Customer Reviews for

The Wrestler

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mickey Rourke was robbed

    This movie, along with Gran Torino, Let the Right One In, and the Fall, was one of the biggest snubs at the Oscars. As the headline suggests, Mickey Rourke put in a stellar performance as Randy, the likes of which I havent seen in years. This is not over the top. This is not your becoming-another-person kind of acting job. This is a pure, semi-autobiographical outpouring from an actor who was once the heir to Deniro. Marisa Tomei puts in a great performance as well, not really as a sympathy case, but obviously as someone who has been worn down and broken. The movie itself is quite remarkable as well, drawing to mind a more realistic sort of Rocky, without all of the pomp and circumstance. As I said before, this movie was criminally snubbed at the Oscars, but I believe it will find a huge following on DVD for years to come.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Darn Fine Movie

    This is an awesome movie. PERIOD. as a film fan anyone will enjoy, but if you are a wrestler or a fan of wrestling you will appreciate it more. it does not blanket the whole industry like other films have (BEYOND THE MAT was an insult in many a way) but it does not sugarcoat it or give it a black and white facade either. Rourke's performance can be sympathetic but at the same time the film makes it clear that he is the reaper of what he sowed in his life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    oddly, this is a quiet movie

    This movie sneaked up on me after I watched it. It's not one of those movies you immediately like, rather you appreciate it more afterwards.

    One thing that bugged me to the point of distraction: The camera was constantly behind Micky Rourke, as if the cameraman was running behind him with the camera rolling. At first, I thought it was just a device to hide Rourke's hideous surgically transformed face from the camera,but they kept it up throughout the movie.

    Marisa Tomei looks amazing. I have no idea if she was a good actor in the movie, but she was very naked in the movie. Thumbs up for that.

    Evan Rachel Wood was underused, but she is an amazing actor.

    I'll watch this movie several times.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good sports movie

    My son has always followed professional wrestling. He thought it was well done and shows the other side of wrestling. It is not all showtime and glamor. It's tuff when it is all over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Grand Performances

    You've heard it by now but I'll say it again, Rourke's performance in The Wrestler pure is cinema. Support cast by both Tomei and Wood are both moving and memorable.

    Darren Aronofsky's Direction into a completely engrossing environment of the wrestling world gives fans and first-timers a smoke and mirror look on how ringside antics are choreographed and performed.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Decent movie, but no sympathy here

    I never cared for wrestling but this show was interesting since it showed how fake some matches are, while others are absolutely nuts. But I didn't care about what happened to Rourke's character for a moment, not even when he collapsed after the staple-gun match. I mean, what do you expect when you're willing to do something that freakin' crazy? Things didn't exactly get better for him as he made an effort to reconnect with his daughter and then - whoops! - failed to keep his promise to meet her since he had to get some sleep after engaging in hardcore drug use and sex with some fireman-obsessed bimbo who owns a ferret. What a great guy, right? What a dad. I mean, he doesn't just prove to be off his rocker, he also provides concrete evidence again and again that he's a complete idiot. Even the culmination of his attempts to return to his glory days in a contest with his archrival, of course featuring his signature move, rang very hollow for me. In sum, Rourke and Tomei were excellent in their portrayals but I couldn't connect with either one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent acting, excellent story, up there with "Leaving Las Vegas"

    Hey, I had to force myself to watch a movie about wrestling. Also I'm no real fan of Mickey Rourke (think, "Harley Davidson and the Marlboro Man"). So many people had told me this was a, "really cool movie" I finally accepted a friend's loaner DVD just to shut them up. Then I didn't take my eyes off the screen until it finished. The only slow parts of this movie are the introduced pauses used to illustrate the falsehood of professional wrestling. The slower sequences, such as in the deli, illustrate how likable the wrestler is and show that everything has some sort of worth. Rourke is fascinating. His character is truly tragic. Tomei's character is complex, and any red-blooded male would watch this just to watch her. The wrestling is just used as a stage for Rourke's hellish life. The film is shot in almost a "reality television" style, which draws you even deeper into the story, but it's the acting that really allows the suspension of disbelief. I not only started to like Rourke's character, I really felt for him. His victories are so tiny and meaningless, but you see why they matter to him. Tomei's acting is a perfect illustration of every crazy, conflicted broad you've ever known and reminds you why, in the end, you walk away from them. You're repulsed by many of the things Rourke's character does, but you understand why he does it and feel sympathy for him. This movie is up there with "Leaving Las Vegas" but probably above it because this is not a depressing movie. This movie shows how dignity can be drawn from even the shallowest, most meaningless existence and shows the hero going out with at least his own style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1