Customer Reviews for

The Tudors - Season 2

Average Rating 4.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Very sensational

    Very sensational and intense. This season was the best.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Rise and fall of the Lutheran Heretic

    Season 2 continues the saga of Henry VIII from Katherine of Aragon, through Anne and the Boleyn family to Jane and the Seymours in 10 episodes. Henry (Jonathan Rhys-Meyers) is convincingly debauched and autocratic. Feisty, demanding, intelligent and beautiful Anne Boleyn (Natalie Dormer) ia not his usual courtier. To marry her, he breaks with the Pope, starts the English Reformation and sets up the Church of England. Then he becomes captivated by Jane Seymour - sweet, demure and pliant in sharp contrast to Anne.

    Behind the scenes, the Boleyn (Lutheran) and Seymour (Catholic) families connive for power and the king's favor. Lord Privy Seal Thomas Cromwell (secret Lutheran with plebian origins) smarms his way through it all, first supporting Anne, then turning against her.

    A few of the wonderful supporting characters - Katherine of Aragon (aristocrat par excellence as played by Maria Doyle Kennedy), her daughter Princess Mary (who later become the Catholic Queen Mary and seeeks to undo the Reformation), and Anne's young daughter, Princess Elizabeth who becomes Queen Elizabeth I, Holbein the artist, and Thomas Wyatt, the poet.

    Henry has his marriage annulled by the Archbishop of Canterbury. Anne becomes the queen. She is not popular with the people. They look on Katherine as the rightful Queen. Rumors spread that Anne is a sorceress who has bewitched the king. Her downfall comes when she gives birth to a premature, deformed still-born son. She is swiftly sent to the Tower, and Jane takes her place. In the last episode,there are several gruesome axe beheadings. Anne has an easier death because she is decapitated quickly by an expert French swordsman specially summoned from Calais.

    The storyline adheres more or less to history. Overall, it is quite enjoyable if somewhat lengthy and repetitive at times. Natalie Dormer's Anne Boleyn is much more developed and believable than Natalie Portman's Anne Boleyn in the recent movie 'The Other Boleyn Girl'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Series

    Another wonderful season of The Tudors. This is a series that is not well known, but should be. There is a balance of everything we as people want in a series: drama, love, passion, power, and conflict. Even though you know the ending, you still are glued to your television. If you are a lover of history or even just a lover a different type of television show, this is a must see.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it, love it, love it!

    I think that Showtime's The Tudors is absolutely amazing! While I am excited about the third season, it will be hard to watch without the charismatic Natalie Dormer as Anne Boleyn. She is riveting!<BR/>The Tudors is captivating and beautiful to watch. I certainly would not rely on its accuracy, after all, it does have people aging and dying to suit plot purposes rather than actual history. It does give a basic gist of Henry's reign and it presents this fascinating history in a new and extremely sexy way!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant, intense, heart-pounding

    If you thought that Season 1 was great, Season 2 raises the bar. The success of the second season goes mainly to Natalie Dormer who gives Anne Boleyn such complexity and charisma that she threatens to outshine even Jonathan Rhys Meyers, James Frain, and Jeremy Northam. The last 3 episodes of the season will have you on the edge of your seat waiting for the inevitable. Who will die and who will survive? Even if you know the history, you will be riveted!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great

    This is the best season out of all 4. Loved Anne Boelyn!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the BEST series I have ever watched!

    I was hooked from the first episode. I am so glad this is available on DVD's because I don't have access to the shows when they air on television. Great acting, beautiful scenery! Watch one and you will be hooked just like I am!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Read the book first..

    If you have not read the book, watching the series will get confusing. I think they did an excellent job with casting, it's amazing how this guy moves on from one wife to another..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerful Performances

    Great fun, visually perfect. The performances are wonderful, the continuing saga is brought for for the second year. I hold out great expectations for season three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bodice ripping in the court of Henry

    Very good, historically accurate, well delivered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tudors - Part 2

    This DVD set gives an updated visual of the tudors' reign in England. You will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tudors, Season Two

    Entertaining and interesting! Just as engaging as the first season of The Tudors. Barnes & Noble had a good price point for the product, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Tudors Season 2

    It is an excellent season. It stays pretty close to historical fact. I definately recomend it. It is very addicting, I almost watched the entire season in one day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Love the Tudors

    If you want to indulge in an intelligent, beautifully made, and sexy show, this is the one. Just the costuming and sets are worth viewing on their own. The story will keep you engrossed from beginning to end. I highly recommend this show. The acting is fabulous, and a fun way to learn about the history of England.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Drama - Fascinating & Stunningly Beautiful

    I love history and am a big fan of period dramas. The Tudors does not disappoint. The art direction is beautiful and the acting is engaging - especially Natalie Dormer who plays Anne Boleyn with the depth and complexity she undoubtedly possessed. I know that the writers, for the sake of drama, have taken some artistic license, but I am sure it will spark a desire in many to further study that most interesting time in European History - The English Reformation. For me, it also highlighted the dangers of marriage between church and state as I couldn't help but think of the poor serfs who were forced to live and die by the personal desires of a "Sovereign" as well as the "Princes of the Church" who also seek to control them in the name of God. This series is fascinating and poignant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Tudors-Showtime Series

    The DVD of the second season is great. The entire series is excellent. The time period is a woderful tour of history. And one can see why the producers received an award for the Period Costumes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Work Of Art!

    The Tudors - both Season One and Season Two are looks into past English History so vivid one can see oneself as part of Henry the Eighth's court. The stories behind each character are so absorbing and so well acted that you are lost in their world.

    My highest praise is for Jonathan Rhys Meyers - I believe that he is Henry the Eighth reincarnated. It was very hard for me to understand why any woman of noble birth in England would marry Henry, but it is not any longer. He brought to life all the aspects of the King's character that, good and bad, shows the transition of Henry the Eighth into the King that he became.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Tudors

    I enjoy this series even though it leaves much not covered especially with the trial of Anne Boelyn. The actor who plans Henry VIII at this point in the story is too young and the actress who plays Jane Seymour is far too pretty to be compared with the real images of the woman. The series is visually stunning though especially in the beautiful costumes. The emotions reveal the true wicked nature of the people from so long ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing, but not for young viewers

    Tudors season 2 is absolutely incredible. I love the history, the customs, the intrigue that was found in England during King Henry the VIII's reign, and find this tv series fascinating in its attempt to portray Henry's side of the story, as well as those of his wives and some of his counselors.
    This series is deffinetly not meant for younger viewers, or those who are squeamish about sexual displays being shown on screen. But this is the only warning I have to give on the show.
    The acting is supurb, and the costumes and scenery are beautifully made and exhibited. Overall, an amazing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brings history to life

    Characterization and motivation are made as clear as the historical events and leading characters. Sets, make-up and costuming are exquisite.
    But I especially appreciate the subtle thoughts and feelings written into the scripts. Anne Boleyn was shown as a brave, composed woman of faith at her execution. The scenes prefacing her execution outlined the problem of the delay as her executioner traveled to provide the most "humane beheading" and her thoughts of happier days as a child.
    I regret only that there is not a PG-13 version that could be shared with high school history students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5