Customer Reviews for

Thirteen

Average Rating 5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Worth watching.

    Well, first of all, we can say that this film can somewhat relate to us all. It shows us how far a person would go to be accepted by their peers and feel the pressure to remain with them by doing unimaginable things. Actions that can lead to serious consequences. I'm not sure if any of the adults or parents can see this but I believe much has changed since their time, being a teenager myself. More adolescents are experimenting with drugs and sex and this movie has proof of that. It also shows us that if you have a problem, becoming a drug addict or cutting is never the answer to anything and it would only make things worse. I would highly recommend this movie. If you watch it with your parents, you might be uncomfortable but it is definitely worth watching. You just might learn a valuable lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting

    Shows the depths someone will go to be popular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great!

    This was one of the most inspirational movies I have ever seen, it shows the real dangers that teens have to face. The selection of cast was great, and I recommend it to people of all ages, not to influence them to do the stuff, but to learn a valuable lesson, and it was an overall great movie! :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I OWN THIS MOVIE!

    this is a movie about teens and life today. i would have to say this is a great movie and i totally sugest you watch it! its great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one irk.

    i LOVE LOVE LOVE this movie. i'm sure i don't need to go into full on detail into what an honest portrayl or teenagers today is. it's amazing and i totally recommend it. the ONLY minor thing that got on my nerves was when they were inhaling air dusters. it was the fakest scene out of the entire movie, and i don't feel that they tried or did enough research to the effects of air dusters. but other than that one scene, the movie is outstanding. haha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The movie is amazing.

    This is a real eye opener for most. This is an excellent ideal of a classic independent film. Most teenagers have had at least one experince covered in this film such as self-mutilation or getting high with friends. As the media often portrays teens as angels, they are most acurately portrayed in this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All Too Common Reality

    My generation is not of interest to our parents, in large parts, I can say. I can't say that about my own, but in the larger context nobody cares what would happen to their kids like my friends. The only time they might pay attention is if something drastic like a kidnapping happened, otherwise I ain't too optimistic about the baby boomers as parents. Mine have been great and I couldn't have requested for better ones, but if I ended up if ones like the ones typically I would have have been a drug abuser or acoholic or into promisicous sexual activity like this movie. I have seen these self-destructive behaviors occur all the time in my age range, girls and boys alike, and have known some that have died or gone to juvy. Thirteen was certainly a more prosaic and relavatory film than some of Larry Clark's teen exploitation fims he pans as art. I think that, actually, this movie underrated the problems of drug abuse afflicting teens and juveniles. The reasons that drugs are worse in Generation X is because we are starting younger, we're addicted younger, kids are gangsters and in the correctional system younger and also parents are not the authority figures that they should be. Often times, they seem that they want to be peers instead of advisers and they are very inconsistent with rules. They may be strict right now and lenient the next day. Which is it America?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reality not to be taken for granted

    the movie is all about what kids all over go through.. adolesence. although in here the whole experience is a more of a twisted masochistic ideal, one can't help but ask.. what if?! it's an eye opener, a prelude to what really is happening. a good movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thirteen.....

    After reading some negative comments about this movie and hearing the nasty opinions on Thirteen from others, I honestly believe that too many people are taking this movie the wrong way. The point of this movie wasn't to put a bad label on teenagers throughout this world, but to point out some of the dangerous and risky things some chaotic teenagers do these days. I'm 13 and dont jump to the conclusion that this movie is offensive. Although this is rated R due to all the material in the movie, I really recommend it to anyone 12+. The reason why I put such a specific age is because when you're 12, it's the year before you're officially a teenager, and once you become a teenager some things could change dramatically. You never know what's coming up on the road ahead, and even though you may always say to yourself that the things that happen on Thirteen won't happen to you, anything could happen. Let's use Tracy from the movie as an example. I bet she would have never thought in a million years that she would turn out the way she did once the peer pressure from the new junior high environment starting building up. So all I'm really trying to say is that be careful with all the decisions you make in life, and realize that the only reason why they probably decided to make Thirteen was to inform parents and teenagers what can go on in this world these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oddly Disturbing yet truthful...from the prospective of a 21 yr old

    This film hits the nail on the head. Many of the reviewers of this movie seem to be 13 year old girls some say it's very accurate whereas others seem extremely offended by the film as its quote "Not what I do in my spare time." When I first saw this film it was on HBO late night. When I was done I was completely disgusted and appalled by it as it's an extremely disturbing film that chronicles sex, drugs, and cutting at 13. At just 21 things have changed significantly in what young teenage girls today do. I think this is a film that should be seen by parents as well as children and if parents questions his or her child about what they may do in their spare time then good for them. As a parent it's your right to be inquisitive and most importantly informed on what's happening in your childs life. When you don't ask questions, when you have no idea what's going on, if your daughter is being bullied at school or has low life friends, or low self-esteem, things like what's shown in this movie are more likely to happen. So yes this movie is an accurate representation of what's happening with today's youth sex, drugs etc (sure not all) especially when parents don't stay involved. But it should be taken for what it is something that could be, is, or might have happened in the life of your teen. This could just happen to your 15 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not so unbelievable...

    when i saw this movie i was 13...i'm nearly 15 now and this movie is still incredibly accurate to some of the things that go wrong in 13 year old girls lives.... it isn't so unbelievable really.... i have a good friend who used to cut herself and lost her viginity at 12, i'm not saying this is a good thing ('cause it's not) or that every 13 year old girl does this, but the fact that there are a few young girls who do this is enough... i'm sorry if some girls found this movie offensive, but really it wasn't made to be so, it was made to show people some of the difficulties of growing up in this time and age and show what peer pressure can do to a girl...or at least, thats what i thought it was about...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thirteen

    I do not agree with some of the other comments posted about this movie. It was absolutley amazing and teaches some very good lessons that all teens should know. Just because this stuff isn't going on in the town that you live in doesn't mean it's not going on in other places. This was a true story and I think is was very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!

    I reccommend this movie to every teen and parents to. They need to see what is happening to teens these days. I am 15 and it is something that is happening in the world, in ur state, in ur town everyday. This is so common and so real. Teens can relate to it. Nice, average girl meets popular girl, in with cool group and has sex and does drugs and so on. It is an amazing movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm not so sure about this movie...

    After watching this movie it seems that the director has made a point to the veiwers that all thirteen-year-olds are delinquent. Well guess what? they're not. I'm thirteen, and I would never be caught dead doing the things that they showed in the movie. I'm not saying that teens don't do that, because some do, I'm just saying that EVERYTHING in that movie was negative towards me and every other thirteen-year-old. I think the main reason I took this offensively was because the director captured nothing positive about what teens may do in their spare time. Teens do other things rather then having sex, drinking, drugging, and etc. I avoid those things and read, write, dance, and do things like that in my spare time. NOT THE NEGATIVE THINGS I LISTED BEFORE THOSE! It makes parents and other adults think that that's all we do. IT'S NOT!!! My parents even actually questioned me about the things in the movie. Like I said before, I WOULD NEVER DO THOSE THINGS AT THE AGE OF THIRTEEN!!! Sorry if I seem angry, but I am angry and feel like I should be defensive towards others who saw this movie and act like it's a lifestyle to every thirteen-year-old. I really was stunned...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SEX, DRUGS, AND BACKSTABBING

    i think every school should show this movie because it teaches teenagers about sex, drugs and cutting and well im thirteen but still all teenage girls should see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Watch out!

    Thirteen is a true emotional roller coaster that deal with adolescent drug and sex abuse. It also deals with teen depression and peer pressure. Tracy meets Evie, the most popular girl in school and from there Tracy is put into a world she knows nothing about. From dressing sexier, to smoking pot and having multiple sexual partners Tracy begins to spin out of control. As the months go by Tracy once a prostigious student turns into a self mutilating substance abusing thirteen year old girl. Evie even manipulates herself into Tracy's mother's life and the end result is nothing pretty. This is a must see movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST SEE 4 MOTHERS & DUAGHTERS!

    THIS MOVIE IS CRAZY, I LOVE IT, I WILL RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE BECAUSE IT'S TRUE TEENAGE GURLS GO THROUGH THIS EVERYDAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful

    this movie is the best movie ever! it relates to actual events that happen in life. it's awesome. it should have won something, the acting was incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MOVIE YOU WILL EVER SEE

    THIRTEEN IS THE BEST MOVIE. ITS SO REAL. ALL THE THINGS FEATURED IN THE MOVIE ARE SO REAL AND THE ACTING IS AMAZING. THIS IS A MUST SEE FOR ALL TEENS. MANY WILL BE ABLE TO RELATE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eighteen

    I loved this movie! It's crazy how you forget how old they are, because of how they're acting and what they're doing! I was thinking that they were 18 or so, not really 13. It makes parents want to keep their eyes open about their kids friends, and what's going on in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3