonderfully tense. One of my all time favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the thing from another world

    this movie is very good and scare you to death sometime.the endding is very climatic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Thing from another Day

    What is it about this film? Maybe the fast-paced action from Nyby/Hawks..Lederer's crisp overlapping dialogue...the lack of bothersome,flashy special effects...the ominous,barren,ice-encrusted wasteland...or the much-liked,chemistry-dripping cast?? Some sci-fi films 'get it' and many,many others never get off the launch pad. Why don't film directors of today watch and study these gems of action/suspence/terror and LEARN from them?? It's great to see what excellent results can be had from less: effects,creature appearances(no offense Jim Arness),budget,props,big-name stars. Yeah,sure some of what John Carpenter did in color was very good...but come on..this needn't be a Biology 101 class to be scary and suspenseful. Learn from the masters of yesterday..these old 50's films can't be beat. Probably also, why it feels like a live version of Our Town on PCP is that it came from a basic uncomplicated short story. Great stuff!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST SCI-FI MOVIE OF THE '50'S!!

    A LITTLE KNOWN FACT: JAMES ARNESS HAS A PART IN THIS MOVIE, EVEN THOUGH HE'S NOT LISTED IN THE CREDITS! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!! IT'S ONE OF THE BEST OF THE 1950'S SCI-FI/THRILLERS. I HOPE THE DVD HAS THE MISSING MINUTES THAT THE VIDEO DID NOT HAVE! LEC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    AWESOME FILM!

    THIS IS ONE OF THE TRUE CLASSICS OF ALL TIME. I JUST WISH THAT I COULD FIND IT IN DVD AS I WOULD LIKE TO ADD IT TO MY DVD COPY OF ''THE DAY THE EARTH STOOD STILL(1951)WHICH CAME OUT THE SAME YEAR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2003

    Greatest Sci - Fi EVER !!!

    This is the greatest Sci - Fi high intensity fright movie ever. The setting is ideally remote , and eerily dark. Simple and direct , Hawkes uses psychological terror in the shape of the unknown . A must see for any horror buff. This should definitely be on DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    The Greatest Scence Fiction Thriller Ever -- Period!

    Crisp, Atmospheric & Terrifying. Hawks forces the viewer to experience the fear -- to feel the terror -- to use the imagination -- all without a drop of spilled blood or an ounce of gore. A reminder of what a great ''Sci-Fi'' thriller should still be -- even today -- when ''special effects'' does all the work (The Thing has not one). I love the cold. The original Thing reminds me that there is perhaps more to the North Pole than Santa Claus. Warner Brothers (or whomever) should stop protecting the awful Carpenter blood, guts & special effects remake and put this classic on DVD. Black & White only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2002

    The Thing From Another World

    The Thing From Another World is my favorite scary movie of all time. The music and atmosphere are chilling without equal in this day of computer animation and blood and guts. It continues to make me look over my shoulder and sends a chill up my spine, fifteen years after first seeing it as a kid. I still enjoy it and want it on DVD. It is an excellent sci fi experience, worthy of a place in anybodies sci fi or classic movie collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1