BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tombstone

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT ACTING

    I LOVED DOC HOLLIDAY- VAL KILMER WAS BRILLIANT! 'I'LL BE YOUR HUCKLEBERRY'

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    The Best Western Movie In 2012

    The Best Western Movie In 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best Tombstone Version Ever!

    Of any past versions of Tombstone, this one with Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer top all. I would be embarrassed to tell you how many times I have watched this movie. I have it on DVD and also on my IPOD. Watching the movie on my IPOD during treadmill workouts certainly makes the time go by fast. Last year for my birthday, my better half bought me a beautifully framed wall portrait of the famous Huckleberries as shown on the front of this DVD. As I live in Arizona, it goes great with my southwestern decor. I visit the town of Tombstone every chance I get. I highly recommend this version of Tombstone. And, ladies, lots of "eye candy."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE BEST WESTERN EVER MADE!!!

    This particular DVD has EVERYTHING! I have the original Tombstone movie...but I had to buy the collector's edition. And I paid a lot more on mine than Barnes and Nobel charges! This movie comes with a copy of the original map drawn by Wyatt Eurp, has deleted scenes, and shows you the news paper article about what went down on the streets of Tombstone when Eurp's posse took down the cowboys; starting the war between them. Even the trials Eurp and Doc Holiday went through folling this incident; being charged for murder. The story goes into more depth and background, which the movie fails to show. Trust me...the collectors edition is a MUST HAVE for all Tombstone fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True story, Val Kilmer is great!

    I didn't think I'd like this movie, but actually found it really entertaining! I recommend folks check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Sorry Clint, This is the Greatest Western Ever Made!

    The best western ever is not "High Noon" with Gary Cooper, nor Eastwood's "Unforgiven", or "The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly". Tombstone tops them all. The combination of historical accuracy, extremely talented cast, and performances of a lifetime combine to make this movie nearly flawless. Add to that a stirring and well matched musical score, outstanding costumes, photography, set selection, and a cameo with Chuck Heston is the icing on the cake. Val Kilmer should have received an Oscar. (He was robbed.) A must for anyone who loves a good story, enjoys history, or just likes a great evening of entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing movie!

    Tombstone is the one of the best movie, about Wyatt Earp. Kurt Russell, Val Kilmer absolutely brilliant in this movie. Wyatt Earp fans! - has to see this nice little town is South-Arizona.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "I'll Be Your Huckleberry!"

    A wonderful and traditional Western film that is based on the romantization of Wyatt Earp and his brothers and friend Doc Holliday. In fact, the Earps were just as bad as criminals as the cowboys. But this movie isn't intended to be in the genre of realism. It is in many ways, a revenge tragedy with great Biblical allusions that level the movie into the Christian duality of good vs. evil. Doc Holliday, played by Val Kilmer deserved an Oscar in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Now thats a cowboy movie!

    This is a movie that did John Wayne proud,Kurt Russell was perfect as Wyatt but Val Kilmer broke the mold with his portrayl of Doc Holliday....yippee kiyay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Our favorite and most re-viewed movie!

    Tombstone became our favorite movie when we first viewed it and it has remained since. I've lost count of how many times we've viewed it and we seldom watch a movie more than once. We purchased it on VHS and wore out the tape, we now own it on DVD. We even get more rediculous as to be able to recite nearly every line spoken in the movie! A must have in your collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Western Yet

    I could watch this movie until the end of time. What a match on actors. I stand in awe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best western that will ever be made...

    Tombstone is SO good. Kurt Russell does a fabulous job a Wyatt but Val Kilmer does a superb acting job as Doc Holliday. Michael Bien also rocked as Ringo, I think that anyone who has ever seen this movie loves it. 'I'm your huckleberry.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Thomas Haden Church Classic!

    I am an avid fan of Thomas Haden Church. This movie is probibly one of the best he's been in. There is also a good ammount of western history in this movie. The only thing is, Thomas Haden Church's character, potrayed as a young man, was actually older in real life (how'd I figure it out? The History Channel!!! Yeah... I watch it once in a while). Other then some historical innacuracies of the gunfight, the movie in itself is very good! (I'm not a western genre fan, either!) (Sorry for my horrible misspellings, but I'm too lazy to deal with ClarisWorks or consult my Franklin speller...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    Almost as good as The good, The Bad, And The Ugly!!! One of the best Westerns ever!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best

    The best movie period, Ive ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A colorful and action packed western

    A good film based around the legendary Gunfight at the O.K.Corral. The cast is truly superb, especially the supporting players. Sam Elliot is forceful and upright as Virgil Earp, Powers Boothe is wickly funny ''Curly Bill'' Brocious, Michael Biehn is a portrait of pure evil as Johnny Ringo and Stephen Lang as the loud mouth and cowardly ''Ike'' Clanton. The tour de-force performance must go to Val Kilmer as ''Doc'' Holliday. Kilmer gives his best screen performance to date. Whenever Kilmers ''Doc'' Holliday is on screen the film suddenly ignites. Kilmer is funny and dangerous scene after scene. His confrontation in the bar with Biehn's Ringo is a classic. Micheal Rooker, a great actor, as Sherman McMasters deserved more screen time. Rooker like the other supporting cast members is an underrated talent. Joanna Pacula gives a sexy portrayl as ''Big-Nose'' Kate. She could have used more screen time. Kurt Russell is good as the determined Wyatt Earp. Dana Delaney, as Russell's love interest, is also good. But her screen time is short. What a waste. Bill Paxton is also wasted as Morgan Earp. The direction and action are top-notch, topped of with a great musical score. Could have used a longer running length.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FINALLY a SUPERB DVD of this fantastic movie!

    I picked up a copy early, and I must say it's INCREDIBLE! It puts the earlier DVD release of this movie to shame. The picture is superb, the DTS sound is amazing, and the extras (and Director's Cut) make this one of the finest DVDs out there. HIGHLY recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant!

    This film ahs got to be one of the best films I have ever seen. I have always been interested in what happened in Tombstone, and this film gives you all the information you could possibly need. Tremendous acting from the likes of Val Kilmer and Kurt Russell makes the film what it is. Although it is relatively modern, the western shows many similarities to what actually happened at Tombstone and features such as Boothill Graveyard can be seen in the film. After visiting Tombstone in Arizona, I thought I would never be able to come close to the experience again. I was wrong. This film has it all -and more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    spectacular!!

    RUSSLE is riveting as earp . and KILMER is dynamite as doc holliday . RUSSLE plays as the most famous lawman to stride in the wild west and KILMER as his deadly best friend doc holliday who adds power to this hard hitting western. tombstone is a thrilling journey of romance,adventure and desperate heroic action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even better than Young Guns

    In the last 15 years, there haven't been many westerns made, especially those with such a great cast. Young Guns was great, Unforgiven was good, but hands down, the best western in the last 15 years is Tombstone. The action moves fast enough so you're not bored, but they develop the characters enough so you care. This is possibly Val Kilmer's best overall performace as he steals the show as Doc Holiday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2