Customer Reviews for

The Triplets of Belleville

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome animation that's not Disney

    This little gem is a fantasic DVD to get -- the animation and soundtrack can't be beat! No worries if you don't speak French, there isn't much dialogue during the film and what dialogue there is, is in both French and English. The character actions and the plot are the key here. One to pick up if you want something different, funny, eye-opening, and gently suspenseful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best animated I ever saw

    Saw it twice, each time marveled at not just the animation but I'd buy the music on dvd.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Incredible Ingenuity!

    I am not going to say much about this movie since all the other reviews pretty much cover it. However, this is one of the best movies I have seen to date! Creative and Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie could almost be called a Silent Musical ...

    but what this movie really looks at is the absurdity of life. At first the absurdity is subtle and as this wonderful animation continues the absurdity becomes outrageously silly. Come follow a mothers devotion to her child.

    This movie is for young adults and adults; but not for young children. the levels of absurdity may confuse younger children. there are also social references which my seem strange to those who may not be aware of 1920 to 1960 values or opinions.

    As far as I know of there are no other movies quite like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS MOVIE IS THE MOST BEAUTIFUL MOVIE THAT I EVER SAW.

    This movie is outstanding. It is also the best movie i ever saw. I saw it for the first time tonight and i thought that it was the most beautiful movie that i ever saw.I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    This movie is amazing! We watched it in English Class, and the creator put so much detail into the drawing and events, that I hardly noticed that there was almost no dialouge during the whole film. Simply Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a great, great, great movie!!!

    "Les Triplets de Belleville" as it is in French, is amazing!!! I've rented it many times, and I'll soon have to buy it I love it so much. The animation is so beautiful, you don't see this animation anywhere! The music is so amazing too! The music is marvelous! The "Cabaret Opening" when the Triplets do the "Belleville-Rendevous" and the "Tour de France" is nice, even though you don't understand a word except: "Dispaire" which means disrepair, and that's the only word I understand. I like it when they're in the club and they do that musical number with the refrigerator, newspaper, and the vacuum. It's a shame that it didn't win an Academy Award, but I do know that it won other awards too. The story is excelent! About a grandmother who is looking after her grandson, and is trying to make his dreams come true. With the square-shouldered mafia henchmen, and that little man who is there leader, all the characters are so real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Brilliant

    This is absolutely my favorite movie. I watch it almost everyday and the picture is so detailed, I noticed something different everytime I watch it. I wish the creator would make more like it because I can't get enough of this movie. I highly recommend it to anyone who's searching for a vividly creative and original movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    this movie is great, the animation is true to life, it made me forget about life for over an hour and just allowed me savor the excellent blend of animation, sound, color, music, artistry, and a beautiful story... Sylvain... TRES BIEN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    would buy the DVD

    I was mesmorized by the animation, and the music is great. I'm going to watch it a few times, and wish there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Two Thumbs Up

    Exceptional animation about a grandmother's desires to help her grandson find his passion with mystery, sabotage, and obstacles along the way! The animation style is similar to original Pink Panther television series. Like Pink Panther there is little verbal banter yet the music and artful animation tell the story fluently!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tongue in Cheek Animation

    Way at the top of the best of last year's films. Similar situation to another reviewer, I raved about the film but friends I recommended it to did not like at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    This movie was wonderfully funny and unique. The animation is beautiful but bizzare. I would highly recommend this movie but only if you are the type of person who doesn't mind to watch a movie with virtually no dialogue. The story is wonderful and the music is superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not everyone loves this, but I did

    Be careful about to whom you recommend this movie, and how strongly. I raved about it and found that not everyone shared my opinion. I thought 'The Triplets of Belleville' was creative, original, funny and beautiful. The friend accompanying me was similarly enchanted by it. Unlike the recent pixar movies, the human hand was always apparent. When I recommended it to others, perhaps too enthusiastically, their response was considerably cooler. However, as a confirmed buyer of used CDs and DVDs, I liked this film so much, and so look forward to watching it again, that I intend to buy the DVD new, as soon as it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ABSOLUTELY AWESOME

    The Triplets of Belleville is one of the finest movie made this year, or one of the greatest animations ever! I hope that this tops nemo at the oscars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Strange, Origional, Funny, and AWESOME

    This movie is one of the most unique films you will ever see. The movie is moved primarily by actions and unsaid dialogue (what is said by actions, events, reactions, facial expressions, the atomosphere, etc.). I would not reccomend this movie for anyone under 14, but the animation is unique, surreal, and breathtakingly beautiful. This undoubtedly is the best animated film this year, and one of the best movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1