Customer Reviews for

There Will Be Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted August 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome film.

    Awesome film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    There Will Be Blood is a historically accurate look at the oil business starring Daniel Day Lewis as a Daniel Plainview an oil man who you do not want to make enemies with.

    There Will Be Blood contains great acting and special effects throughout it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gimmie The Blood..the blood of Jesus that is

    This film, like Ralph Fines' performance in 'Harry Potter', fills out and cannonizes Slayer's 'Reign in Blood' while being still true to Sinclair Lewis... Or so I am told. I did not read 'Oil' yet. Too busy explaining everything to Simple Minds.

    See it. It's a great film with great panoramic visuals.

    The Slavedragon

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Now Now H W

    An amazing story a stand out from the rest of the epics that have been released. An amazing ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    Paul Thomas Anderson's best work yet. It shows the deteriation of a man's soul...very slowly. Though the movie flows slowly, it is very smoothly done. The soundtrack is first class as well. Daniel Day Lewis at his grandest as well. Not a movie, a piece of art!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aghhhhhh So Good!

    I finally checked this out 3 weeks ago and I'm just waiting till I can get my paycheck to buy this movie. I can't say that I'm a big fan or a small fan of Anderson's previous works- but this piece has grabbed my heart and my mind. The scoring definitely kept me on edge through out the movie and the way it was filmed seemed flawless. It caught me by surprise while watching it- I felt terribly uneasy throughout, which is a really hard thing for a movie to do to me and yet I love that feelin! There were also little details show up through the movie that also were reminiscent of Kubrick's "The Shining" that definitely brought a sense back to me that I had been missing for so long. It was one of the best films I had seen in so many years, it is definitely haunting me still.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Boring

    The acting was good but it was very boring and slow. Only watched half and had to turn it off. Would not recommend.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Film Of The Year!

    First, to the reviewer who said this was a waste of talent: Movies with this kind of narrative are not made often "if ever" which is what makes this one so fresh and unique. We have two characters so enraptured by who they are and the mystique they have created around themselves, that neither one can allow the other to encroach on their territory. This brings the plot of the film to a boil... two incredible pitch men, one for God, the other for money, fighting for the adoration and control of a town that is not large enough for their combined egos. Eli Sunday is just as corrupt and morally bankrupt as Daniel Plainview, they just happen to have allegiances to different powers. This kind of rivalry is rarely seen, which makes it more of a treat when the end hits us as it does. Now, on to a review of the DVD "which is another rarity as most people only review the film". The transfer is gorgeous. I wish the dark night scenes looked a little better, but I'm sure they will when it finally arrives in high-def. The sound is equally beautiful. Johnny Greenwood's score amps up the emotions in the film. It sounds especially great in 5.1 surround. The special features are lacking, which is the only downfall of the 2-Disc set. What is given is nice, but a little more would have been great. All in all, I give There Will Be Blood 5 stars for the film itself. Superb acting, great writing/directing from P.T. Anderson "of whom I am a big fan" and knock-out cinematography from longtime Anderson cameraman Robert Elswit "who won an Oscar for this one". Do yourself a favor and see this film "on the big screen first, if possible"... you will not regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Diamonds!

    This film is awesome more so because of the acting, directing, cinematography, and the story itself. Odes to "Citizen Kane" and Terrence Malik's "Days of Heaven" warp into a gritty masterpiece of greed and religion set during America's oil birth out West. Success and failure happen throughout the film, guiding any viewer to realize that it's lonely at the top and bottom with family, in the end, mattering most. Daniel Day Lewis doesn't repeat past performances. He molds himself into a monster struggling with trust and the humane attributes of himself that he must keep in check in a dog eat dog world. The ending of the film is so old school and great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    First and foremost do not base your judgements on the Sinclair novel. Upton Sinclair was a brilliant author and one of my favorites. This movie in its own right is a brilliant loose adaptation of the story. However instead of focusing on politics it focuses on a determined, competetive man an his eventual self deterioration. It is wonderfully shot, and of course as usuall Daniel Day does not dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    oh boy...

    The acting was amazing in this movie...that's about the only good thing I can say about it! It was slow, no substantial plot other than the main character goes to find oil in a small town and everyone goes insane. The music was too repetitive also. Avoid this movie if at all possible!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Brilliant!

    This film is a fine piece of work. Daniel Day Lewis brought depth and life to a seemingly heartless man. Day-Lewis makes this film, and I doubt that it would have been anywhere near as moving and heart pounding as it was had he not been in it. The movie begins somewhat slowly, but it picks up. And when it does, you can't take your eyes off of the screen! Great cinematography, excellent writing. The end will leave you wide eyed and open mouthed. Who knew a movie about oil could be so good?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An American Classic!

    To the previous poster who said this was a major disappointment: I'd like to thoroughly disagree and point out that this film in no way claims to be a true representation of Sinclair's novel. It is titled "There Will Be Blood" not "Oil!" If you read books, then read books. But if you want to see the greatest living actor - Daniel Day-Lewis - collaborate with one of the better directors of his generation - P.T. Anderson - then watch this film. Years from now this will be considered an American Classic, a movie that inspires future directors, cinematographers and performers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    major disappointment

    If you have ever read the Upton Sinclair novel "Oil" and thoroughly enjoyed it, as I did, I do not recommend this film. To call this movie a loose interpretation of "Oil" is very misleading, as this film is a complete trashing of Sinclair's fine novel. The filmaker cherry picked a few portions of the book, and then completely made the rest up. In short, the movie, in no way, follows either the plot, or more importantly, Sinclair's purpose for writing the novel, which was to bring to light the corruption of the Harding Presidency and the bribery implicit in the Teapot Dome Scandal. If you have no desire to read "Oil", then you may find this movie enjoyable, as the acting is very good, but don't view this movie because you want to see a screen adaptation of "Oil" because you will be bitterly disappointed, as I was.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fine Acting Wasted....

    Great acting by the entire cast, especially, of course, Daniel Day-Lewis. Magnificent scenery, editing and camera work...I could go on and on listing the merits of the film but a pretty box does not make a present. There is no real explanation for Plainview character’s rage. Why is he so angry? Why, in particular, does he snub Rev. Sunday? Why, after succeeding, does he cut himself so completely off? Do people like this exist? Perhaps, but nobody makes movies about them. There is no greater narrative purpose here that merits so much effort. Finally, while Mr. Lewis’ performance is excellent, I could not help but note that it is a variation on his Bill character in “The Gangs of New York.” Not worth a purchase.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Orson welles for the new millenium

    First off, anyone who cant finish the movie just lost out on one the greatest cinematic experiences out there. This marks the first time i literally forgot a movie was happening, it felt more like a snapshot from the past that no one was supposed to reveal. it is the most authentic looking, feeling movie ive seen. period. the clash between betweens beliefs and Daniel Day Lewis' character trying to expliot any innocence in humanity is almost frightening in his portrayal. Amazing in every respect, please see this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Talent

    Prime example of excellent character study in acting. The depth of Daniel Day-Lewis's character Daniel Plainview is legendary. Mix in a very methodic rythmn of a film conducted by Paul Thomas Anderson supported by an off beat score by Johnny Greenwood of Radiohead and you have a true cinematic expierence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Incredible! But Not For Everyone...

    I loved this movie. You won't find a better performance than the one given by Daniel Day-Lewis. However, this movie is a little slow. If you are someone who can't appreciate the cinematography or little stories inside of a story, then you won't care much for this movie. That being said, this movie is among the tops of all time, and I believe it will be remembered as such for many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie is Destined to Win Best Picture!

    There Will be Blood is an excellent drama about greed, oil, and power. Daniel Day Lewis portrays the main character with such authenticity and the exciting and controversial story highlights this film to be an immediate classic. Everything about this film, mostly the acting, directing, and the fantastic musical score by Jonny Greenwood make this film a sure Oscar winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3