BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Torchwood - Children of Earth

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Is It the End?

This mini-series was unlike any other episode of Torchwood. For those new to Torchwood it, perhaps, would not have the impact of the fans who have followed it since its inception. I sat and cried at the end for fear that this would be the last of it. My own little pa...
This mini-series was unlike any other episode of Torchwood. For those new to Torchwood it, perhaps, would not have the impact of the fans who have followed it since its inception. I sat and cried at the end for fear that this would be the last of it. My own little pathetic world would not be the same without Captain Jack. Mind you, I am not a young sprout. I am 70 years old.

posted by 1617002 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not Really for Fans of Past Seasons

Taken on its own or as a definitive ending to the Torchwood series, Children of Earth is an impressive drama, but for many of us who has long been fans of Torchwood, many of the elements that made us love the original two seasons are either ignored in this shortened thi...
Taken on its own or as a definitive ending to the Torchwood series, Children of Earth is an impressive drama, but for many of us who has long been fans of Torchwood, many of the elements that made us love the original two seasons are either ignored in this shortened third series, or destroyed by its end. No one who likes Torchwood for its mix of dark humor, action, and romance or its interesting characters would not be well served to watch Children of Earth. There is little humor or hope here once things are set in motion and one of the primary romantic relationships of the series does not survive (which has apparently enraged many a Torchwood fan both in the USA and the UK). The action sequences are the finest yet, but largely seem to be covering major plot holes that make the series more difficult to enjoy on second viewing. It seems that Children of Earth was a way for its creator to be done with the series, but with its massive ratings success in the UK and an almost certain fourth season, many of the program's fans are left asking what is left of Torchwood to continue with.

posted by Lingvo on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Really for Fans of Past Seasons

    Taken on its own or as a definitive ending to the Torchwood series, Children of Earth is an impressive drama, but for many of us who has long been fans of Torchwood, many of the elements that made us love the original two seasons are either ignored in this shortened third series, or destroyed by its end. No one who likes Torchwood for its mix of dark humor, action, and romance or its interesting characters would not be well served to watch Children of Earth. There is little humor or hope here once things are set in motion and one of the primary romantic relationships of the series does not survive (which has apparently enraged many a Torchwood fan both in the USA and the UK). The action sequences are the finest yet, but largely seem to be covering major plot holes that make the series more difficult to enjoy on second viewing. It seems that Children of Earth was a way for its creator to be done with the series, but with its massive ratings success in the UK and an almost certain fourth season, many of the program's fans are left asking what is left of Torchwood to continue with.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It's heart breaking Jack torture

    I'm not sure why TPTB decided that this season was written to break Jack into little pieces and destroy his life. Why does a dark adult drama have to equal tragedy? Was no thought given to the fans who got the show to BBC1?

    You wouldn't consider breaking the set up, B&N, would you? I'll take Days 1,2 and 3 and you can keep Day 4 and 5. I'll pay you to keep them. OTH, maybe I will break them into little pieces and send them to RTD?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Is It the End?

    This mini-series was unlike any other episode of Torchwood. For those new to Torchwood it, perhaps, would not have the impact of the fans who have followed it since its inception. I sat and cried at the end for fear that this would be the last of it. My own little pathetic world would not be the same without Captain Jack. Mind you, I am not a young sprout. I am 70 years old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The long-awaited third season of Torchwood...

    While visually stunning and flawlessly acted, this abreviated 'season' of science fiction drama Torchwood ultimately snuffed out my love for the show. With plot holes big enough to fill a TARDIS, the storyline will leave you bitter and angry. Even the irrepresible Captain Jack Harkness seems at a loss for where to go, what to do, and ultimately surrenders his humanity in the face of the alien threat.

    This story brings out the worst in everyone, especially the writers. A textbook case of destroying a fantastic television show.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Heart Wrenching

    As a fan of Torchwood from the beginning, I was more than a little apprehensive about this mini-series, and, as it turns out, with good reason. Oh, don't get me wrong, I loved Children of Earth, it was more than I could ever have imagined. The action was mind-blowing, right from the start, the interactions between all the major players were spot on; I felt as if the break between seasons had never happened. They even pulled an old Doctor Who trick and brought on absolutely brilliant new characters, that made me either love or hate them with such passion, that I could hardly believe that I had never met them before. All-in-all, a risk proved worthy by Russell T. Davies. However, I said that my apprehension proved accurate. In grand Whoverse fashion, Children of Earth broke my heart. And, ultimately, I wouldn't have it any other way. This is my whole-hearted recommendation, to anyone who needs a little wonder in your life. Torchwood is worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great show and a great mini series

    This is such an exciting show. The bonus is that this is suitable for younger fans of Captain Jack Harkness. Children of the Earth fills in the gaps between episodes of Doctor Who. Ianto, Gwen, Captain Jack, and Rhys are all that stand between aliens and the human race. Even the British government is part of the problem. There is plenty of action, excitement, joking around and emotional ups and downs.
    The show begins in 1965 Scotland, where orphans have been told they are going to new homes. But one child escapes and years later he may be the answer to the present day problems.
    Children around the world are chanting in unison, and all in english. What does this mean? What is the "549"? Why does the government want Torchwood out of the picture? The answers are in this DVD set.
    Any Doctor Who/Torchwood collecter would be happy with this DVD set in their collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    We love all Torchwood and hope BBC America makes more. John Barrowman is just terrific. What a great and engaging actor he is. Quite funny, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Rental Only

    Very interesting story line and the reviews are correct in that it's more than a little disturbing. I generally liked the spin-off's from Dr. Who but I didnt care for the character development in this particular episode. I think it was a little too drawn out and too dark for a TV show. And captain Jack is too effeminant than the character he's supposed to be portraying...the whole show wasn't their best...but thats just my opinion. Alot of "devotees" really loved this episode.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Riveting!

    What do you do after two seasons and killing off two of your main characters? You up the ante!

    "Children of Earth" is Torchwood on steroids. It has a big, world-changing feel. The series has always pushed the envelope, but this goes over the top. It will make some folks queasy, but we learn more about the pain of being Captain Jack. I look forward to see where the creators go from here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Glad to see the series back,

    Well done use of the characters to cover-up the loss of old characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth Watching, But...

    Sorry, spoilerish review...
    I have to say that I agree with most of the reviews posted thus far. CoE has plot holes Ianto drove a forklift through, the action is equal to many high budget american action movies of the last 10 years, and is equally silly. The first two and a half episodes are fun, and agonising in the best way. The second half... I didn't cry, quite. It would have been better if I had. The tragedy doesn't quite work in a fundamental way. I think the main point of CoE was to point out that Jack is not - in fact - the Doctor. And that politicians are scum, but we knew that. Still, I laughed a lot during the first couple episodes, and enjoyed them greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2