Customer Reviews for

Transformers - The Movie

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Memorable

    One of the things any Transformers fan will tell you, is that this film seared a memory in your brain that will never go away. They KILLED Optimus Prime, the champion hero and leader of the good guys (Autobots) in this movie, in a very, VERY sad and tragic scene. Several others were killed in this movie as well, since the main idea was to introduce the new toyline associated with the product. The movie has a fantastic soundtrack that is hard to get hold of nowadays. The introduction of Unicron was immense - the largest, most powerful transformer ever, larger than the size of most planets, that devours other planets (think of a certain Fantastic Four villain here.) The movie starts in the future, where the Decepticons have already taken over Cybertron, and goes on to make history for this cartoon. I only found the Junkions annoying because they were so hard to understand, but I don't blame Eric Idle for that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This is a movie for all TF fans! You can't be a fan and not like it, let alone watch it! Sure, the 80's animation technique can't compare to todays, but it's the story which makes the movie! That's what many cartoons of today lack: story. Sure, these days we have flashy CG's and programs to make the cartoon look better, but looks are nothing without meaning, and that's what this movie has! Honour thyselves, TF-fans! This is a peice of history that may not be available in a few years!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Optimus Prime for President!

    After 20 years this movie is still the best animation movie ever. I still remember how I felt as a kid when Optimus Prime died within the first 30 minutes of the movie. I was in shock! Thats what makes this movie so great. The film makers were not afraid to sake things up. That took a lot of courage. Viewer P-Can, how can you HATE on a animation movie made for young males. The animation movies coming out of Hollywood today are for sissys. This movie would not be made today. The 80's rock soundtrack is just a cherry on top of a master piece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    get Season 1, forget the movie

    I hate this movie forever. They effectively killed off Optimus Prime, only to have him come back - four times over, to boot(He returned in the original show's last season, Takara Transformers, BeastWars and Armada). They brought us the time paradoxes that are the old robot and the tranny robot (Arcee used to be a boy, you know). And it was in this movie that they officially forgot Snarl! It is pivotal storywise, and had cool new characters like the Sharkticons and Unicron, but noting how the show went into a tailspin with the end of the Decepticon-Autbot standoff and the entrance of Rodimus Prime, I have to say that the movie heralded the end of the show being fun. I won't deny it's worth watching. I'm just saying getting the TV show is better for your retrohapiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Transformers:The Movie is awsome!

    The Transformers: The Movie is awsome!This is brand new 20th Anniversary special edition which which contains many special features on 2 discs! Director : Nelson Shin, Voice Actess :Susan Blue and many others share their experiences making this brand new DVD! The Japanese exclusive: Scramble City episode is also included in the discs! Highly Recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty cool animated movie

    I'm only starting to become a 'Transformers' fan (thanks to one of my friends, who is a BIG original'Transformers' nut) but if you enjoy the '80s show, you'll enjoy the movie. Parents, beware, this movie is rated PG for language ('Oh sh*^, what are we gonna do now?', 'Open, d@#mit. OPEN!') and mild violence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Transformers: The Movie

    This movie is an excellent example of good graphics and story together. This amazing movie was my favorite when I was younger, and now that it is on DVD, I'm definately buying it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MORE THAN MEETS THE EYE.......

    This film is, to put it simply, the best ever. The animation was way ahead of its time and the music, for me personaly is the best heard on any film to date. At 24 iv been a transformers fan for many many years and still remember to this day renting it out weekly when i was young untill the day i was able to purchase it.If u consider yourself a fan then this is a must have purchase. This film is an action packed rollercoster that should not be missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TILL ALL ARE ONE!

    This movie was well animated and the soundtrack was amazing. I found myself engrossed in every scene. I loved the series when I was a kid, and now my 4 year old son also loves the transformers. He is always wanting to watch the movie. The introduction of unicron and the quintessons was vital to fans who had only seen autobots and decepticons to this point. The only thing that annoyed me was that it seemed that all transformers were so easy to kill in the movie and they never died in the series. But, I would strongly recommend this movie to all cartoon and sci-fi fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robots in disguise baby!

    Bought it, watched it, loved it. Such well put together animations!I've loved Transformers for a long time. Once I watched the movie I got addicted to it and watched it a few times. One of the greatest things in this movie is that usauly it shows that Transformers is NOT just for kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    PARENTAL GUIDANCE SHOULD BE REQUIRED...

    Very disappointed in this movie. We were so excited to get this for our son for Christmas. He talks about The Transformers all the time. The info indicates this as not rated but it is as indicated on the shell of the movie. There is language totally not acceptable for young children and the info should be presented in such a way as that is represented. This language, I feel, was put in the movie to help secure it a PG rating. If you are a parent that cares about the foul language your child is exposed to while watching movies, please beware.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2002

    TRANSFORMERS RULES

    TRANSFORMERS IS THE BEST MOVIE ON CARTOONS I EVER SEEN, SPECIALLY THE MOMENT WHEN UNICRON TRANSFORMS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Arise Rodimus Prime...

    This is amazing...I'm kinda shocked but then thinking ''of course'' at the same time of the Transformers explosion. I remember when I was a kid, I watched the series relentlessly. When I finally rented (yes, i never got to see it on the big screen) the movie, I couldn't believe my eyes. It was breathtaking to watch, simply for the more ''war-like'' feel to it, the top notch animation, and the darker theme. Yes, it was still TF, but it had grown up so much. From the opening scene with Unicron in all his might, to the final scene with Unicron after a ''major weight loss,'' this movie never gives up. The only low point is the addition of Wheelie, whom I despise and think should never have been animated. Wheelie is the only reminder left that this was a little kids show on Saturday mornings. I recommend this movie to all TF fans, people that like a good dose of nostalgia, and anyone out there who just enjoys a good action flick. Young and old alike, this is not just a kids movie. Don't be thrown off by the kiddy rep., this is much more. I only wish I could give this movie more than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Transformers. 'Nuff Said

    Well, what more can I say.. I've owned the copy of this movie since I was a little kid. I think my parents bought it for me right after it came on VHS. And I do think I have one of those rare unedited copies, with the oh so lovely use the of the word D*%#. I think that's the word everyone else saw.. And I was quite surprised when I saw the DVD.. It looked so much better, it appeared the colors were remastered, and it still looked great.. I was so happy the day it came out. If you're a Transformer fan, you must buy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2001

    The return of the greatest transformer episode ever!

    Transformers is a true show, nothing can beat it. This movie is one of the greatest of all times. Old transformer fans rejoice! We have been redeemed with the beautiful movie once again released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exelent Movie:

    I've had this movie every since I was a kid and I loved it. Too bad its not on TV any more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    TRANSFORMERS THE MOVIE: AS GOOD TODAY AS ITS ALWAYS BEEN!!!

    I remember going to see this film with my dad about fourteen years ago and it blew me away then, every one of my favourite autobots and decepticons present as well as some new ones. Right from the start when you see the menacing unicron for the first time you know this is no ordinary transformers episode.With the great voice talents of Leonard Nimoy, Orson Welles and Eric Idle, this is one of those films I will never grow too old to watch. Todays kids are deprived of such imaginative entertainment as Transformers, but you can treat them with this Transformers The Movie. As I said in my title as good today as its always been, but better now its on DVD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    80's animation at it's best with Transformers The Movie

    When it was the late 80's everyones vision of the next century was that while we would still be riding in cars with wheels and not living in the Jetson age there was still this need to remake what our wardrobe and cars would look like. With young Daniel sporting a one piece jump-suit with super-cool collar and boots to match, it was the future to be in 2005 but we're closely approaching that year and Old Navy seems to be doing us just fine. As for the rest of the film, I've been a fan of these iron giants for years and the movie only strengthed that love for them. The animation was, to me, just as good as uncle Walt could put out but at times did suffer from a lack of detail. This was more evident as the film ended with Unicron's demise and the somewhat simple animation that was his slightly quick implosion to final scrap iron junk pile floating in space. However, the animation was it's finest at the first battle between Megatron and the newer models of the Transformer team, HotRod, Kup and Springer. The animation and art were nearly flawless and really showed it's Japanamtion roots but still retained it's American upbringing. As for the music, it still captures me and I'm now in search for the soundtrack that I found once but was reluctant to purchase (no money at the time). Now, it's harder to find then ever but with the return of the movie on DVD may make it surface again. Vince DiCola was the genius behind the score of Rocky IV and has a real knack for capturing the futuristic sound and energy needed for the films dark yet still Saturday cartoon feel. In my opinion the film really came into it's adult form when Vince got a hold of the audio representation of the film. In a word superb music, story and animation that optimizes the 80's great last stand in animation and the only film to own if you're a true Transformers fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DVD VERSION LIKE GREEK TRAGIC HERO: NEITHER GOOD NOR BAD BUT FLAWED

    First, let me commence my commentary with a comment. This is the single most important cultural phenomenon, ever. However, the DVD ''Special Collector's Edition'' leaves many holes in the legacy of the Trans Forcers. This could have easily been a five-star release if it had been supervised by my mentor, Alan Alda. Starscream is still as intensely sexual and provocative as an autumn afternoon, despite the faked 5.1 sound. What, Ron? No, leave the dishes, I'll do them as soon as I get off this Infernet here. As I was saying, those who enjoy expletives will be happy to hear an expletive in the beginning part there that wasn't there on some VHS copies there. In 1995, I purchased a small Transformers nightlight and installed it in my VW Vanagon (for safety puposes). This DVD could have been better. The music is great but could use more counterpoint. Not everywhere but in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    The loss of the past triumphs in the future.

    One of the few movies that actually changed something in a popular series. Most kid movies wouldnt even dream of doing the stuff they pulled in this movie. The death of the main character, the passing of the mantle of leadership, and a total change in the tide of war. Not only is it fun to watch, it makes you think too. Naw, not really. For a true transformers fan, nothing could be better. ESCAPE THE BEAST MACHINES! BUY THIS MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2