BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Usual Suspects

Average Rating 5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Ususal Suspect

    Love watching this movie. Just worth watching..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NOT the USUAL ending!

    This movie does not disappoint. And it is one movie that is definitely worth viewing several times, and the telling gets better with each viewing. As Kevin Spacey tells his story the viewer is introduced to one colorful and sometimes shady character after another. The viewer accompanies him and his partners on a journey that zigzags through a variety of locations across the country. At each locale he shares one wild adventure after another. Throughout the telling you will find yourself at the edge of your seat and with eyes glued to the screen, not daring to leave the room as the action continues. It sucks you in from the very first scene, entertains from beginning to end and then delivers a surprise at the end that just leaves you wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The best ending

    Screenwriter Christopher McQuarrie's 1995 script for The Usual Suspects is one of my of all-time favorite screenplays. When five criminals meet in jail after being arrested for the same crime, they eventually decide to work together. Told in narration by Kevin Spacey's character in a detective's office, he describes to the police officers the grand scheme and how it went wrong due to the ever-feared-crime-kingpin, Keyser Soze. The last five minutes of this movie, leaves the viewer in awe. It's a must see over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic Mystery

    This is one of the greatest recent movie mysteries. The mysterious villain weaves a web of deceit as investigators try to find his identity. This is a great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant plot, it will keep you mesmerised!

    This movie has a storyline and a plot, with such amazing twists and turns, it will keep you guessing till the very end. The story may start out a little slow and seem like a typical movie, but it picks up in intensity as it moves along, and this movie is anything but typical.It is first rate entertainment and brilliantly designed. Kevin Spacey is his usual self, giving a restrained but masterful performance as the pitiful cripple Verbal Kint. Highly recommended. This film will keep you at the edge of your seat!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Do movies get any more clever than this? No

    This movie is mind blowing. This was one well written movie written and directed very cleverly. It's the most amazing thing to find out that what you think is a flashback told by a seemingly crippled and worthless guy is actually just a made up story thought up just by looking at posters and flyers on a wall in an office. You really get into the story: 5 guys thrown in jail for the explosion of a boat and they all hook up and commit crimes for coke or money or whatever, and then you find out at the end that this isn't a flashback at all, that it's just some clever story to fool the FBI into thinking that it's a flashback. Oh yeah, you might want to pay attention to the way Verbal walks at the end.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    better pay attention!

    I've seen hundreds of movies and this is one of the best ever made. Right from the start, you are forced to try and put all the clues together. Who is Keiser Soze? The best part is that when the movie ends, you feel that everything finally makes sense. It's not one of those movies that leaves you thinking 'how was I supposed to figure that out?' The movie will keep you completely enthralled and the ending will blow your mind. If you love thrillers, you'll love this. A must own for any real movie collector.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Set-up, Great Finish

    The writing and directing of this film are superb. The sequence of events and exchanges among the actors keep the plot moving, and keeps the viewer ever-seeking the identity of the master villian until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unusually clever

    The Usual Suspects is an extremely clever film that uses unique wording to baffle audiences. Superb acting on behalf of Kevin Spacey and the other usual suspects. I enjoyed the screen play, acting, and directing of the film. A remarkable film that can be viewed more than once with the same result.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who is Keyser soze.

    This is a brilliant crime thriller and goes right up there with Heat and Pulp Fiction. It is stunning and right until the closing minutes you don't know who did it for sure. Talking of the last few minutes, the ending is the best ending of any film I have ever seen and I've seen a lot of films. The performances are great particularly Spacey as the cripple Verbal Kint. I love this film and the DVD only inhances its wonderment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2002

    The Usual Suspects

    The Usual Suspects is an absolute genius of a film with brilliant performances all around especially Spacey and Byrne. It is easily my favourite movie. See it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST EVER

    usual suspects is my favourite movie. the actors give magnificent performances - especially kevin sp. the end is the best ever and the character of kaizersoje is inspairing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Modern Classic

    Although I watched this movie in the theater with only 2 other people I knew it would do very well at the Academy Awards. Kevin Spacey's Best Actor performance is excellent. Sad eyed Gabriel Byrne is at his best as well. Winning Best Original Screenplay, the plot is full of twists and turns that will keep you riveted until the very last frame. The DVD has an excellent commentary with blow your mind revelations of how the movie was shot. How the movie was filmed is many times as surprising as the plot of the movie. You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Usual Suspects are the ''Un-usual'' Suspects

    A great movie, filled with seasoned talents. Chaz Palmintieri, Benicio del Toro, Kevin Spacey... This film is definately a thinker film that will leave you watching it again and again saying, ''damn, why didn't I catch that last time!!!''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wow

    This is one of the best movies I have ever seen.Great plot.Great acting.Great ending. After I am done writing this I'm going to watch it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2000

    THE BEST MOVIE I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!!!!!!!

    THIS MOVIE WAS GREAT. IT HAD A GREAT STORY, GREAT ACTING, AND BEST OF ALL A REALLY GREAT ENDING. THE ENDING OF THIS MOVIE LEFT YOU SHOCKED. DEFINITELY THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Fantastic Thriller

    One of my favorite movies. A stunning climax, great acting (especially Kevin Spacey), and spectacular cinematography highlight this excellent movie. I can't wait to see ''The Way of the Gun,'' the new movie by the same writer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie Worth A Look

    An amazing movie with an amazing climax. Kevin Spacey and Gabrielle Byrne put on a stellar performances. The movie will keep your attention from start to finish, wondering who's who. The characters are complex, the plot involving, the ending, astounding. A five star movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2