Customer Reviews for

The Way Home

Average Rating 4
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    I loved this movie and think that every parent or aunt or uncle

    I loved this movie and think that every parent or aunt or uncle should watch it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    "The Way Home" I highly recommend this movie, it's rated PG. But it truly is a family oriented film. It is based on a true story of a family who son has gone missing. It is a winner of the Pearl Award from the International Family Film Festival and has been family approved. I really thought this movie was well done. It seemed very short, only 91 minutes, but it was a good film. I cried! It makes you stop and think what is really important in life. If you need a great movie, to lift your spirits this is the film for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    The Way Home, a must see movie for the whole family!

    When I received the opportunity to preview The Way Home I was absolutely thrilled. This is my kind of movie, not just based on actual facts but a compelling true story! There is a fine line between providing for and finding time to commit to your family. Randy Simpkins is such a father and preoccupied by work demands, he fails to notice 2 year old Joe is no longer playing in the driveway whilst the car is being loaded for holiday. As the movie unfold, Randy and his wife Christal search for their missing son alongside their family, members of their community and their church. This is a wonderful story of of a spiritual journey back to God's love, faith and understanding of the priorities in a father's life. This movie was produced with the cooperation of the whole Simpkins' family and actually filmed at their home. The actors were carefully chosen for their beliefs as well as their acting. Dean Cain's performance was at its best! This is a powerful movie all parents should see and I will gladly recommend it to anyone! I gave it a 5 stars! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their Blogger Review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sadly Sweet

    A missing child. A family in crisis. A faith tested. In their darkest hour, God gives hope.
    Dean Cain stars as Randy Simpkins, a husband and father torn between the demands of his job and family. Asked by his wife to watch their two-year-old son, Joe, for a few minutes, he becomes distracted by work. When he returns, Joe is gone. He and his wife search desperately for their missing son through the vast countryside. But as their fear grows, the community responds - hundreds of supporters uniting behind the family in a powerful spiritual journey that will test the couple's love and faith, and forever change a community.

    I sat down to watch this movie with a warm blanket and a quiet house. It was a sadly sweet story that you'll have to watch for yourself cuse I won't give the ending away..lol..Check it out at the library or grab it at your local Christian store.

    This DVD was provided to me for Review, opinions are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    Great Family Movie

    This was a very very good movie! Very inspiring and showed me that your church family or any church family will help you in your time of need. This movie was based on a true story. Randy Simpkins, a husband and father torn between the demands of his job and commitment to his family. Asked by his wife Christal to watch their two-year-old son Joe for a few minutes, Randy is distracted by work and Joe disappears. Racked by guilt, Randy joins Christal in a desperate search for their missing son alongside hundreds of others from their church and community. Randy and Christal's strained marriage must now weather the ultimate test-the potential loss of a child. THE WAY HOME is the story of Randy's powerful spiritual journey back to love, faith and a Godly understanding of what must always take first priority in a man's life-his family. I loved that this movie was a movie that the whole family could enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2010

    highly recommended for fathers

    A parents worst nightmare..... and a mans life changed!!!! The way home i a true account of Randy Simpkins when his 2yr old son Joe goes missing. as a father myself i injected myself into the story.. the emotions that are brought about by this movie, shakes the very foundations of a father. Randy(Dean Cain) is a work first man. then loses his son and realizes the important things in life.... God and family. shows the awesome power of Gods provision... neighbors, friends, churches and emergency personal all search for this boy for about 6hrs (movie time), no one gives up hope or dependency on God. beautiful movie and a must see for any christian family, and especially parents and fathers specifically... bring us back to whats important.


    (this movie was and advanced copy given by Thomas nelson company for an honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    My Whole Family Loved It

    From Thomas Nelson, I received a copy of THE WAY HOME, a movie based on an inspirational true story. Five minutes into the movie, it easily became the best movie my family and I have seen in months. My dad rated it a 9.75. The story centers on Randy Simpkins, a man who concentrates too much on work. His wife is upset with him for not caring enough about his family, and insists they take a vacation. While packing the van, Randy goes into the house to check his work emails and leaves his two-year-old son, Joe, playing in the driveway. When he comes back outside, Joe is gone. What ensues is a desperate search by the whole neighborhood. Many people pray with Randy and his wife, others start prayer circles in towns across Georgia, and the rest of the community heads off to search with rescue teams. An older man named Ed Walker joins the search, although he has heart trouble, with his son. They break away from their team and travel to a spot known as the "four-corners," an area of the woods where four one-hundred acre farms meet. Ed played there often as a child, and feels compelled to search for Joe in the area. As night falls, Ed spots Joe's dog, Cleo.and there nearby is Joe. The movie brings to life how quick a tragedy can happen, and how relying on God can help everything to work out well in the end. Dean Cain, who plays Randy, brings across great emotion. The woman who played his wife, however, could have seemed more upset.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What would it take to remind you of what your true priorities are?

    So many times as families we search for great movies with a message. Too often we fail in our attempts because companies simply aren't gearing that kind of movie any longer, yet I have come across some greats lately with my latest, The Way Home that I received compliments of Thomas Nelson to review.

    The movie based on a true story is about a man named Randy Simpkins, (played by Dean Cain from The New Adventures of Superman) who is like your typical family man. He spends countless hours trying to make enough so that his wife Cristal can stay at home and take care of raising their three boys. However lately Randy has been working way too much and neglecting his number one priority, his family.

    When Cristal makes plans to take the family away on a much needed vacation to the beach, she has to call Randy at work and tell him to come home. He had promised her he wasn't even going to go into work that day and now he is late coming home. Meanwhile, the responsibility has fallen on her shoulders to load up the family van while taking care of her youngest Joe, whose two.

    When Randy finally makes it home, Cristal is in the final stages of being packed and ready to leave, but needs to make a final check through the house. She asks Randy to take the last two bags by the front door and load them into the van, and make sure to put Joe in his car seat.

    Randy and Joe have a confrontation when Joe refuses to get in the van insisting that he wants to go to his Pa-Pa's house instead on his tricycle. While Joe tells him to stay by the van while he grabs the last of the bags and head inside, Joe promises to stay close. However when Randy gets the last minute impulse to check his work email before leaving, he is caught by his wife. They both grab their stuff and head outside, where Joe is now missing. Thinking he is doing nothing more than playing hide and seek, the parents spread out and begin the search. However after 30 minutes, it seems like something more has happened and the real search for Joe begins.

    This movie has a great message behind it all as Randy gets an opportunity to see what life without his family would be like before it's too late and comes with a great recommendation from me as a must see movie. I would easily rate this movie a 5 out of 5 stars because in today's world where we find ourselves so busy, its easy to lose sight of what really matters most. The movie is 91 minutes long and produced by Red Five Entertainment and Lionsgate. It was also the winner of the Pearl Award at the International Family Film Festival.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Way Home (DVD) Movie Review

    PRODUCT DESCRIPTION


    Dean Cain ("Lois & Clark: The New Adventures of Superman") stars as Randy Simpkins, a husband and father torn between the demands of his job and commitment to his family. Asked by his wife Christal to watch their two-year-old son Joe for a few minutes, Randy is distracted by work and Joe disappears. Racked by guilt, Randy joins Christal in a desperate search for their missing son alongside hundreds of others from their church and community. Randy and Christal's strained marriage must now weather the ultimate test-the potential loss of a child. THE WAY HOME is the story of Randy's powerful spiritual journey back to love, faith and a Godly understanding of what must always take first priority in a man's life-his family.


    MY REVIEW

    The Way Home is the story of Randy Simpkins and the time when two-year-old son, Joe could not be found for several hours.

    This movie is about setting priorities in life and putting God first and family second and career third. Knowing what and who is the most important in our lives.

    Randy has become so immersed and involved in his job that he has forgotten the most important reason for the job. HIS FAMILY. He has become too busy for GOD, too busy for his family.

    We let our job become so all important that we let it comsume our lives. Our jobs are to pay bills and to make life comfortable for our families. And we have GOD to thank for that. For nothing is possible without GOD.

    This is how the community helped in the search. How they united behind the family in a spiritual journey that will test the couple's love and faith and will forever change a community.


    In Their darkest hour, GOD gives hope.

    This is a movie that will having you crying and rejoicing along with everyone else.

    This is a movie that should inspire and make us all take a look at our lives. Are we giving GOD enough time, are we giving enough time to our family? If the answer is no, then we need to do a little reevaluating.

    Watch this movie, it's a winner!!!

    Thomas Nelson has provided me with a complimentary copy of this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1