BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Troy

Average Rating 4.5
( 96 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT movie but not as Homer wrote it

    This movie was great i enjoyed the battle scenes and the emotion in the movie but if you expect this movie to be just like the Iliad, its not. so if you are looking for an easy way out of reading the Iliad for school, this movie wont help. The are many people who die in the movie who dont in the book and the book is based way more on the gods and goddesses than the movie. also characters story lines are alot different from the book as well. im glad i read the Iliad and the Odyssey before seeing this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT

    Although it strays from "The Iliad", "Troy" is a great! movie! I was amazed that I liked it so much. It's a very good movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie!

    It was an awesome movie, i liked it so much!! It was so interesting and if you already now the story it's fun trying to find out who is who before they say their names (but of course this is coming from me, a nerd). And I really don't know what my favorite part of the movie is. Anyway I liked it a lot and I hope you enjoy it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Epic Story for any Viewer

    I naturally never attended to see this movie, but a friend recommended me to it so I just thought, what the hey, might as well. As soon as it started, I was deeply engrossed in the film. To me it was quite extrodinary. Personally, I have yet to read the Illiad (sorry if I spelled that incorrectly) so I cannot compare the film to Homer's work, but in all I thought it was very good. Brad Pitt is a very convincing and gripping Achillis and you fall in love with Paris who brings upon a war to be with the woman he loves. This movie certainly got me more interested in Greek mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice Portrayal of The Iliad

    I am a fan of Homer and of all greek mythology, and I say this is a nicely done portrayal of Homer's epic. Not great, but it is good. It was not completely accurate, but it was not completely inaccurate either. While there were a few major flaws, such as the death of Menelaus, it wasn't all that bad. Achilles was splendidly portrayed by Brad Pitt. Orlando Bloom brought Paris to life as the whimp he had been in the poem. Eric Bana did a tender but dangerous Hector, the one I had come to love in reading the book. Diane Kruger was not all that great, but she was pretty, and I think that is what mostly mattered about Helen. So overall this was a pretty good movie, and I was impressed by the portrayal of the characters. If the inaccuracies had been worked out, this movie just might have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historically inaccurate but otherwise a good film

    If you are looking for a movie that closely and faithfully follows Homer's Iliad, look elsewhere. Otherwise, it is a good movie for purely mindless entertainment and Brad Pitt fans who can't get enough nude scenes. I applaud the director's efforts towards special effects and the battle scenes are well done. I agree with other reviewers that Helen's face as the cause for the launch of 1,000 ships was somewhat disappointing, but then again as I stated earlier...if you are looking for exact faithfulness to Homer's epic, look elsewhere. If you are looking for a good movie to watch and be suitably entertained, then you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shocking

    While I did enjoy this movie, (mostly because of the very attractive skantly clad men). I agree with the comment that this film is not at all true to the elements of the Trojan War or the Illiad itself. One key example..the fact that Menelaus never died in the Illiad to begin with,I think they added that for posterity. I believe that Brad Pitt did wonderously in this film but the writing could have been much better. I hate to say it but I was a little dissapointed in the execution of this 'Epic' title. Still you should pick it up anyway for the nice looking people and the few moments of emotional film-making.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Visually Amazing, but amazingly inaccurate!

    Easily the best action flick of 2004! A stunning piece visually and musically with very talented actors who were also quite gorgeous! However, the story completely differed from the book! I'll not go into detail, but let's just say, it was overall extremely inaccurate! Had this movie solely been based on a director's own story, it would have been so much better. However, when you claim to be based off an actual work respected and known by the entire world (ancient and new), you must stay true to the basic plotline. Afterall, the Illiad was quite an eventful book, I don't see why things needed to be added or changed! But, Brad Pitt was gorgeous, Eric Bana was brilliant, and Orlando Bloom played a fantastic pretty-boy/coward! Overall I was extremely impressed, but saddened by the alterations from the original epic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Achilles at last!

    Finally the great Greek hero of mythology is adequately translated to film. This is a relentless version of Homer's Iliad. Unfortunately, it screws up the myth, by killing off Menelaus and having Helen escape with Aeneas at the end (probably along with Paris.) So this is not LOTR in terms of faithfulness to the classic adventure. But the thrilling exploits of Achilles are dramatically done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Acceptable

    I went into this movie expecting a mockery of Homer's great epic, The Iliad. I was instead pleasantly surprised at how precise the story was (with two or three notable exceptions). Even down to the details of everyone stopping in the middle of the battle sequence to watch two men fight (yes, that is how it was written). I found that Bloom made a great whiny Paris, Pitt made a fantastically arrogant Achilles, and the actors playing Menalus and Aggamemnon to be perfectly cast, age wise. I recommend the original tale over this movie any day, but this is still a good representation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    hot actors

    the movie itself wasnt all that. it was good but nothing to go crazy over.a thing to be crazy over are the actors. they are sooo HOT. all 3 of them. BRAD PITT ERIC BANA AND ORLANDO BLOOM. if not for the movie u should watch it for them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    enjoyable

    Brad Pitt, need anything else be said, great scenery, great story, great actors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie but not accurate

    The battle scenes are great, the fighting techniques are also great,cinementagraphy excellent. However,so many inaccuracies in the movie;Menelaus does not die;Ajax is not killed by Hector etc.Poetic license is one thing, but to deliberately change the classic poem is almost a sacralidge.Also nothing personal,but the actress who played Helen was not beliveable as 'the face that launched a thousand ships'.She was not stunning or spectacular in any way! Over all it is a must see movie.I did not expect it to be a huge success because like 'God and generals' it is a historical movie.People are not as well read or literate as they used to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2