Customer Reviews for

True Blood - Season 1

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I read the first book "Dead Until Dark", then immediately ordered the first season to catch up. It is a little vulgar but the characters are great. They made really good choices for actors. I finished the books and I am watching Season 1 again!

posted by 1732804 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

If you have read the book series, this HBO series is NOT for you!!!!

After finishing all of the Sookie Stackhouse books, including the new one Dead and Gone, I wanted to see the HBO series for myself. I purchased the DVD packet and hardly got trough it without breaking each one! There was so much liberty taken; it did not go with the b...
After finishing all of the Sookie Stackhouse books, including the new one Dead and Gone, I wanted to see the HBO series for myself. I purchased the DVD packet and hardly got trough it without breaking each one! There was so much liberty taken; it did not go with the books well at all! Things happened that were not in the books. And things in the books were left out! It was so messed up!!! It was like a slap in the face for our beloved auther of the novels!

If you read the books, stay away from the DVD's! Like most movies made from books it does not run with the same plot, things are left out, other things are put in... there are a lot of changes!!! You will just get annoyed. More so than Harry Potter and the Twilight series; I at least enjoy seeing those movies though parts are left out.

posted by Poochreview on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    I read the first book "Dead Until Dark", then immediately ordered the first season to catch up. It is a little vulgar but the characters are great. They made really good choices for actors. I finished the books and I am watching Season 1 again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love it

    While the storyline doesn't completely follow that of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels, I love them both equally. I enjoy the fact that it doesn't follow the books because then I would know what will happen next, and who likes that? Alan Ball casted actors who perfectly portray these characters and I can't wait for season 3.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    review

    Excellently written, very funny. compliments the books very well; filling in the characters that aren't focused on as much in the books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2011

    A Must For Fans of Supernatural Creatures

    Trueblood sinfully delightful to watch. A must own. Very addictive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Entertaining!!!!

    I love the show!!! I'm a huge fan of the Sookie Stackhouse Novels and True Blood. What I like about the show is that they at least stick to the main part of the story that are in the books; change a lot of things as well. I find it quite entertaining and smart. Everyone who reads books and watch movies (shows) always seems disappointed b/c movies/shows always seem to leave a lot out from the books. What True blood does is just recreate the book. So people like me (reader), can still be surprised, shocked, and wanting to keep coming back for more. I don't think one's better than the other. The books are just as entertaining as the show. I would highly recommend this show to anyone also the books. Whoever said it's boring, obviously you haven't watched any further than the first 2 episodes. I will agree, it's a little slow at the beginning, but that's just b/c they're introducing the characters to you. Just like any other show. Remember HBO series Rome? It was exactly the same way and it was amazing (too bad they ran out of money to make more seasons).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best EVER!

    Unbelievable show!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hooked on True Blood

    I started watching this season before the second season started and it was amazing. I watched it OnDemand and literally watched all of the episodes of season 1 in like 3 days! The actors are awesome. I have never had a show that was sexy scandalous and scary all wrapped in one. I can't wait until the second season is available to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love It

    I Love It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    It was really good, not by the books but over all it was awesome...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The overwhelming emotions, the gult of senses, vivid memories! Yes our world has been invaded by an unseen humanity.

    The overwhelming emotions, the gult of senses, vivid memories! Yes our world has been invaded by an unseen humanity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    True Blood was fantastic

    This series is fresh and exciting. I really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2