Customer Reviews for

The Tudors - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amusing, but not history

People need to realize that TV is entertainment. It is not meant to be historically accurate. That is what dry history books are for. I enjoy historical TV shows like this one because it brings history alive. So what if it doesn't follow the way events really happened.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This series is VERY historically inacurate!

As far as the costumes and overall look to it. I've only watched three episodes and was VERY disappointed! First of all, Henry VIII fell into the 'big and tall' category. He also had red hair and beard, which every knows him by. History lovers or not. Jonathan Rhys-...
As far as the costumes and overall look to it. I've only watched three episodes and was VERY disappointed! First of all, Henry VIII fell into the 'big and tall' category. He also had red hair and beard, which every knows him by. History lovers or not. Jonathan Rhys-Myers, although a very good actor, has not the right physical features to play Henry VIII. The one guy the king executed "Lord Chamberlain, was it????" would have been a much better actor to play the king, because he actually looked like the king. "Big, tall, red hair and beard." Also, the costumes in this series are HIDEOUS!!!! The men's costumes were so-so, but a lot of the female costumes where really bad. Semi accurate for that period, not fully. If you're going to do a period show of any time period, do your homework/research. Which, apparently the costume people for this show did not. There were laws called Sumptuary Laws, that dictated what class was allowed to wear what. And back then class was a HUGE, MAJOR deal. People were executed if they didn't follow those laws. Although, the acting was good. The dates, people, etc. were accurate, but I was very disappointed with the costumes and of the casting director's choice to play Henry. Soooo, yeah. If you want good, historicaly accurate (at least in costumes and over all appearance) Renaissance entertainment. Go to you state's/town's Renaissance Faires/Fests. The people there are sticklers for accuracy and the costumes are AMAZING! And, you get to interact with your favorite people from that time period!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    ENGLISH MONARCHS

    Henry VIII is the famous of all the Tudors. He had six wives in the hope that he will produce a male heir to the english throne. Unluckily, he had only two daughters who made it to the english throne, as Edward, his son became a king when he was only a boy and died before he could be eighteen. This is a compeling TV series that tells that s tory of the famous Tudors of England, whose origin was welsh. Every episode explodes in this series. The story is beautifully written and the characters acted out excellntly. The script is woven into the entire story and makes the Tudors alive. The production design and costume is superb. I am recommending this series for Tudor fans and the general viewers alike. You would want to see more after its done!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not completely accurate, but stylish and sexy enough to not matter!

    This is an excellent TV show for an historical fiction fans! While it does tend to stray from historical fact, it is so superbly crafted and stylish that it really doesn't matter. It is extremely entertaining and, if you are a fan of the Philippa Gregory's The Other Boleyn Girl, this TV show is far more satisfying than the rather lackluster major motion picture movie!! Natalie Dormer is perfectly cast and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers as well. This TV show is my guilty pleasure and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh how I love this!

    Showtime's The Tudors is a beautiful and sexy look at the reign of Henry VIII. I think that Jonathan Rhys Meyers' portrayl of the young lion is both seductive and tortured. Not to mention is ability to disguise his Irish accent is uncanny. The real star for me is Natalie Dormer. Her role as Anne Boleyn steals the scene from any actor she shares the screen with. Her eyes are so expressive. Another favorite is Maria Doyle Kennedy as Katherine. As I am a huge Boleyn fan, it was hard to win me over, but Maria's strength coupled with her tenderness is hard to ignore and even harder to hate. Model turned actor Henry Cavill is nice eye candy, but his portrayl of Charles Brandon as a wayward lethario tends to get a bit old. He makes up for his lack of skill in the acting department with his steamy and often nude love scenes with various court ladies.<BR/>Don't depend on The Tudors for accuracy, but do expect an entertaining show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jonathon Rhys-Meyers

    Mr. Meyers pulls this entire cast. The rest of the ensemble are good in their own way. However without the strong emperical glue that Rhys-Meyers brings to the role of Henry this show would never be the masterpiece that it truely is. I do think that they are taking the show to quickly. But I understand for TV purposes they have to go speedly though his life and loves. Truely a delight for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good period drama

    Although I am enjoying this series "I have only seen episodes 1-3 so far" I agree with some of the other reviewers about the costumes. Clearly, they are NOT being accurate in a lot of cases. Some of the costumes are really good and then you will see one where even the fabric is wrong! I swear I saw pleather on some of the men's costumes! And the women's headdresses are all over the place - especially Queen Katherine's. She never would have worn some of those things. I agree that it would have been nice for Henry to have red hair - that is a well documented fact and surely they have hair dye? But I am really enjoying the actor's portrayal of him as passionate and capricious. He could be charming and cruel in the same 5 minutes and Jonathan Rys Myers does a great job of showing that. Surprisingly, the history seems much more accurate - I really liked the Field of Cloth of Gold episode. I wish they could have taken that little bit more time to do the same with the costumes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not really Big Yet

    I Agree. The important thing to keep in mind when reading about the Tudor time period was that Henry was not always large. He became heavy-set as he got older and became more paraoid about not having a male heir. The renaissance faire does work hard at being accurate however, most of the ones I have been to, are more towards the Elizabethan Era.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!!

    I really liked this show. No, it is not completly accurate to the time period and even to some of the events but it is close enough. Regardless, it is very entertaining. I do not think that it is meant to be percise.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1