Customer Reviews for

The Tudors - Season 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Amusing, but not history

People need to realize that TV is entertainment. It is not meant to be historically accurate. That is what dry history books are for. I enjoy historical TV shows like this one because it brings history alive. So what if it doesn't follow the way events really happened.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This series is VERY historically inacurate!

As far as the costumes and overall look to it. I've only watched three episodes and was VERY disappointed! First of all, Henry VIII fell into the 'big and tall' category. He also had red hair and beard, which every knows him by. History lovers or not. Jonathan Rhys-...
As far as the costumes and overall look to it. I've only watched three episodes and was VERY disappointed! First of all, Henry VIII fell into the 'big and tall' category. He also had red hair and beard, which every knows him by. History lovers or not. Jonathan Rhys-Myers, although a very good actor, has not the right physical features to play Henry VIII. The one guy the king executed "Lord Chamberlain, was it????" would have been a much better actor to play the king, because he actually looked like the king. "Big, tall, red hair and beard." Also, the costumes in this series are HIDEOUS!!!! The men's costumes were so-so, but a lot of the female costumes where really bad. Semi accurate for that period, not fully. If you're going to do a period show of any time period, do your homework/research. Which, apparently the costume people for this show did not. There were laws called Sumptuary Laws, that dictated what class was allowed to wear what. And back then class was a HUGE, MAJOR deal. People were executed if they didn't follow those laws. Although, the acting was good. The dates, people, etc. were accurate, but I was very disappointed with the costumes and of the casting director's choice to play Henry. Soooo, yeah. If you want good, historicaly accurate (at least in costumes and over all appearance) Renaissance entertainment. Go to you state's/town's Renaissance Faires/Fests. The people there are sticklers for accuracy and the costumes are AMAZING! And, you get to interact with your favorite people from that time period!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amusing, but not history

    People need to realize that TV is entertainment. It is not meant to be historically accurate. That is what dry history books are for. I enjoy historical TV shows like this one because it brings history alive. So what if it doesn't follow the way events really happened.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The wives of Henry III

    The video has some validity in historical fact, but seems to take many side trips into fiction. I do not reccomend watching this with young children due to the sex scenes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fabulous

    I am a History major, and I have also studied the Tudors from Henry VIII to Elizabeth I and the people surrounding them for years. Yes, the show is historically inaccurate, but that's what it is: a show. I love it. Of course there are parts that make me cringe, such as the Margaret married to Portugal King bit, but I overlook it in order to grasp the entertainment value. I love Natalie Dormer as Anne Boleyn, almost as much as I love Helena Bonham Carter in the role. She's brilliant. Yes, Henry VIII was not dark haired, but his personality is right, as well as his build for his younger years. It's perfect. The costumes were GORGEOUS! They were right on target and absolutely beautiful. I love the show and I can't wait to get the second season in the mail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thoroughly enjoyed it.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the first season of The Tudors. What amazed me is how much I enjoyed watching the actress who played Anne Bolyen. I usually sympathize with Katherine and I still do, but boy, was Anne a very interesting character. While some writers have a problem with the size &amp shape of Henry, I feel he conveys the personality of Henry perfectly. It's Henry that counts no matter who has to die and he is able to justify his cruelty royally. I an waiting impatiently for the next season and I hope this continues through the Elizabethan era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Show

    I am a history major and the Tudor period is one of my favorites. When I first saw that this show was coming out I was a little skeptical, but after watching I absolutely LOVED it. They did a great job capturing the feelings of all the characters, the mood of the times, and even the correct costumes. As an added bonus, it shows Henry when he was younger, instead of the burly red head that he is most well know as. I would recommend this to anyone. Not only is a great drama, but it actually happened

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Correction to the review of JB, above

    JB says, and I quote: " First of all, Henry VIII fell into the 'big and tall' category. He also had red hair and beard, which every knows him by. History lovers or not. Jonathan Rhys-Myers, although a very good actor, has not the right physical features to play Henry VIII." That is true of the older Henry, but that's not what this series is about, is it. Judging by the spelling and grammar, I think it's JB that needs some education. By his logic, Elvis should always be played by a middle aged fat guy in a white, satin suit, even in his pre-drug abuse days. The young Henry was handsome, virile, and quite athletic in the time period the Showtime series covers. As for the accuracy of the costumes, check out the "extras" of the box set to see the painstaking efforts of the designers to get it right!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historically Addictive

    The Tudor family of England is still one of the most talked about reigns in all of English history. This show gets it right. The behavior of Henry Tudor, his escapades, his fits, and his flight of fancy is completely on display in this fictional depiction of life in 16th Century England. What I loved the most was not only did they get down all the bad parts about Henry's demeanor, but the show also highlights that the man was an amazing King who did a great deal to empower his country. This show is a must see for any history lover.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Henry was not "big" when young

    JB wrote that Henry fell into the "big and tall" catagory.....actually, when he was a young man (as depicted here) he was slim and strong and considered handsome. Also, in those days, no one was very tall! Just take a look at some of our buildings from that time (ordinary homes, not castles or the like) and you will see the doors are tiny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    One of the Best Shows I have ever seen!

    Everything about The Tudors is absolutly amazing. It keeps you wanting more, after each episode I couldn't wait to watch the next one. If you want a show that is truly addicting and worth every second, then this is it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Tudors

    If you have ever pondered the life and times of King Henry VIII, then this is the DVD for you. Jonathan Rhys Meyers does a superb job of interpreting the "young" King Henry as a dashing-athletic rogue. This first DVD set also delves into King Henry's internal struggles and the pain of his syphillus. Watching the king go through wives like "Grant went through Richmond" was astounding, but, connects in a real way to King Henry's internal struggles. The king truly wanted a soul mate and partner, and his one queen who fit the bill, died in child birth. The casting director did a great job and I approve of the supporting actors. As I am not an expert on England's monarchy, this DVD has piqued my interest and I intend purchase the entire set in an effort to learn more. This version of King Henry VIII is definitely worth the investment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful series

    Well, have gotten through all of season one and onto season two. My husband and I are thoroughly enjoying being at "court" and all it's intrigues. The series had been recommended to me by a friend and I am so glad she did. I love to read historical fiction but this is even better.

    The actors are perfect for the characters they portray and are very believable.The set and costume designs are beautiful and you can see no expense was spared here.

    I have already ordered season III and might have to subscribe to Showtime to watch season IV unfold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Tudors Season 1

    This is the most intriging series ever. Jonathin Rhys-Meyers is King Henry the VIII and does a fantastic job portraying him. The facts remain close to historical fact. This is one of my favorite TV show series of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pulls you in

    This season was amazing and really pulled you into the drama of the Tudor court. I watched the entire season in two weeks it was so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Henry the VIII for the 21st century

    Although it is not historically accurate I found this drama entertaining and fun to watch. The actors and costumes are great!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love the Tudors !!

    Great to be able to watch the whole season at once. Don't think and i could stand the anticipation of waiting for each episode to come on TV.<BR/>Loved it. Hope they continue with many more seasons. I have season 1 and 2 and would recommend both !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How can you not love this!

    Fall in love with 1500's in this series! Better yet fall in love with Charles Brandon (Henry Cavill ~ wow)! The characters are great, and the plot is great. The costumes are so realistic, and I think it's great that they used a lot of British actors so the accent is real! Natalie Dormer playing Queen Anne - and a great job at it! I think everyone deserves hands down for each of their roles, great acting, and great story! Long live King Henry VIII (even when he is a jerk!) <BR/><BR/><3 The Tudors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Historic

    I love this movie its an outstanding show

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "The Tudors": Hard to Believe this Gem is TV!

    Well, I did not think I could, at this point, become interested in yet another version of a period in British History that has been given so much attention by so many people in so many ways so many times. Yet, all that was needed for that erroneous perception to change was for me to take just a peek at "The Tudors", once. "Could this be... television?!", I wondered in amazement. Had not finished asking myself that question when I realized I had become shamelessly, utterly hooked, apparently forever. Like a sinfully delicious, forbidden delicacy, "The Tudors" is instantly addictive. Its secret? It boasts a genial treatment given by its writers to the passions and intrigues. A gorgeous, extremely talented cast. Superb direction. Lush, dreamy locations. Magnificent cinematography. Rich, beautiful costumes and sets. Audacious, tantalizing love scenes. Not to mention all those castles! And do not, please, dare call this a soap opera. "The Tudors" is something genuinely unique, a superbly crafted, absorbing masterpiece. Purists may argue there are some historical inaccuracies. That Henry the VIII was not, according to the portraits, as beautiful, fascinating and mesmerizing as Jonathan Rhys-Meyers is in his role as Henry. And that Anne B was not, "in reality", as beautiful and sexy as Natalie Dormer, but... Who cares? Just watch, be amazed and enjoy it. You will never regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All hail...King Henry VIII

    I just started watching The Tudors and I must say it is spectacular. The cast is superb. I especially like Jonathan Rhys Meyers portrayal of King Henry. He is a fine actor for such a young guy. Also, Sam Neill is fantastic as cardinal Wolsey. The actress that portrays Queen Katherine is great as well. The costumes and scenery are lush and the musical score is ethereal and easy on the ears. I love this show!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this show!

    My friend and I watched the entire season in just 2 days. I am hooked! I am going to order Showtime next month just to be able to watch season 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3