Customer Reviews for

To Kill a Mockingbird

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They do not come any better than this!!

    I have watched To Kill A Mockingbird.. probably more than any other movie that I can remember. Gregory Peck at his very best. A story that touches your heart, your conscientious and your soul. It is story of family love, fairness, values and ugly prejudice. The movie was wonderfully adapted to the screen with a power and warmth that reaches out and touches you. The movie music theme is so hauntingly beautiful and fits perfectly with what is going on on the screen. I recommend this movie to anyone that has a high appreciation for a great movie with excellant performances from all of the actors. It will leave you with a great feel good feeling and you will most likely want to watch it over and over and over again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    great book.

    great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Atticus Finch is a lawyer in Maycomb County, Alabama. Mr. Finch is defending a black man charged with rape of a white girl. Atticus has two children, Jean Louise “Scout” and her older brother Jeremy “Jem”. In the beginning, it shows Jem and Scouts routine of everyday life, all year. Their town is full of different types of people that they meet and learn about. And how the white people treated the blacks. Everything started at the beginning of the summer when Dill came to Maycomb and he gave the idea to make their neighbor, Boo Radley come out. Very few people have seen Mr. Radley and the three of them make up stories of why he doesn’t come out and they try to get him to show himself.

    I really enjoyed this book and how Harper Lee put it in the perspective from Scout, because it makes it interesting and sometimes easy to read. The book showed you how people treated the blacks even after the time of slavery. I heard a lot of great things about this book. The only disliking thing I had about it was how hard it was to get involved/keep reading the book at the beginning. The way the beginning starts is a little confusing. But I recommend to keep reading, because by the end, you will want to go back to the first page and start reading it all over again. You should definitely go out and buy the book, because it’s a book you’ll want to have. This book deserves a rating of 10 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Marvelous story, performances and soound track

    This is a film, and book, that should be on everyone's 'must see" and "must read" lists. Gregory Peck's performance of Atticus Finch was certainly deserving of the Oscar he received. Atticus is a quiet, honorable and loving man who is placed in the unwinnable position of the attorney defending the accused black man, Tom Robinson. My two favorite scenes are: 1. At the end of the trial the black miinister says to Atticus' daughter "stand up, Miss Mary Ellen, your father is passing" and 2. After Mr. Ewell spits in his face, Atticus suppresses his own rage, wipes the spittle from his cheek, then casts his soiled handkerchief aside as if to say he won't put that man's residue back into his pocket.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Best of All time

    This is a must have for classic movie lovers. They just don't make movies this moving any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome Movie

    My wife and I love this movie so much that it was on tv one night and I ended up purchasing it the next morning!! It is a great movie. We recommend this movie to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the BEST movies ever made

    Gregory Peck is absolutely amazing in this movie classic. This is one of the movies that you must see before you die. Harper Lee has written fabulous story and it transfers well to film. The films has its funny moments, it is a backed with racial tension, and a great gothic tale. I urge anyone who has never seen this movie to watch it at least twice. I also encourage you to read the book too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Classical favorite

    Watching this DVD takes me back to my childhood. The actors are outstanding, the plot riviting, and it plays on the emotions. There were parts that were funny, sad, scary and worrisome, which kept me enthralled. With it taking place in the racist south, shows the depth and breadth of the injustice of racism. To Kill a Mockingbird is an all time favorite of mine, and I have watched it with my children and grandchildren, to carry on the tradition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD-REVIEW BY AN OLDER PERSON

    It was a wonderful movie. I do recommend that you read the book first as
    the movie could not put every event in it due to time. I had seen this movie when I was young and it was wonderful to see it again. I reread the
    book during an illness and just had to see the movie again. I higly recommend it. I also purchased one for my grandchildren and a daughter.
    I love Gregory Peck. His voice is so amazing.

    This book is a classic and I highly recommend everyone read it. You can
    read it more than once and still enjoy it.

    A retired teacher. My husbands calls me Bigbossy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Timeless

    I must admit that I was initially wary of watching this movie. TKAM is my favorite book and I have seen too many book adaptations that deviate far, far from the original story. I wouldn't like to see TKAM filmed that way but curiousity got the better of me and I went to the video store to purchase a DVD. I was very happy and contented with my decision. I must say that from the very start, this movie struck a deep chord of approval and sprung some very precious emotions from me. The opening sequence and the music was just so perfect. I take my hat off to the great Elmer Bernstein and his genius. The opening sequence focused on a child's world which in my mind, is the very essence of the novel.

    The excellence of this movie was the whole congruity and the coming together of all the film's elements; the cinematography was right, the music doesn't override or overpower the scenes, instead it blends perfectly; the actors all did a very fine job and the screenplay was generally faithful to the novel. I know that Harper Lee herself supervised some of the movie's scenes.

    I do believe that Gregory Peck rightfully deserves the best actor Oscar. The kids were also great; they all looked their part and were very natural.Mary Badham, Philip Alford and John Megna were casted perfectly for their roles. Mary was even nominated for the Oscar Best actress at that time. She was one of the youngest ever to be nominated for the award. I must also commend the supporting cast especially Rober Duvall who played the role of Boo Radley. It was in this movie that he made his screen debut and albeit his very brief part, he was immensely effective. I have read that to look the part of a photophobic recluse, he had to stay indoors for weeks and dye his hair blond!

    I recommend this movie for everyone, especially the whole family. Robert Mulligan did a fine job of directing and Horton Foote made the perfect screenplay. This film, like the book, will arouse in its viewers a feeling of fun, excitement and ultimately, a sense of indescribable sadness. It makes you want to be a child again and it reminds you of what grown-ups must do to preserve the innocence of childhood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great High School Resource

    I teach a Special Day Class for diploma bound students on a public high school campus. Although I would prefer that all my students read the book, I receive and lose students constantly during the semester, so I use the video for students who arrive during our reading or after the class has read the book and is discussing it.

    I also leave a copy in the class library for any student who may have missed reading the book or for any student who wishes to share the story with his/her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    I just love this movie. My mother had me read the book and the movie is as good as the book. Gregory Peck was wonderful in this move and Bo was forever etched into my mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is one of my Top Ten Movies of all time!

    This is one of the best movies ever, a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie EVER on Racial Issues

    This movie and book are the BEST ever produced and/or written on racial tension and injustice. This will always be at the Top 10 of my BEST movie and BEST books written!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best movie ever !

    This is great movie talking about innocent black man charged with raping a white girl at the trail. A white girl lied to the judge about raping. It is very interesting about southern culture. You should watch the best classic drame movie!! You SHOULD watch this!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    In it's own quiet way, this is one of the best movies dealing with race relations that the American film industry has ever made.

    In it's own quiet way, this is one of the best movies dealing with race relations that the American film industry has ever made., 28 February 2005 Author: filmfactsman (filmfactsman@yahoo.com) from Beverly Hills, CA For "To Kill a Mockingbird" (1962), the film version of Harper Lee's 1960 first novel about growing up in Depression Alabama, Universal studio's ad campaign was: "The Pulitzer Prize novel that became a legend in its own time is now a memorable motion picture." McCall's magazine concurred, raving, "What a sheer delight to see a movie that informs, amuses, enchants and makes you think all at the same time." Rock Hudson had discovered Lee's novel based on her childhood reminiscences, but the studio turned down Hudson at the time and only later bought the screen rights for Gregory Peck, hiring Robert Mulligan to direct and Horton Foote to write the screenplay. For novelist Lee, the casting was precisely right. "That film was a work of art," she glowed. Before beginning the film, Peck went to Alabama and met the real Atticus Finch, Lee's aged father Amasa Lee, who died during the filming. Lee herself coached Peck in handling the pocket watch he wore. In gratitude for his performance, she presented him with her father's own watch, a gift that greatly moved the actor. Peck commented at the time: "I can honestly say that in 20 years of making movies, I never had a part that came close to being the real me until Atticus Finch." Readers of the Pulitzer Prize novel--a folk classic with overtones of Mark Twain and William Faulkner--expected Hollywood to ravage its wistful Americana. Instead, it turned out to be a superior motion picture, filmed entirely at Universal studios in Hollywood. Frame houses came from a rundown area of Los Angeles and were reconstructed on the studio lot to represent the backwater town of Maycomb, Alabama. Peck submerged his own natural good looks behind round-lens glasses and a sear-sucker suit and was aided by director Mulligan, two non professional children from Birmingham, Alabama (9 year old Mary Badham and 13 year old Philip Alford) and a supporting cast of unfamiliar faces from Broadway. Robert Duvall made his screen debut here in the brief but pivotal role of Boo Radley. The picture suspended notions that Gregory Peck was just a strong-jawed man of iron and won him the Academy Award on his fifth nomination. In addition to Peck, screenwriter Horton Foote and the set designers also won Academy Awards. Atticus Finch is a wise, gentle small-town Alabama lawyer of 1932, raising his motherless offspring and defending a Negro falsely accused of rape. During the first half of the film, we see the sleepy little Alabama town through the eyes of the children. Then during the second half, we become the active participants and the children the watchers as the tragic drama unfolds. Under his soft-spoken guidance, Atticus' two youngsters emerge from the world of childhood fantasy towards maturity in the courtroom, Southern prejudice threatens to defeat his cause because the man he defends is a Negro. Quietly helping the story and the acting is a superb musical score by Elmer Bernstein. It underscores important points and heightens tense moments without ever intruding upon the flow of the story. The range of action with which composer Bernstein had was wide. It included the scoring of a children's game and the welling of terror surrounding a night reconnoiter of the forbidding house where Boo Radley lives. There is music to underline the nobility of Atticus Finch in his dealing with his children and in his efforts to save the unjustly accused Negro Tom Robinson, superbly played by Brock Peters. The story may seem slightly sentimental today in its portrayal of race relations, but its stature and lasting substance stem from the beautifully observed relationship between father and children and from the youngsters' perceptions of the enduri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A DEFINITE KEEPER!!!

    This movie shows why Gregory Peck was one on our greatest actors. He brings to life the character of Atticus Finch to life as Harper Lee described in her book, not to mention how the whole movie brings to life what it was like to live in the South during the Great Depression. This is a must have movie as well as the book itself. Five Stars are not enough!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What was better, the movie or the book?

    This is one of the very rare instances when the movie was as good as the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fanstastic Movie, Fantastic Book

    I loved the movie. I loved the book even more. I'm so glad that I read the book before seeing the movie because I knew all of the tiny little details to everything that was happening in the video. I'd love to see this book made into a mini series so nothing would have to be 'coupled' or mushed together to shorten the story. So very many wise statements had to be left out of the movie for lack of space and time, but oh for the movie that could capture it all. Great entertainment. Great lessons in life. Who wouldn't love this movie/book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Adaptation of The Best Book Ever

    Honestly, To Kill a Mockingbird is my favorite book ever. The story is portrayed beautifully, and, although I enjoyed the book, this movie is the best adaptation of a book I've ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4