Customer Reviews for

The Wizard of Oz

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Oz in Blue Ray is unforgettable

If you have seen this movie, as we have multiple times, it won't compare to the Blue Ray version. Our family has been Wizard of Oz fans for years and can recite most of the lines along with the actors. This is a must see for Oz lovers! The box containing the memorabi...
If you have seen this movie, as we have multiple times, it won't compare to the Blue Ray version. Our family has been Wizard of Oz fans for years and can recite most of the lines along with the actors. This is a must see for Oz lovers! The box containing the memorabilia is very nice and can be a family treasure for years to come.

posted by 2dogmom on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

THIS IS NOT A WIDESCREEN VERSION!

The description of this leads you to believe the dvd is in a widescreen 19x9 aspect ration, not its 4x3 television edited format. The only widesrceen formatting in on the movie's home navigation page.

posted by 1068813 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS NOT A WIDESCREEN VERSION!

    The description of this leads you to believe the dvd is in a widescreen 19x9 aspect ration, not its 4x3 television edited format. The only widesrceen formatting in on the movie's home navigation page.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Oz in Blue Ray is unforgettable

    If you have seen this movie, as we have multiple times, it won't compare to the Blue Ray version. Our family has been Wizard of Oz fans for years and can recite most of the lines along with the actors. This is a must see for Oz lovers! The box containing the memorabilia is very nice and can be a family treasure for years to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a great gift set.

    I have loved the Wizard of Oz since I first saw it. The gift set is exciting because it it fills in the gaps of how the author came to write the book. I had never seen the movie with John Ritter in it before and I completly enjoyed it. All of the other parts I loved also. I am going to be making a scrapbook about the Wizard of Oz starting with the reason the book was written. I love everyone who loves the movie get this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Wizard of Oz

    My 2 yr old daughter fell in love with "Boz" the first time she watched it. Definately a great purchase. She's watched it so much we may need to buy another!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SIMPLY THE BEST

    When a film is as good as THE WIZARD OF OZ to begin with, it's hard to make it better. Having said that, however, this 70th anniversary addition genuinely improves on a timeless original. This digital transfer has obviously been a labor of love for the restoration team, and their affection for and care of the original material is evident from the very first frame of the film. The abundance, depth, and variety of the color palette is unsurpassed. The set pieces, the backgrounds, and the costumes pulse with energy and bring a new level of cinematic authority to this movie masterpiece. The pristine clarity of every shot radiates with power and movement. Who knew that early Technicolor could look this good? The sharpness and visual sweep of this transfer gives THE WIZARD OF OZ a sheen of sheer wonder than enhances its enchantment. And because all of these qualities are incorporated to support the beauty of the film's story, they never overwhelm the action or the characters. The cinematography has never looked better, the soundtrack has never been as crisp, the characters have never looked so alive and detailed, and the entire film is unparalleled. Even the DVD extras enhance the experience of the film, making this a WIZARD for the ages. Whether you choose the standard DVD format or the Blu-Ray option, you will not be disappointed. But don't wait too long to decide. This set is a limited edition collector's item, and when it's gone, it's gone; so get yours today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies ever!

    This movie is a all time favorite and one of the best movies i've seen, it's a life-changing movie that will teach families good lessons about friendship, this is truly a awesome movie on a awesome DVD with tons of extras and it's worth owning to every DVD collector.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    This is a fabulous story. It is somewhat more savage than I reco

    This is a fabulous story. It is somewhat more savage than I recollect so would not suggest for little youngsters. I brought

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Buy now, dont be big dummy

    like Wiz of Oz good but like Cheese Wiz better. Me get hungry too much I guess!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting Movie

    This movie is fun, creative, imaginiative, and great for the whole family to watch! Trust me parents children will love this awesome funny movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Suicidal munchkin or just a bird??

    In this clear picture of The Wizard of Oz on blu ray, you can see every single detail of the sceneries and the backgrounds. From the obviously plastic flowers in Munchkinland to the question of whether someone was hanging himself in the trees or if it's just a bird flapping its wings in the background when Dorothy, Scarecrow, and Tin Man continue on their way to Oz. It's a great movie for children to enjoy with their families and even for parents and grandparents to reminisce on their childhood. Judy Garland's singing voice is sure to snatch the attention and the emotions of anyone. The Scarecrow will never cease to humor you. And Toto, the dog, is just plain adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oh MY!

    what a beautiful movie. I loved this as a kid...my daughter loved it...and now my two grandchildren, boy age 4 and girl age 2...this is their favorite movie. We usually watch it when their getting ready to nap in the afternoon...but don't tell their mom..haha....I have never seen them so interested...their little eye...well...they become very large eyes...haha...they do not take the eyes away...they love it too!
    The color is bold, bright and beautiful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My fav movie of all time....

    ...and still holds up! The colors are great on my new 1080p, flat screen TV! Like watching for the first time, but now I know all the words! WOULD
    LOVE TO SEE THIS BACK ON THE BIG SCREEN...IN IMAX 3-D!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wizard of Oz Collectors Edition

    This is a very nice edition to your collection of Wizard of Oz. I bought the blu-ray dvd. I have a blu-ray, but unless you have an hdtv, there is no difference in the screen. There are nice things in the collection. I did not know John Ritter did a movie on L.Frank Baum. There is a lot of stuff on the dvd's. I could not get the digital cd rom to work on my computer. That's the only thing that was a bummer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    A classic! A must see for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A new generation of fans captured!

    One of the best films of all time, the limited edition box set is fabulous. The book was fascinating to read and the collectible watch exceptionally nice. Watching the DVD was like visiting old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wizard of Oz

    All time favorite, I bought it so my 4 year old daghter could see it she also loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Classic Epic Movie, Even Better!

    The movie speaks for itself, but this package is amazing. You get so many additional things that you cannot get anywhere else. This is the perfect gift for the WoO fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Wizard of Oz Fan

    It made a good gift. She was thrilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Timeless Treasure!

    1939 was a magical year for film making in Hollywood with the Wizard of Oz being one of those special films. This film is a classic that is adored by children and appreciated by adults who have seen it time and again. It has every element a great film should: an entertaining story, marvelous actors, drama, a dash of comedy, some musical interludes to drive the narrative, colorful sets, beautiful costumes, phenomenal make-up, and innovative special effects. We dream with Dorothy for all that lies beyond the rainbow and we champion for her return home back to Kansas. It's a marvelously delicious journey down the yellow brick road with characters that are old friends that we never tire of seeing. This film is a classic because it is timeless and no matter your age, watching it always makes you feel young at heart. Happy 70th anniversary to a film that has endured the test of time and continues to delight a new legion of fans every year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6