Customer Reviews for

The Wire - The Complete First Season

Average Rating 5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

If it weren't for David Simon and his ficticious Baltimore, many people would never be exposed to the grim reality that is the drug game. With masterful writing and performances that sadly went unoticed by any award show, the Wire has claimed a spot at the top of serial...
If it weren't for David Simon and his ficticious Baltimore, many people would never be exposed to the grim reality that is the drug game. With masterful writing and performances that sadly went unoticed by any award show, the Wire has claimed a spot at the top of serial television. The Wire isn't some dumb fluff show that you can hop in the middle and know exactly what is going on you must start from the beginning and pay attention to everything and everyone. The term for this is a visual novel, which Simon himself has refered to numerous times. If you want to do yourself a favor, pick up season 1 and see for yourself. You won't be disapointed.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Foul Language a Plenty

After reading the reviews I was looking forward to receiving the DVD as I so enjoyed Homicide also set it Baltimore. This may be an acclaimed show, but I think the use of the "f" word in every sentence by every character is unnecessary. I'm no prude but I found myself...
After reading the reviews I was looking forward to receiving the DVD as I so enjoyed Homicide also set it Baltimore. This may be an acclaimed show, but I think the use of the "f" word in every sentence by every character is unnecessary. I'm no prude but I found myself counting how many times that word was used instead of paying attention to the plot. Didn't get past the first episode.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    If it weren't for David Simon and his ficticious Baltimore, many people would never be exposed to the grim reality that is the drug game. With masterful writing and performances that sadly went unoticed by any award show, the Wire has claimed a spot at the top of serial television. The Wire isn't some dumb fluff show that you can hop in the middle and know exactly what is going on you must start from the beginning and pay attention to everything and everyone. The term for this is a visual novel, which Simon himself has refered to numerous times. If you want to do yourself a favor, pick up season 1 and see for yourself. You won't be disapointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foul Language a Plenty

    After reading the reviews I was looking forward to receiving the DVD as I so enjoyed Homicide also set it Baltimore. This may be an acclaimed show, but I think the use of the "f" word in every sentence by every character is unnecessary. I'm no prude but I found myself counting how many times that word was used instead of paying attention to the plot. Didn't get past the first episode.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST COP VS DRUG DEALER SHOW OR MOVIE EVER!!!

    The Wire brings you deep into both sides of the game. The struggle of the detectives in there day to day lives, as well as their on the job relationships. Bringing you deeper and deeper into the relationship between patrol men and high ranking political figures. As if that was not enough, they bring you deep into the drug game also. From the minor corner hustler to the bigger distibutors. Even the whole relationship between kingpins and how they relate and compromise to gain more in the long run. This show is so well written and thought out that it's scarey. A must see, no, a must own for those who like cop shows, or thug shows, or political shows, or court shows, etc... My personal favorite at the time!!!! P.S. Watch out for Omar!!! The toughest thug since Tony Montana!!! There is a slight twist to him though :-)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    classic, rare, they don't make them like this very often

    I actually work on a television show similar to this one,(Breaking Bad) in that it is first class, from producers,writers, directors, DP's. talent, to end product. The authenticity of it alone, should get accolades. I know from first hand experience what the "game" or "life" is like. Shows like these are few and far between.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Wire aka the Greatest TV Show Ever!!!!

    The Wire is the absolute greatest television show in the history of television. No show, or movie for that matter, depicts the American city as well as The Wire. The show was created by David Simon, a former crime reporter for the city of Baltimore, and premiered on HBO in 2002. I failed to watch the show at all whiled it aired but I do own all of the DVDs. The show is about a major drug investigation in the city of Baltimore between the Major Crimes Unit and The Avon Barksdale crew. However, the show is not a mere crime drama, not only does it contain complex plots and themes, but the whole show is a metaphor of the decline of the American city. And each season, the focus changes from the drug war to the docks to politics to public schools and finally to the media.
    Sadly, this show was not very popular with a the average person or with award shows. This is because of one reason: people are idiots!!! They watch trash like Desperate Housewives and reality TV shows, which are really fake, and then refuse to watch brilliant shows like the Wire because they are too stupid to follow along. The Wire is the most realistic show ever. Because of this, people find it boring because it doesn't get wrapped up in one hour like Law and Order. Let me tell you something, Law and Order does not truly depict the legal system. Also, the show has plenty of sad moments. And this is not a bad thing because it's how the world truly is. But let me stop venting.
    The Wire has the greatest writing of any TV show out there and the acting is perfect. The best performances in the show have to belong to Andrew Royo, as the drug addict Bubbles, Michael K. Williams, as the gay outlaw "Robin Hood" of the hood, Dominic West, as Jimmy McNulty, the detective that sets the investigation in motion, and Idris Elba, as Stringer Bell, the second-in-command of the Barksdale drug rule. There is so much more I can say about this show but people do not need so much motivation to watch the show, everyone should watch this show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    I love it all the way through and I wish I had wacthed it during it first run. They need another show like it.Every where has a wire.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent show!!!

    This show is great. The actors are great. The story line is great. Even though alot of these actors most people arent familiar with this series is great. Very dissapointed that it ended. And ladies even if you dont like bad boys.. Stringer Bell, WeeBay, Avon, Slimm OMG!!! They are worth watching!!!(WINK,WINK!!) HBO you out did your self on this one!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Greatest Show on HBO

    I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Unparalleled drama from The Wire

    This is not a series that you can watch casually. It demands attention. It doesn't pander to the unintelligent viewer; with rich characterizations, tightly-woven plots, and fantastic acting, you can't go wrong with this drama about Baltimore.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All Content, No Flash

    From the very first scene of the very first episode, The Wire sets itself apart from every other show on television. No action packed episodes, no neatly wrapped story lines, no political posturing, it is, without a doubt, the most character rich, morally complex crime show ever aired, infact, to classify it as such would be a gross injustice, (like calling Deadwood a western). It should be remembered as classic American literature. The writing is rock-solid, tough and humane, the acting, understated and authentic, the humor is unexpected, gut busting and never overdone. It also gets sharper and richer with repeat viewings, (the anti- Law & Order).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible Series -- On DVD, as it should be watched

    This is one of the best shows on television -- smart, intense and completely riveting. I could never get into the series when it was on originally because it seemed too difficult to catch up. It's perfect for DVD, but, watch out, because you may get so sucked in that you will stay up all night.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HBO does it again

    HBO has done it again. I bought this set solely on the HBO name. Love the story and how it is put together. I bought it because I was tired of waiting for the Season 5 of Sopranos to be released. I will want the rest of this one too!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1