Customer Reviews for

Trainspotting

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Life into a world of drugs and turning it all around

    really love this movie even though it may be tough subject matter to watch and discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    absoulutely amazing

    Trainspotting is probably one of the greatest cult film EVER!the acting is great.the film is hilarious throughout, but can at some times be absoulutely vulgar and gross.not for small children,or faint of heart.its the sort of film that the first time you see it you connect with them and you're on the edge of your seat.you just have to watch certain parts over and over again.if they showed select parts of this in schools along with "Requiem for a Dream" no one would want to take drugs long term, or otherwise.you may think i'm crazy for this, but i did say select parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ewan Does It Again.

    It took me only 8 years to get used to this movie--it was simply too much for me to take in when it came out. This is the one that uses the best Ewan McGregor has in him and that's better than anyone else, except possibly Russell Crowe. His voiceover is right on. Tough movie to watch but brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Trippy!

    This is one of the trippiest movies I've ever seen! It is well made and keeps you interested the whole time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Powerful, thought-provoking, disturbing!

    This is one of the finest films I've ever seen. Ewan McGregor gives such a powerful and believable performance as a young man struggling with drug addiction and recovery. There are scenes in this film that left me emotionally disturbed for weeks! I highly recommend this film to all older teens and adults. Definitely NOT for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutley perfect!

    About 2 years ago my dad brought this movie home,and he told me to see it. I didn´t touch this movie for 3 months, but when I saw it, I couldn´t stop watching it eversince. Since then I must see it atleast once a week. Movie is BRILLIANT! It´s so honest and powerful, I´ll never stop loving it. Absolutley one of the best movies ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I chose life after this...

    Ultimately a powerful and moving story. It left me wondering after id seen it how one guides his/her life...drug free or not. Ewan McGregor plays Renton perfectly and Jonny Lee Miller is at his best as Sick Boy. The entire cast is brilliant and Trainspotting is definitely a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best flick for a reality check

    Loved this movie, in fact watched it two times in one sitting. Very good attention to detail, Ewan McGregor and Johnny Lee Miller are excellent and the comedy more than makes up for the sort of depressing scenes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant

    This is an extremely powerful movie. Once you've seen it you'll be sure as hell that you never ever want to do drugs as long as you live. Ewan McGregor is astounding as a druggie trying to quit...his withdrawal scenes are some of the best acting work I've ever seen. This movie is quirky, horrifying, brutally honest, funny, painful, and just plain brilliant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fricken Amazing

    This movie is crazy. It gave you a look into the mind of a skag user. The book is also amazing. The best movies are the ones that make you think or are just crazy, for lack of a better word/phrase. This is definatly one of those movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for the faint of heart

    Trainspotting is such a powerful movie. It can be depressing for some, but I find it hopeful, to say the least. This film does not glorify the use of drugs and alcohol as a reasonable means of dealing with our problems. Instead, it shows the hard realities of drug abuse and offers an inspiring story to help instill these values in us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    waooou

    great movies ever..!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of The Best Movies... Ever

    I love this movie with a passion. The casting is great. I like how they subtracted characters from the novel to make it less chaotic on screen; it fit together so well. Irvine Welsh's novel is just as great as this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    This movie is fantastic! Not for the squeamish, but an excellent movie nonetheless. Ewan McGregor in one of his best roles!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FRIGHTENING YET FUNNY!!!

    This movie is one of my favorites of all time. Ewan McGregor is excellent in his role as a junky. He can play any role of any kind. This movie is very disturbing but such a true portrayal of young addicts. GREAT JOB EWAN!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie Ever!!!

    This is one of my all-time favorite movies. Ewan McGregor is great and Jonny Lee Miller rocks. If you see one movie in your entire lifetime, see Trainspotting. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is definitely a must-see

    If you grew up in the 80's and missed the drug scene, or if you were involved in the drug scene, this movie is for you. Definitely lets you see a day-in-the-life of a junkie. It's fun, it's exciting, it's revolting. But see it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2