BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

To Catch a Thief

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A winner

    Hey, I love Cary Grant and old movies, so this is a winner. Add Grace Kelly, and...... A "must have" for "old movie" buffs.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great restore

    I debated about picking up this version, but was amazed at the clean up that was done on the picture. The Vista Vision really stands out in its clarity. This is a fluff piece from Hitchcock, but boy is it entertaining. Cary Grant and Grace Kelly have never been more relaxed on the screen. Plus, audio commentary from Peter Bogdonavich has been included.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Master's Mystery

    A master's masterpiece, "To Catch A Thief" ranks among Mr Hitchcock's finest. Everything about this version of the cat and the canary is spot on: the story, the settings, the cast (what memorable characters!), the screenplay, the score. And it gives us Cary Grant in his most charming bon vivant role. The plot twists as only Mr Hitchcock can twirl it as "The Cat" tries to prove he really has retired to a life of leisure and elegance admist the rich and ordinary residents of the French Riviera. "Catch A Thief" is superb; go ahead, catch a taste of it ~~ you'll not be sorry.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrific!

    A terrific film! Grace Kelly is beautiful in all the scences. Cary Grant is funny and Jesse Royce is hilarious!! I love this movie, the costumes are terrific. A very surprising ending!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    hilarious, not suspensful, especially after watching repeatedly

    Cary Grant's famous sarcastic humor shines all throughout the film. Jessie, Grace Kelly's mother, matches that humor to a T. Grace Kelly plays an uptight rich girl that is used to having to reign her mother back in when she gets too wild or carefree or drunk. Everyone's character is quite a character, but I reccomend captions for all the french in there. It's so sexy to watch These two flirt around, and to have full on displays of (literal and figurative) fireworks in between the most romantic scene that turns to disaster and then humor. Only one person dies, and it isn't a major character, but you're mind always thinks that Cary will be killed at some point. I love the scene when Grace and Cary go on their picnic and look at villas together (a whole backstory there in itself that will ruin your experience if i explain), and they are being followed/chased by the French police. He knows it, but won't say anything. She's speeding and making tight turns on cliffs, almost running people over. He suggests slowing down, and she mentions the police following them, and he tries to deny it which, when the picnic scene comes, you realize that she has figured out his true identity. You will see these really steep roads in some car chasing scenes, that look more suitable for a roller coaster design than a car. Sadly, it was speeding down one of those roads in the south of france, that now literal Princess Grace Kelly of Monaco was killed in a car crash. The movie ends on a humorous note, and that note isn't the dialouge, but in fact the reaction to that dialouge. Buy it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb

    This movie amazing! On the Hitchcockian scale, it may falter, but what good director stays the exact same. That is what makes Hitchcock such an amazing director. In my review of Rebecca, I said that it was not a typical Hitchcock film, and that is why I disliked it, but I don't want to sound contradictive because this movie is still a Hitchcock, but just not as dark. There is no doubt about it, this movie must be seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2000

    One of Grant's best films!

    This is one of the best films Hitchcock, Kelly or Grant ever made. It has it all -- mystery, romance, humor, great French Riviera scenry -- what more could you ask for? Less sinister and moody than most of Hitchcock's work -- this film has all his trademarks -- dramatic lighting, fabulous acting, and yes, even that cameo of Alfred himself. You owe it to yourself to own this classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1