BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen

Average Rating 4
( 57 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

I would have to say that I still like the first Transformers movie a little better, but this one was still not too far off. The action and special effects in this were still amazing, and I enjoyed the humor in it as well. I didn't really know what to make up the twins...
I would have to say that I still like the first Transformers movie a little better, but this one was still not too far off. The action and special effects in this were still amazing, and I enjoyed the humor in it as well. I didn't really know what to make up the twins, but if nothing else, they added a decent comedic factor to the movie. The actor performances were still just as good as the previous movie, and the voice work remained tried and true. There were people saying that they didn't quite understand the jist of the story, but I suppose if you weren't all that familiar with Transformers previously, or if you had not yet seen the 1st one, I suppose I could understand. Still, this is a great, witty action flick with awesome special effects on decent acting, so even if you're not all that into or familiar with Transformers, there is still something great to be seen here for action and sci fi fans alike. I would of course recommend that anyone who has not seen the first Transformers movie watch that first before watching this one. It would make a great marathon, but if you go that route, be sure to set aside about 5 hours, because both movies are close to around 2 and a half hours each. Great movies though! No one knows action now a days quite like Michael Bay, and I think he has done a great job bringing Transformers to live action. Check it out friends! Listed below are some other great Michael Bay movies. He is one of my favorite directors.

posted by Heavy_Metal_Sushi on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

CINEMATIC ROOT CANAL

Let me start by saying I really enjoyed the first film. I was acutally quite impressed that Michael Bay was able to subdue his outlandish tendancies long enough to turn one of my favorite cartoons into fun big-
screen fare. However, it seems he was only able to hide t...
Let me start by saying I really enjoyed the first film. I was acutally quite impressed that Michael Bay was able to subdue his outlandish tendancies long enough to turn one of my favorite cartoons into fun big-
screen fare. However, it seems he was only able to hide the real Michael Bay for so long. TROTF is a complete disaster from top to bottom. It is the cinematic equivalent of sticking firecrackers in each ear and repeatedly bashing oneself in the face with a sledgehammer. The thread bare plot is absurd, the performances atrocious, and the editing was seizure inducing. He actually manages to turn his usual garish/juvenille trappings up to 11, in turn making one of the biggest sequel disappoinments of all time. He took everything that was exciting and charming about the first film and spent 2 hours and 45 minutes systematically destroying any good that was ever there. You liked the slo-mo shots of a scantily clad Megan Fox in the first one? Great, here's a whole half hour! Liked the blurry robots battles that went a little long? Awesome, here they are twice as blurry and twice as long! And wait, we even have ghetto-bots in this one, just in case everyone hasn't been offended yet! I was so excited see to what this film had in store for me after having such a great time at the first one. But half way through this piece of garbage, I couldn't wait for it to end. Tremendous failure in all respects. This was truly an endurancce test for the tasteless. Thanks for nothing Bay, I'll never again doubt your powers as the worst blockbuster director in hollywood working today... Lesson learned.

posted by Liberal_Shmuck on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    CINEMATIC ROOT CANAL

    Let me start by saying I really enjoyed the first film. I was acutally quite impressed that Michael Bay was able to subdue his outlandish tendancies long enough to turn one of my favorite cartoons into fun big-
    screen fare. However, it seems he was only able to hide the real Michael Bay for so long. TROTF is a complete disaster from top to bottom. It is the cinematic equivalent of sticking firecrackers in each ear and repeatedly bashing oneself in the face with a sledgehammer. The thread bare plot is absurd, the performances atrocious, and the editing was seizure inducing. He actually manages to turn his usual garish/juvenille trappings up to 11, in turn making one of the biggest sequel disappoinments of all time. He took everything that was exciting and charming about the first film and spent 2 hours and 45 minutes systematically destroying any good that was ever there. You liked the slo-mo shots of a scantily clad Megan Fox in the first one? Great, here's a whole half hour! Liked the blurry robots battles that went a little long? Awesome, here they are twice as blurry and twice as long! And wait, we even have ghetto-bots in this one, just in case everyone hasn't been offended yet! I was so excited see to what this film had in store for me after having such a great time at the first one. But half way through this piece of garbage, I couldn't wait for it to end. Tremendous failure in all respects. This was truly an endurancce test for the tasteless. Thanks for nothing Bay, I'll never again doubt your powers as the worst blockbuster director in hollywood working today... Lesson learned.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A transformed mistake

    Transformes 2: revenge of the fallen is somewhat of a mixed bag, its sad a film like this is currently the highest grossing film of 2009. First off
    the film is bordering three hours, I personally enjoy long movies but by
    about the climax I was squirming in my seat the film fails to hold your attention, its not one of those movies that keeps you suprised and unsure of what will happen next. Instead of a quality film we are assaulted with a variety of twists each so predictable and so obvious you may begin to jokingly suggest what will happen next only to find it happening a couple minutes later. The humour in the film is predictable as well I admit I did
    laugh at somethings, though the majority I had heard before. One of the good things in this film is the fact that optimus prime is in it, if it werent for that it would have been a complete waste, although its pretty close to that even with optimus appearing. The special effects arent even that good ironic for a film that depends on them so much. Also its obvious
    Michael Bay has some preoccupation with crude unwanted humour, mutiple times we see animals (dogs) mating for no apparent reason only because its there. The worst offender is when with no reason no pretense or explanation at all we see a mans butt................ seriously for no reason. In one scene we see a robot hop on megan foxes leg and begin going up and down..... stop and think about that for a second..... that
    effect probably cost somewhere around five million dollars, now stop again
    and picture how many starving children we could save with five million dollars.............................. honestly.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the best ever!!

    OMG! the best movie of 2009, for sure!! the director couldnt of picked anyone one better to play sam's part. Shia LaBeouf is soooo sexy. i absolutely love him!!!! every movie that he plays in is great. and him and Megan Fox are so cute together. they should totally date in real life. the only part i didnt like is when optimis prime gets killed. i was balling my eyes out. but sam brings him back at the end! :) the movie wouldnt be the same without optimis prime

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Michael Bay Has A New Low

    Here's a short review of the entire movie for you:
    The visuals are over-the-top (Obviously it's a Michael Bay film). The acting is very much subpar but really there's little to nothing the good actors in the film (John Turturro, Shia Lebouf) could have done to save the movie. It's the awful script that was written with almost no regard for their abilities that is to blame (partially). The plot is paper-thin and I found myself punching almost as many holes in it as there were cheap and unfunny testicle-gags in the movie. Forget the cinematography. It's full of ridiculous action shots that do nothing but drive the pace of the movie which sags under the weight of having a 2.5 hour length. It's obvious by now that I did not like the movie at all. In fact, I hated it and only just recently saw the ending because I walked out of the theater the first time (thankfully someone else paid my ticket). Save your money and Netflix this or rent it at Blockbuster. You'll probably only watch it once anyways.

    I recommend this for: Pets to watch when you leave home for the day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I would have to say that I still like the first Transformers movie a little better, but this one was still not too far off. The action and special effects in this were still amazing, and I enjoyed the humor in it as well. I didn't really know what to make up the twins, but if nothing else, they added a decent comedic factor to the movie. The actor performances were still just as good as the previous movie, and the voice work remained tried and true. There were people saying that they didn't quite understand the jist of the story, but I suppose if you weren't all that familiar with Transformers previously, or if you had not yet seen the 1st one, I suppose I could understand. Still, this is a great, witty action flick with awesome special effects on decent acting, so even if you're not all that into or familiar with Transformers, there is still something great to be seen here for action and sci fi fans alike. I would of course recommend that anyone who has not seen the first Transformers movie watch that first before watching this one. It would make a great marathon, but if you go that route, be sure to set aside about 5 hours, because both movies are close to around 2 and a half hours each. Great movies though! No one knows action now a days quite like Michael Bay, and I think he has done a great job bringing Transformers to live action. Check it out friends! Listed below are some other great Michael Bay movies. He is one of my favorite directors.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Flawed

    Flawed

    This still has the chemistry between Sam and Milaela. This is still saturated with robotic battles and human survival. So it's good enough to watch. This gives fan enough Shia, Megan, Optimus and Megatron to continue the series.

    That said it's flawed. A tiny piece of the cube resurrected Megatron, and a whole quest was needed to resurrect Optimus Prime? Also at the end of the original Bumble Bee could speak, so why couldn't he in this one? And the new Autobots added in this one weren't very bright.

    More importantly that political engineering in the movie is disgusting. In the original, when the Republicans had the White House, the movie just used the phrase "The President'" and the government worked with the Autobots against the Dicepticons. This one was made when the Democrats have the White House, so it uses the name "President Obama", and has a government that impedes the war and fears the Autobots.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    amazing movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    More deformed than Transformed

    I'm not a cinema snob. I can watch an action film, turn my mind off and enjoy the explosions. For these types of film Michael Bay usually delivers and to a degree the first Transformers did. With Revenge of the Fallen he attempts to continue the story, upping the ante with a vast array of larger robots, bigger stakes and more scantily dressed ladies. Unfortunately in super-sizing these aspects others became watered down.

    The story is non existent. The Decipticons are back and they want our sun for energy. It's that simple. Sam (Shia Labeouf) moves from pointless encounter to encounter without progressing the character or the plot. Megan Fox has little impact beyond being eye candy. Other secondary characters are of little importance and rehash their same old ideas.

    What really disappointed me was the opportunity to expand the existing Transformer characters and that doesn't happen, at all. I believe Optimus Prime shares one scene with Sam and only Bumblebee really returns. A wasted opportunity. In their place are a couple of 'comedy' bots in the style of gangster wanabees. Cringeworthy at every moment.

    The action also suffers. It has become more disjointed, hard to watch and understand the geography of the scenes. Someone explain less is more to Bay please.

    With all these criticisms it may sound like I hate this movie. Far from it. I'm always happy to see an exploding robot, it looks expensive and Shia's Sam is always interesting to watch.

    I would recommend this as a Saturday night movie when little else is on. Make some popcorn, open a beer and zone out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good entertaining movie

    excellent sound and visual effect.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    Great movie! Just as good as the first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    trans

    movie was good i expected more i think i like the first one better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fallen Revenge

    On June 24 I went to see Transformers Revenge of the Fallen. It was awesome. It was even better then the first one. I liked the beginning because it showed why the Fallen came to earth in7.000 D.C. and I liked the Fallen battling the Indians. I have to give it 5 stars because I liked how they change Megatron and made new autobots and there were new decepticons. If you like the first movie you'll like this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie Should Be More Than This

    To say that I was disappointed in this movie wouldn't be accurate, because it implies that certain expectations weren't met. In this case, I have to say it's quite the opposite: This movie lived down to my expectations, and pushed them even lower as time went on.

    As with the first film in this series, this was nothing but a special effects extravaganza. The problem with this comes from the fact that such a movie doesn't have a story, a plot, or any character development. Like the first movie, I didn't care, at all, about the outcome. I didn't care at all about who lived or died, and in many cases couldn't even tell the robots apart well enough to tell who lived or died.

    Anytime a movie fails to have a compelling story or characters I can care about, I find myself paying little to no attention to it, and this movie was no different. The action was there purely for the sake of being there, and for that's not entertaining, that's boring. In a movie like that, where the actors could almost be replaced by trained chimps, you wouldn't expect the acting itself to make a difference. Unfortunately, this is not something this movie makes it possible to find out, as the acting was as bad as the story. Maybe it was the lack of material for them to work with, or maybe it was just that the actors weren't very good, something I find hard to believe in some cases, but they did their jobs about as well as the writers did theirs.

    The only redeeming quality this movie had was the quality of the CGI work. It was, if possible, even better than the work on the previous movie in this series. The only downside, again, was the design of the robots, something ILM probably doesn't have much say in.

    Overall, this movie was horrible, and I'd say the critics have been exceedingly generous with their mediocre reviews. Movies should have more going for them than this one does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    LOVED IT!!! There was tons of action and adventure. A must see for those who liked the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Action Movie

    I recommend this to every Transformers Fan out there

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the transformes movies are my favorite movies in the whole wide world!

    Personaly i think the first transformers movie was better, but not by much. the first transformers movie was less sexual and had more of a real story line to it. but the second movie has more action and to me, its more funny. i also love the twins, skids and mudflap, they make the movie twice as good. i recomend this movie to people that have a sense of humor and like action. but its a good movie, so i think everyone should watch it! the story line is sort of confusing to some people i know that have seen it, but if you pay attention to what everyone says and think about it, it makes sense, especially if you have seen the first movie. accually, its probebly impossable to understand the second movie without watching the first one. but over all i loved the movie and think you will too after you see it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Piqued my curiosity

    There has been much discussion about how bad this movie really is. Sure it has its share of flaws but then every motion picture does. There has always been flaws of some kind within the history of film making. I feel that if you see a movie more than once it's worth having. A film is meant to entertain, not to be perfect. I'd rather spend my $$$ on The Fallen than waste it on those boring stupid dramas which win Oscars. The worst thing I hated about The Fallen is Sam Witwicky's annoying roomate. The ultimate dislike I have about both Transformers is that the Autobots & Decepticons don't look like the cartoon versions I'm used to.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3