Customer Reviews for

Training Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    what an amanzing movie!

    i never thought that Denzel Washington would be the bad guy in the movie but he is and this movie is outstanding so is Ethan Hawke wow this is just like Seven with Brad Pitt and Morgon Freemon i recommend this film to everybody !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    "King Kong ain't got *** on me!"

    incredible! this movie is just crazy. I haven't found anyone who hasn't seen this. this will make a great christmas gift for that guy or girl in your life! Check it out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Darker Side of Denzel

    Denzel Washington has always starred as the periennially good guy in a lot of his roles. It's refreshing to see that he can transition into such an easy corrupted narcotics cop. He really could be one of those prickish egomaniacal narcotics agents that it's almost frightening. His elaborate scheming into turns Ethan Hawke from a naive and idealistic "rookie" cop into an accessory to murder in one day, just like that. His one ruthless voto. The Russians get him in the end. I sympathize with Hawke as he is a youthful image of Washington that never turns sour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    training day

    Training Day was a good movie. Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke did a great job. It had lots of action, good story about a cop who pretends to be good but turns bad and Denzel's performace. I will give this movie an A+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Training Day

    This movie showed itself a masterpiece of cinematography. You could actually feel the minutes and hours tick away as the day progressed. Denzel's performance, of course, was over the top. He is definetly one of the greatest actors ever to come out of Hollywood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING

    Could a film be more real and down to earth than Training Day? The film was of course one of the best films of the year, the performances by Ethan and Washington were astonishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    King Kong aint got nothing on me

    A story about a police officer going bad and his trainee trying to put a stop to it. I can't say any more just watch it you will enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    He does it again!

    This movie is sensational Denzel plays the ideal dirty cop determined to play everybody to get what he wants...their trust.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweetass movie

    Whoa, i watched Training Day two days ago, and i loved it. Some part is pretty funny i guess. But i couldn't get the main point of the movie. But still, it was sweetass movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    just superb!!!

    nothing to tell abt it, its to c it. Denzel washington acted just great iand kept suspense lingering ahead of time...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    over rated

    I think that if any actor other than Denzel had played his part, this film would have gone largely unnoticed. Ethan hawke was decent as was Denzel, but the movie isn't really that good. People are just shocked that denzel could be an unlikable character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst Denzel movies

    I have seen every one of Denzel Washington's movies and have liked all of them until this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Big Deal !!!

    This was only a so,so,movie.All the good works that D.W. was in and the fools in hollywaste pick this dog to pass out the award on.Token all the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exceptional Director= Exceptioanl Film= Best acting i've seen

    When I had first heard of training day I said ''Ah, no big deal. Just another Denzel flick.'' Boy was I wrong. I'm not a great fan of Antonnie Fuqua since he's only made 2 movies(excluding this one). I only saw his Replacment Killers, which I highly enjoyed. I didn't see Bait, because well I heard it was s***. Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke blew me away with their performances. Especially Denzel from always being a 'good' guy. I reccomend this to anyone that's looking for good action, good acting, and a good movie. By the way look out for that annoying Agent from Rush Hour 2, I heard he was in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Performance of Denzel Washington's Career!

    I had honestly grown tired of all of Denzel Washington's ''goodie two shoes'' roles over the years, the great actor that he is. His performance in ''Training Day,'' however, has given me newfound respect for him as an actor unfraid to break from his usual mold and go against type. In this hard-hitting, in-your-face cop drama, not only does Washington play ''the bad guy,'' but he milks it for all its worth - and makes it look easy! His Alonzo Harris would make Dirty Harry look like Barney Fife on The Andy Griffith Show. His Best Actor Oscar win at this year's Academy Awards was highly appropriate. Denzel Washington is arguably the best actor of his generation. Kudos as well to Ethane Hawke for holding his own against the likes of Washington, as well as snagging his first Oscar nomination. He shows that he has a long and stellar film career ahead of him. ''Training Day'' is a brutally realistic cop flick that will grab you by the throat and won't let go. The powerhouse performances of Denzel Washington and Ethane Hawke will stay with you long after the closing credits. Clearly, it is one of my ten all-time favorite films. Washington, Hawke, the supporting cast, director Antoine Fuqua, writer David Ayer, and Warner Bros. should all take a bow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVE OF 2001

    Non stop action: will keep you at the edge of your seat. Denzel has finally broken all the rules in this picture.People, location, and Realty at its best. If you want to experance a ride into the hard realtys of one mans strugle to stay alive ; then hop on in and let Denzel do the driven.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best of Denzel

    Denzel washington has once again proved what a great actor he is. I have followed Denzel's career since his television days (St. Elsewhere), and have loved him since then. Great job Denzel. Elaine Childs Phila,PA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Training Day

    Training Day was a very good DVD to watch. It was on of the best movies I have seen all year,so far! Espically the soundtrack to it with Nelly and everone else on it. Denzil Washinton is a very good actor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Denzal is a grate

    He is the actor I see my life.grate and fantasy acting. absulutly get high score.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2002

    Training Day

    It is great to see attention given to Denzel for his work in Training Day. He is a out- standing actor. He's outstanding in all movies I have seen him in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2