Customer Reviews for

Troy

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OUTSTANDING

    Brad Pitt, Rose Byrne, Eric Bana and Peter O'Toole were outstanding in their role. Agamenian was something else also in his role. I am sorry that Archilles killed Hector and sorry that Archilles died. Because of Archilles love for Breises and her love for Archilles, I believe he would have changed for the better. A sequeal to Troy should be made. Breises should have a child for Archilles and let the child grow up. A little more romance and a little less war although, I know the picture depicted war but love as well......DENISE E. HURST

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    We have Troy on regular format for dvd

    The blue ray and picture on this, it is amazing. The performances, action and the excitement of this film speaks for it self. One movie we have watched over and over, you won't be disappointed in this film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the GREATEST true adventures of history.

    If you like adventures and long movies, this is for you. It's based on a true time in history. In all battles there are warriors. This movie has great warriors in it and keeps you glued to the TV. One of the BEST adventure movies ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Director's cut is great!!!!!!

    THe director's cut only makes this movie better than the theatrical cut. There is not much more that is needed to be said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Troy... cool, no wait, Awsome!!!

    One of my favorite war movies. This movie rocks the house!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Orlando Bloom is so Hot!!

    As always, Orlando Bloom took over the big screen as Hot Prince Paris who sweeps the hot girl off her feet.But I must give Eric Bana, who plays Prince Hector,two thumbs up(plus he's hot!!) You must see this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT movie but not as Homer wrote it

    This movie was great i enjoyed the battle scenes and the emotion in the movie but if you expect this movie to be just like the Iliad, its not. so if you are looking for an easy way out of reading the Iliad for school, this movie wont help. The are many people who die in the movie who dont in the book and the book is based way more on the gods and goddesses than the movie. also characters story lines are alot different from the book as well. im glad i read the Iliad and the Odyssey before seeing this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT

    Although it strays from "The Iliad", "Troy" is a great! movie! I was amazed that I liked it so much. It's a very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie!

    It was an awesome movie, i liked it so much!! It was so interesting and if you already now the story it's fun trying to find out who is who before they say their names (but of course this is coming from me, a nerd). And I really don't know what my favorite part of the movie is. Anyway I liked it a lot and I hope you enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bana is on FIRE

    Eric Bana captivates the screen and makes this epic tale a must see movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ERIC BANA IS HOTTTTT

    eric bana captivates the screen with his courage, charm, BODY, and devotion. U HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE, it's great and has ERIC BANA (need i say more?) !!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love It!

    I was learning about ancient Greek, and decided to see this movie. I didn't think it would be that good, but I was wrong! Emotional, good directing, acting, and costumes. Very nice cast. The sword fights and battle scenes weren't really my thing, but the romance in the story was great. It doesn't exactly follow Homer's "Illiad", but definetely a good film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Epic Story for any Viewer

    I naturally never attended to see this movie, but a friend recommended me to it so I just thought, what the hey, might as well. As soon as it started, I was deeply engrossed in the film. To me it was quite extrodinary. Personally, I have yet to read the Illiad (sorry if I spelled that incorrectly) so I cannot compare the film to Homer's work, but in all I thought it was very good. Brad Pitt is a very convincing and gripping Achillis and you fall in love with Paris who brings upon a war to be with the woman he loves. This movie certainly got me more interested in Greek mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unfaithful to Epic Story, bloated, lord of the rings type dark photography

    From the commercials I suspected this film would not be faithful to Homer's great classic epic, but more in keeping with typical Hollywood sword and sandal moviemaking. If this film was produced in the fifties or early sixties, it would have been a definate "B" drive-in or matinee type production; in no way in the same class as "Ben-Hur or "Spartacus". This film just has nothing to say, which is sad because Homer's great epic lot to say, about the tragedy of war, (and our understanding of the possible real historical context the Troy story might have had) I kind of bristled at the inaccuracies because the "Illiad" and its related epics is a great story! As for the inaccuracies, both Paris and Achilles ware dead before the construction of the Trojan Horse, Agamemnon died at the hands of his wife after the sack of Troy, and Menelaus went home with Helen, or ended up in Egypt depending upon what cyclic epic one has read. Anyway, I thought Brad Pitt was a pitiful choice for Achilles, Achilles had to be bigger than life. The armour was a nondescript "whatever" type will pass, and where's the chariots? Homeric battles were chariot battles in which the elite warriors rode into battle. Finally, I am getting tired of that peculiar dark photography that seems to be so prevalent in current epic movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent sword fights, poor screenplay. Worth seeing, though not great.

    This movie is quite spectacular and has many things to recommend it. Unfortunately, it has many flaws as well. The great Homer epic still waits for a filmmaker who can do it justice. On balance, though, Wolfgang Petersen's version is worth seeing. I liked the sword fights, particularly the one between Achilles and Hector. I've practiced a form of fencing myself, and I must say that Brad Pitt and Eric Bana did bring the legendary heroes to life! This is exactly how two strong, skillful, reckless young man would fight it out. It was 100% believable, which is very rare in movies. As an extra bonus, the armor was believable too -- modeled after Greek pottery art. Achilles shield, however, was very disappointing. According to legend, it was made by Hephaestus, the god of blacksmiths, and the Iliad devotes pages to its description. One would expect a glorious recreation on the screen, but alas. Hollywood's main goal was to keep production costs low and make a crowd pleaser for profit. The effort to please the female audience is especially transparent. So, Brad Pitt strips on several occasions and almost lets a slave girl cut his throat to prove a philosophical point. The hero of heroes, craving for glory on the battlefield, doesn't mind to be slain in bed by a woman... Ha!! This made me think how each culture reinterprets the stories of the past through the beliefs of the present. The Iliad glorifies the ideals of bronze-age Greece, where a hero's worth was measured by how many men he slew and how many women he raped. There are perhaps a hundred battles in the Iliad and only one family scene. In the movie we have three battles and three love stories, one of which (Achilles and Briseis) is totally made up. At the same time, the moving parting scene of Hector and Andromache gets perhaps 30 seconds on screen. Peter O'Toole delivers an outstanding performance as the old Priam, whose submission to the will of the gods comes straight from the Iliad. In Homer's tale, the outcome of the war ultimately depends on which Olympian god is allowed by Zeus to interfere the most. In the movie, the gods exist only in the human mind, and rather mockingly at that. Nietzsche said gods die when people stop believing in them. This movie demonstrates that the Olympians are dead today. I wonder, will the jealous god of Abraham suffer a similar fate in some future age? [6 June 2005]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An epic classic

    This movie was one of the best movies of 2004. I absolutely love this movie. This movie is a classic in the tradition of "Gladiator".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice Portrayal of The Iliad

    I am a fan of Homer and of all greek mythology, and I say this is a nicely done portrayal of Homer's epic. Not great, but it is good. It was not completely accurate, but it was not completely inaccurate either. While there were a few major flaws, such as the death of Menelaus, it wasn't all that bad. Achilles was splendidly portrayed by Brad Pitt. Orlando Bloom brought Paris to life as the whimp he had been in the poem. Eric Bana did a tender but dangerous Hector, the one I had come to love in reading the book. Diane Kruger was not all that great, but she was pretty, and I think that is what mostly mattered about Helen. So overall this was a pretty good movie, and I was impressed by the portrayal of the characters. If the inaccuracies had been worked out, this movie just might have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historically inaccurate but otherwise a good film

    If you are looking for a movie that closely and faithfully follows Homer's Iliad, look elsewhere. Otherwise, it is a good movie for purely mindless entertainment and Brad Pitt fans who can't get enough nude scenes. I applaud the director's efforts towards special effects and the battle scenes are well done. I agree with other reviewers that Helen's face as the cause for the launch of 1,000 ships was somewhat disappointing, but then again as I stated earlier...if you are looking for exact faithfulness to Homer's epic, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a good movie to watch and be suitably entertained, then you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not nearly as bad I I had expected

    Many of the inaccuracies have been sufficiently attacked. You¿ll have to decide how important the accurate portrayal of the Iliad is to you. I would always recommend reading the book over a movie of a book anyway. The movie does capture some main themes from the Iliad though. If you¿re like me, you generally expect Brad Pitt to detract from a movie. He surprised me by not acting so poorly that I was distracted. (despite being the central character) The battle scenes are very well done and cinematography is great. My problems with the movie include: unnecessary nude Brad Pitt scenes (undoubtedly inserted to raise female interest), the sometimes-humorous british accents, and the inaccurate emphasis of distain for the gods by many central characters. The later point seems to be a preachy commentary on the immaturity and faultiness of belief in the supernatural. Following the advice of priests is always wrong in the movie. In fact, the story tells that the error was in not listening to the priests. If you don¿t expect an absolutely amazing film, it¿s a pretty good action flick with some mythology tied in. Probably worth the time and money to rent. (especially if you want to get your woman a little excited)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies of the year!!!

    From the begining to the end this movie captures you. Brad Pitt did, to me, one of his greatest performances yet. Woolfgang Peterson was able to capture as much as he can of a 10 year war into a 2-3 hr movie. Everything about it was great. I recomend it to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5