Customer Reviews for

The Young Victoria

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    CUTEST MOVIE EVAAAAH!

    Emily Blunt, bravo! I loved this movie and it also made me cry at the end when I saw that Albert--Queen Victoria's husband--died from typhoid fever. They were so cute together! Even though when you do some research, you find out...that Albert was...Victoria's cousin...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simple but entertaining

    There honestly wasn't too much to this story, but it was still entertaining and sweet. It was about the early life of Queen Victoria. From the early days of her childhood with her mother and her mother's controlling man. To her coming of age and becoming Queen. Once crowned she soon discovers that she has few friends and that being a woman AND a Queen may work to her disadvantage, if she doesn't take control of her own life. Albert proves to be not only her love, but her best friend. A heart warming story. I love a a good period peice, I watched this early Sunday morning on my day off and couldn't have been happier. I will definitely buy it and watch it again on a rainy day :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This movie was...

    I waited a long time to see this movie and I must say - it was worth the wait. The primary focus of the movie is Queen Victoria's journey and development from a young child to the longest reigning monarch in history. The love story between Victoria and Albert is quite cute and the chemistry between Emily Blunt and Rupert Friend is undeniable. Also, the costumes and setting designs are simpy quite beautiful and fantastic. I recommend this movie for those who enjoy a glimpse into the lives of royalty and this movie will force them to realize that privilege, riches, and power are often not enough to lead a satisfying and happy life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    A top notch film about the royals. The acting is superb. The ver

    A top notch film about the royals. The acting is superb. The very gifted Emily Blunt portays the young Queen Victoria as a very human, relate-able and complex young woman, struggling to transform herself into the stoic disciplined matriachal sovereign she later became. Rupert Friend does an excellent job portraying Prince Albert and manages to be likable, though the character's motives aren't always clear. Visually beautiful and very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love iiiiiiiittttttttttttttttttttttt

    Omg!!!! Great Movie favorite queen EVER (OTHER THAN ELIZABETH THE 1ST)!!!!!!!!! The only thing that is bad about this thing is that Albert is her cousin (read that from izzie_likes_books) lol delisouis

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historical Drama is my favorite and this one is excellent.

    The costuming and the acting are superb.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Victoria Lives

    This is one of those beautiful period films that the British do better than anyone else. It is a visual treat to immerse yourself in the early Victorian world and experience the palaces, the gardens, the parties, the fashions of the day. At the heart of the film is the love story of Victoria (Emily Blunt) and Albert (Rupert Friend), depicted here as surprisingly sexy and quietly determined to win the hand of the Queen. Like a lot of other folks, I have this mental image of the middle aged to elderly, scowling, dour "We-are-not-amused" Victoria, and so it was refreshing to see her as she might have been, railing at the constraints placed upon her by those who wised to either manipulate her or "protect" her. The viewer gets the sense of just how very claustrophobic her existence must have been until taking the throne freed her from her mother's grip. I don't think there's a teenage girl alive today who can't relate to the drama depicted between Victoria and the Duchess of Kent. The love story itself is tender and sensitively portrayed, although I never thought I'd see the day when I'd be interested in watching a bed scene between Victoria and Albert. The film is a beautiful portrayal of the first part of their love story that never really ended despite Albert's premature death. There an idea here of just why they had so many children.

    As an aside, I was fortunate enough to see the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising exhibit of Academy Award nominated costumes earlier this year. Every bit of detail and craft that went into creating the authentic costumes was shared in creating all the visuals of the film. It's a pity that more detail could not have been seen of some of the gowns, including the wedding dress, which was copied from the original still in storage at Kensington Palace. This film is eye candy from start to finish, and a must for anyone with a love for Victoriana or beautiful art direction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Victoria lives

    I think that most of us are familiar with the Victoria Regina of the "we are not amused" variety. The Widow of Windsor, a plump old woman dressed in black, dripping with diamonds and surrounded by grandchildren. This film humanized Victoria in a way that no other film I've watched has done. Emily Blunt (The Devil Wears Prada) makes a wonderful queen-in-waiting, chafing at the restrictions placed upon her by her mother, the Duchess of Kent (Miranda Richardson) and her mother's "private secretary," who seems to be using both women to attain his own goals. Jim Broadbent plays a small but pivotal role as the dying King William, who is ANGRY at not being given more access to his niece and heir in order to train her for the difficult job ahead of her. Rupert Friend is a surprisingly romantic and sexy Prince Albert, the strongest of the contenders for Victoria's hand. The earliest photos of the real Victoria and Albert were taken when the couple was well into parenthood and middle age, and there is nothing attractive or enticing about either of them, but perhaps it has to do with the primitive state of photography in the 1840's. This movie allows you to see them as emotional, loving young people who are very much attracted to each other, but also aware that they are both being manipulated by others who would very much like to control them. It's been a long time since a movie brought me to tears, but the tender romance depicted here did the trick.

    As an aside, I attended the exhibition of Academy Award nominated costumes at the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising, and saw a good number of the dresses that were used in this movie. The workmanship is incredible in person, and it's a pity that moviegoers could not have seen more of the wedding dress or some other details of some of the incredible costumes from the film. Every bit of attention to detail that I saw in the costumes was reflected on the screen when it came to hair, set decoration, props, locations, etc. You are very much immersed in the world of the early Victorian period, and it is a journey well worth taking time and again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    If you enjoy movies like Pride and Prejudice, Becoming Jane, and The Duchess you will love The Young Victoria. Emily Blunt does a wonderful job of playing Queen Victoria, and you will keep watching the movie over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What a beautiful lovestory!

    After seeing this movie in the theaters, we knew we would be purchasing the DVD. We only wish they had continued Albert and Victoria's life a bit further...we didn't want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    If you are an Anglophile, enjoy a love story, enjoy history, are into period pieces, well investigated costumery....then you will enjoy this film.

    I am all of the things I mention in the title, from Angliphile to history buff. I have enjoyed, since I was in HS, English history, particularly the Victorian period, as the children of Queen Victoria and her husband, Prince Albert of Saxe-Coburg-Gotha (who was also her 1st cousin) populated most of the thrones of Europe until after WWI. We think of Victoria as; stodgy, old, unanimated, imperious, grieving and always dressed in black. Indeed, it is difficult to think of her as young. This is what this film allows us to see. This is not the first time we have seen this, as the BBC and A&E did a 2 part mini series of a younger Victoria and Albert, with an all star cast a decade ago. This film, though, brings it to us with more details to dress, etc...but does not bring the emotions that the mini series did. This is OK, though, as those who would go to see this, would already know the history of this woman who ruled through most of the 19th centurythe "Victorian Era"! Since her husband, crudely stated, as royal stud, produced about 9 children, (I believe, 8 or 9) and then died of typhoid, one could say he did his job as consort. Therefore, though, beyond knowing that Victoria's husband's name was Albert, most know little about him. Anyone who has been to London will know his name, Albert, as Victoria, after his untimely death at a young age, named so many things after him, from Royal Albert Hall to the V & A Museum. Anyway, this film gives us a peek into their lives, the resentments between "V" and her mother. Between "V" and Albert, as no one was sure of what his role was and she was often made to feel, pushed by others like her life long nanny, Lehzen, a German, that he was trying to upsurp her. Between her and one of PM's, Peel after he overthrew her 'father figure' Lord Melbourne. The folm shows a young girl of 18, so sheltered that she was not allowed to go up or down the stairs without another person taking her arm. Who was stopped, as most despised her German mother, and her mom reacted with not allowing her, Victoria, from attending court functions, as heir presumptive to the throne. Thusly, when she became queen at 18, just weeks after her majority, she ran with it and immediately detached form her mother and her mother's aide de camp, Conway, who wanted to remain as advisor to Victoria through her mother, as far as going to ministers telling them that she would be too young to rule at 18 and that her mom should be regent, with him pulling the strings, of course. He mistreated Victoria and her mother would not stand up to Conway, who was immediately gotten rid of after her taking the crown. I enjoyed the film, but there was nothing new in the information I was getting. Hard to think of the incredibly beautiful Emily Blunt as the stodgy Victoria, but she pulls it off, well. Rupert Friend, a very handsome and endearing young man, does well as Albert. Showing his insecuritues but need to be useful to his wife. Miranda Richardson did well as Mom, but Penelope Wilton, who did the same role for the BBC version, was more believeable and so easy to dislike. Huge parts of "V"s first years as queen, were so down sized which you will note ig you know the history. I loved it and if you know that period, you will, too. Very good job. Also so nice to see a story that is real, not made in front of green screens, but human interactions with human emotions, little to no violence. etc. That, alone,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful Romance

    I absolutely love this movie. Emily Blunt is absolutely wonderful as Queen Victoria. Mark Strong is a great villain and Rupert Friend is charming and handsome and looks exactly like Albert. The movie is romantic. Emily Blunt brings the Queen to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    God Save the Queen!!!

    I loved this movie. Emily Blunt was a wonderful Victoria, I cannot imagine anybody else playing this part but Emily. Rupert Friend was an excellent Albert. I wished this movie could have gone on longer, but you will not be disappointed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enthralling

    I loved this movie. beautifully acted, wonderful scenery and costumes.
    Emily Blunt is so beautiful I fell in love with her, if only I were able.
    Overall a beautiful movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    VICTORIA IS THE ONLY QUEEN FOR ME

    I LOVED THE MOVIE IN THE THEATRE AND CAN NOT WAIT UNTIL I RECEIVE THE MOVIE...!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3