Customer Reviews for

Tuck Everlasting

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    AMAZING, lOVED IT!

    This book is adventurous. It teaches people to live life to the fullest. Don't ever want to stop your life right where you are, because you won't live life right. The author's purpose to writing this book is to entertain us with an amazing story. This book is one of my favorites and I Love It! When I read the book, I wasn't expecting the book to end the way it did. Tuck Everlasting is a book that can be read by anyone. It is a narrative story, and it is amazing. I don't know if I could've lived without knowing about Tuck Everlasting. The setting takes place in the woods. The Tucks' have lived in the woods for a really long time. Winnie Foster is my favorite character out of the bunch. This book relates to me. Sometimes I would like to freeze time and stay young, but if you do that you will never learn lessons or live life. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes adventurous and love stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Best movie ever!

    This movie in my opinion may be the only one ever to be better than the book. It had a wonderful moral with a lot of romantic and happy times in the middle to keep you loving it even though the ending was incredibly sad. Not particularly ideal for younger children as some parts can be seen as scary. Overall a marvelous movie, and I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Tuck Everlasting.

    I don't realy like to read but this book isn't that bad. I read this book in fifth, sixth, and seventh grade. I've watched the movie of Tuck everlasting too. This book can get old after a while. It is a interesting book about a family that can live forever. They do not like the fact of there going to live forever and never die and go to heaven. They drank some kind of special water that makes you not age or die. It is a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    very disappointing!!

    i fell in love with the book, it's an easy read with so many lessons to learn for the young readers. The movie, on the other hand, I felt like the director hasn't read the book!!! completely opposite of the story, all major events has been changed, and seems like the story itself is lost. i was very disappointed; would not recommend it to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WORST MOVIE EVER

    I fell in love with the book tuck everlasting,
    but when I saw this movie I was horrified.
    Its the worst movie ever its nothing like
    the book, and its not just that its nothing
    like the book its also just a boring movie.
    I couldn't even bare to watch the whole movie.
    Tuck Everlasting could of bin one of my favorite
    movies but no who ever made this movie ruined it.
    What were they thinking? I loved the book, but I
    HATED THE MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Don't wast your time watching it, pick a different
    movie. But I do recommend the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    $* BEST BOOK AND MOVIE EVER!! *$

    To me the movie was a little different from the book.But it was still the greatest thing i ever saw and read!!!! In the beginning it seemed a little boring. But once you get into the book you'll see it's outstanding!!!!! They had eternal life and everything!! OOPS!! I've already said to much to those whom have not read it.But it's kind of like a sort of book they you would sit and read all day. I read it to my daughter and she loved it!! And she's only six!! She told me ",Mommy could you read it again please,please,please?!?"It was hillarious!! I ended up reading her that the whole week and weekend for bed!!But if you read it it wiil have you thinking. Would you ever want eternal life? But thats up to you i hope you make the right choice. Like i believe i did when i read it.Thank You for reading!! GOODBYE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing Movie!

    After reading Tuck Everlasting, the book, my class watched this movie!
    They loved it. It really stayed close to the story and was fun to watch the book come to life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Intriguing!!!!! for everyone!!!!!

    I had to read this book in 6th grade. At first I thought it would be boring, but BOY was I WRONGE!!!! THis book ended up being exciting and it definatley draws you in. The hope of the main characters ending up together, is touching. Even if you dont usually like &amp quot fairy tales&amp quot this book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    love this movie!!

    all i can say is i love this movie!!! the best movie ever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Can't possibly say how much I loved this movie!!!

    As everyone knows Tuck Everlasting is an awesome book. I could not believe how well the director did the story. He might have even made this movie to measure up to the book. The scenery is absolutely amazing, and you will fall in love with all the trees and green, green grass the first time you see this movie. It is a great movie. However it is a little different from the book, it has some romance in it, and Winnie is older, but that is one of the reasons I loved this film so much. Alexis Bledel did an amazing job as Winnie Foster. She got that character down. You may know her from the popular t.v. show Gilmore Girls. Jonathan Jackson plays Jesse Tuck and also got the character down to a tee. How anyone can resist him is beyond me. I highly recomend buying this movie and treasuring it forever!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not enough stars in the cosmos for this film!

    I live right near the place 'Rock State Park' where this movie was filmed. Now everytime I visit The rocks there is a magical air about it. I expect to see the Tuck's at every turn. I love this movie!!! It has an excellent moral and a very cute, sweet, and romantic (how often do you find one wiht all 3?) guy as a lead. But not only that, the plot is beautifeul and the movie in all is very dreamlike!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good book Great movie

    I think that this is one of the best movies that I have ever seen. It is so sweet and tender. It makes me cry everytime I see it. And I've seen it seven times within a few weeks. I can't wait to own the movie and CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where is my Jesse Tuck??

    I live right by the Rocks in Maryland where they filmed this movie and I have gone there tons of times. But now every time I climb The king and queen seat (the eiffel tower) or swin at the fall (the place where jesse teaches winnie to swim) I find myself looking around half expecting to hear Mrs. Tuck's music box! I loved this movie, and I know any other hopeless romantic teenager like myself will love it too!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    This movie does not only gets the animation going but is a great entertaiment and a beautiful love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What I Have Always Dreamed Of

    This movie is by far one of the greatest movies i have ever seen. I knew i would love it when i first saw the previews. The love that Winnie and Jesse shared is what i have always wanted and dreamed of. Alexis Bledel and Jonathan Jackson had great chemistry and were amazing together. I have two favorite parts of the movie; the first is when Winne and Jesse are swimming together and Jesse is holding her because she didnt know how to swim. They looked so comfortable and happy together. But my favorite part of the entire movies is when Winnie just rescued May and Tuck from jail and said goodbye to them. As the Tucks drove away Jesse yelled to her ''I will love you Winnie Foster, until the day i die!'' My heart melted when he said that and i began to cry. Love is the most important thing to me and i hope more than anything to find it one day. This wasnt much a review so i will say this, if anyone is as interested and obsessed with love as i am, buy this movie, it was amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disney Magic Sparkles

    The movie(filmed on Location)took place in Berlin, Maryland and it was transformed back into time where the movie takes place in a town of Treegap. The movie about a girl,Winnie Foster, much older in the movie than book. Sets out on an adventure and runs into the family of the Tuck's, where she meets Jesse Tuck and the journey of self-discovery, romance, and questions of life and death are asked. Tough questions are put in the front of your mind while and after watching this film. The all-star cast does a magnificent job at portraying each character. Alexis Bledel(Winnie Foster)a native of Houston, Texas and star of the WB's Gilmore Girls provides a great transformation of her character's different emotions. Her on-screen presences is felt by everyone. Not to be denied a stolen scene is Scott Bairstow(Miles Tuck)just watch him during the campfire scene. Amazingly Alexis, Scott, and Johnathan Jackson(Jesse Tuck)by far have their best performances in that scene. This movie asks some tough questions. I personally needed to think long and hard about some of the answers and still wasn't able to come to a conclusive decision on them. The beautiful scenery is captured and the director does a wonderful job at putting the scenes together. While the movie may lack in story development and may differ from the novel ''Tuck Everlasting'' written by Natalie Babbit it still has family entertainment to full throttle. Here is my tradtional list, of if each movie was given awards: Best Actor Male: Ben Kingsley Best Supporting Actor Male: Scott Bairstow Best Actor Female: Alexis Bledel Best Supporting Actor Female: Sissy Spacek Sotlen Scene: Campfire Scene Stolen Scene Actor(s): all three in Campfire scene. Story Development: 1worst-5best Scale: 3 Family Entertainment: 4 Overall: 4/5 stars Recommended Audience: ages 9 and up. P.S. I would like to see a sequel or similar movie in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tuck Everlasting is everlasting

    I just saw the movie and it was very slow. It dragged on too long and it felt as if it would never end. Besides that fact though it was a pretty good but the book is way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    *sniff*

    You should pretty much know how the stroy is i shouldn't need to re-write it, but the MOVIE IS SOOOOOOOO GREAT! I now wish i was living for eternity, i want to be immortal and want to take the path with Jesse that Winnie chose not to do. :( I HAVE to buy this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautifully Spellbinding

    This childrens classic is both beautifully protrayed and flawlessly acted. The story brings a fantasy angle but it is mostly a bittersweet tale of life and death. This movie is truely spectacular and brings a feeling of hope to the viewer. I would recomend for all to see. Although there are a few parts that aren't suitable for children under 7.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beware All Ye Who Have Read the Book

    Don't get me wrong, I loved this movie, but if you want to see it beacuse you remember the book fondly, you may be disappointed. It sticks to the basic storyline, but several scenes are embellished, and one is altered completely. Give it a shot, but don't expect an exact replica.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3