BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(950)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Two Sides

Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite...
Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite nicely; the music complemented what was going on in the different scenes. I was riveted by the tension between Bella and Edward's characters, I can't think of anyone better for either role; the chemistry was fantastic. After seeing the movie, I read the book. I can see why fans of the book were disappointed...there were a number of scenes from the book that were simply left out or edited. And I was personally disappointed by the lack of development of the friendship between Bella and Alice...Alice is such a great character...but the movie doesn't portray that well. I definitely think that the movie is worth seeing, and owning. I also suggest watching the movie before reading the book, its actually quite good and I think I would┬┐ve missed out on that if I had read the book first.

posted by missg08 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Read this review!! It's long but if you agree, it'll put a smirk on your face =]

I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the dept...
I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the depth of the storyline that a book can hold, I was hoping it wouldn't be TOO bad. But, come on, let's be honest, you know the movie was an epic train wreck.

Everyone's bashing Kristen Stewart so I'm gonna do her a favor and give her a break. I will say one thing though. I was hoping she would do a better job at trying awkwardly to be alluring to Jacob when they walked on the beach, but again, I suppose I shouldn't hope. Anyway, how about we get on to Rob Pattinson? The guy was horrible for the role. He was creepy and awkward and had a slight lisp. And was he even trying to achieve somewhat of a velvety voice, or did he realize that it was a lost cause and just decide to cut his losses? (Velvet does not equal raspy.) There was nothing graceful or perfect about him, his features, or the way he carried himself. I'll give him one thing though, it's difficult to tear your eyes from his face, but on the downside I think that's only because there's something awkward about it that you can't quite put your finger on. And there's nothing to be said about the perfect body he was supposed to have. Not exactly an Adonis. Personally, I think they chose him for the role because he's British and Americans tend to love the Brits. But guess what? Edward was born in Chicago. And Chicago is in AMERICA. But I digress.

Another thing that got under my skin about this movie was the plot, of which there was none. To say that they didn't stick to the book is a ridiculous understatement. I wonder how anyone who hadn't read the book first wasn't sitting there completely confused. It was more like a scrapbook than a movie. They threw in some direct quotes from the book, patted themselves on the back, then continued to butcher the story. It was like looking at a science project that was hastily put together the night before it was due. Train wreck. But hey, at least they didn't use the word "incredulously." Not once.

Why is Bella "unconditionally and irrevocably" in love with Edward? Who knows? But Meyer didn't really say why in the book either, so I guess I can't bash the movie for the one thing it remained consistent on.

The vamp makeup was pretty bad too. They looked more like paste than marble.

Edward's glitter-covered skin kind of annoyed me. I thought they might do a better job than that.

I realize I'm ranting now, but I don't really care.

I wish Alice had more of a role in the film, she's the one person who actually convinced me that they read the book.

James was better looking than Edward. Fail.

The baseball scene was pretty good, so kudos there. Emmett was pretty funny, so kudos there. Jasper was pretty funny too, but not in a way that he intended to be. (He looked cramped the whole time.) Rosalie successfully got on my nerves, so kudos to her too. Carlisle and Esme were not very memorable.

It's really not even fair to blame the failure of this movie on a tight budget. I have two words: THE MATRIX.

In closing, I'm looking forward to a parody of the film. It's practically BEGGING for Tina Fey's magical touch.

posted by SweetSilence on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read this review!! It's long but if you agree, it'll put a smirk on your face =]

    I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the depth of the storyline that a book can hold, I was hoping it wouldn't be TOO bad. But, come on, let's be honest, you know the movie was an epic train wreck.

    Everyone's bashing Kristen Stewart so I'm gonna do her a favor and give her a break. I will say one thing though. I was hoping she would do a better job at trying awkwardly to be alluring to Jacob when they walked on the beach, but again, I suppose I shouldn't hope. Anyway, how about we get on to Rob Pattinson? The guy was horrible for the role. He was creepy and awkward and had a slight lisp. And was he even trying to achieve somewhat of a velvety voice, or did he realize that it was a lost cause and just decide to cut his losses? (Velvet does not equal raspy.) There was nothing graceful or perfect about him, his features, or the way he carried himself. I'll give him one thing though, it's difficult to tear your eyes from his face, but on the downside I think that's only because there's something awkward about it that you can't quite put your finger on. And there's nothing to be said about the perfect body he was supposed to have. Not exactly an Adonis. Personally, I think they chose him for the role because he's British and Americans tend to love the Brits. But guess what? Edward was born in Chicago. And Chicago is in AMERICA. But I digress.

    Another thing that got under my skin about this movie was the plot, of which there was none. To say that they didn't stick to the book is a ridiculous understatement. I wonder how anyone who hadn't read the book first wasn't sitting there completely confused. It was more like a scrapbook than a movie. They threw in some direct quotes from the book, patted themselves on the back, then continued to butcher the story. It was like looking at a science project that was hastily put together the night before it was due. Train wreck. But hey, at least they didn't use the word "incredulously." Not once.

    Why is Bella "unconditionally and irrevocably" in love with Edward? Who knows? But Meyer didn't really say why in the book either, so I guess I can't bash the movie for the one thing it remained consistent on.

    The vamp makeup was pretty bad too. They looked more like paste than marble.

    Edward's glitter-covered skin kind of annoyed me. I thought they might do a better job than that.

    I realize I'm ranting now, but I don't really care.

    I wish Alice had more of a role in the film, she's the one person who actually convinced me that they read the book.

    James was better looking than Edward. Fail.

    The baseball scene was pretty good, so kudos there. Emmett was pretty funny, so kudos there. Jasper was pretty funny too, but not in a way that he intended to be. (He looked cramped the whole time.) Rosalie successfully got on my nerves, so kudos to her too. Carlisle and Esme were not very memorable.

    It's really not even fair to blame the failure of this movie on a tight budget. I have two words: THE MATRIX.

    In closing, I'm looking forward to a parody of the film. It's practically BEGGING for Tina Fey's magical touch.

    18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good book but a bad movie!!

    Okay i am a HUGE fan of the books but lets be serious the movie was a joke!! They didn't put in the most important parts from the book into the movie! Edward in the movie was well... creepy! not hot, didn't have a velvity voice, and walked weird, not gracifully! I for one hope that they redo this movie again with a new director, producers, and cast members. Except for the ones that played Rosilia, Alice, Bellas dad, Emmett, and most of the kids that played Bellas friends/class mates in the movie. I'm looking foward to New Moon coming out into theaters and I hope that with a new director this one will be much better!!!!

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So dissapointing

    Like everyone else I loved the book and hated the movie. Kristen Stweart in paticular was painful to watch. The makeup and hair for the vampires was laughable and they spent too much time on the scenery than on the story. Visually it was beautiful but the dialog was terrible. No one completed a sentence and just made statements at eachother. Why are Bella and Edward in love? From the movie..I DONT KNOW! What a waste.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the books but not the movie

    It was painful to see my beloved book chopped and badly acted out. The script could have been written so much better. I could have forgiven that but Bella was cast wrong. A better unknown actress should have been chosen. Although the vampires including Edward were nicely done. I hope for the sake of the book fans out there and for me that New Moon comes out better. Although the previews show Kristen still lacks the abilty to sound natural and every word and emotion sounds and looks forced. Read the books you won't be disappointed. The best books I've read in a very long time and I read a lot!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hopefully New Moon will be better

    I've watched many movies that I've also read the novel the movie was based on. Not many have upset me as much as Twilight did. I understand it they had to cut a lot out due to timing issues, but the scenes they did portray could have followed the book more closely. Very few characters matched the descriptions in the book. The wigs all looked unnatural. Stephenie Meyer was so descriptive in her book series, it's appalling to know that she completely sold out. The members of the crew would ask her advice before changing something and she went along with the change. For something that she seemed so passionate about, it's not much like what she wrote about. In my opinion, it should say a movie LOOSELY based on the book series by Stephenie Meyer. The character names were right, but everything else was twisted.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not what I was expecting....at all

    I started reading the Twilight series after the movie had left theaters so I was frantically waiting for the DVD to come out, as I loved the books and was so glad I rented the movie rather than bought. For those of you who enjoyed the books, I would say rent the movie to get it out of your system, but its really not that great. I was almost a little annoyed with Bella in the books with all her resistance to the Cullens trying to help her and just wanted her to suck it up and enjoy all that they did for her. In the movie Edward was almost a little rude to her through the majority, he did not speak eloquently like I had thought he would and it was almost like he had as minimal dialogue as possible. I almost felt bad for Bella in the movie. Wish we would have seen more of Jacob Black and the other Cullens, maybe we will in the next movie.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie SUCKZ

    if u dont do anything else read the book BEFORE u see the movie.it totally sucked.it left out all the important scenes and information. this was the worst interpretation of the movie.they should've let me direct it and cast it. don't get me wrong the actors were good, but the plot wasn't there for me. but if there was a category for sexiness there was plenty of that, especially with the guys!!!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    bad but good

    i think the casting was all wrong for this movie Robert didnt look like what edward should he is suppost to be drop dead beautiful and bella was also but she wasnt & they give her good make-up & robert was wearing WAY to much with in the first 30 pages of the book you can count about 10 mistakes in the movie. worth seeing. very funny. i just hope new moon is better but im def. buying this movie

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing

    I was eager to see this since i'm obsessed with the books but I was So disappointed! This isn't Twilight it was something else they should of kept it the same as the book. Hopefully New Moon will be better and more like the book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight

    I've read the book and I've seen the movie. The book was very good and the movie was so....so... I'm thinking that the budget was the problem so I'm going to give the movie two stars. I'm a big vampire fan and I hope the next movie which is New Moon will be better. Please increase your special effects and do something better with Edwards eyes. Review other vampire movies. You can do so much better than that I know to bring this next movie out. Good luck

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie gets goood ratings?

    Okay I loved the book. It was poorly written but I loved it. Then the movie, my god did any see the movie? How the heck do you give this movie 4-5 stars? The acting was horrible. The script awful. The scenery was nice though haha. But come on you didn't even see why bella loved edward from the movie, if you hadn't read the book you would've just been like why are they in love? I mean it's a horribly done movie and the acting could have been much better. This movie had great potential and I am hoping the next one will prove to be better done.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing.

    It is truly a rare occassion when a movie based on a book actually improves the book- but that's what happened here. All of the horrible purple prose, the 500+ pages with only 1/5th of it actual plot- the viewer didn't have to sit through any of that.<BR/><BR/>Instead of the evil guys showing up at the very end, such as they did in the book, they actually made appearances throughout. Imagine that, some semblance of a plot BEFORE the movie's almost over.<BR/><BR/>Instead of constantly having to listen to Bella describe Edward's glistening skin or tasty breath, we got to listen to EVERYONE'S dialogue.<BR/><BR/>And instead of cutting out the only action in the entire thing, the director decided someone's neck needed to get snapped, and then promptly provided.<BR/><BR/>All in all, the teenage girl in me likes the pretty boys and gorgeous sets. The entire movie seems like it's set somewhere cold, wet, damp. Perfect. But the intelligent part of me is screaming out that the plot was horrible, the characters made no sense, and if they make more of these I will cry.<BR/><BR/>still, at least the word 'incandescent' never shows up once in the script. Bonus points for that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO DISAPPOINTING!

    We all know not to expect a movie to be 100% accurate, but watching this movie I felt like the person that made the movie never read the book! I wasn't expecting it to be as bad as it was even though friends that saw it before me warned that it would be bad. Instead I went in with an open mind and alone to watch it and I was so disappointed! I still love the characters for trying though. Let's just hope new moon and any movie to follow will be better. And I'm hopeful that a movie remake will someday come: maybe we'll get to see "Midnight Sun" in the theaters.<BR/><BR/>Still Hopeful & Always a Fan!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Poor Movie for a Great Book

    This movie was not very good. Edward and Bella's relationship was waaay rushed. Plus, they didn't do much with the meadow scene, which was really disappointing. The meadow scene definitely should have been a key part of the movie, since that was the dream which inspired Stephenie Meyer to write Twilight! Twilight is an amazing book, and this movie did not do a justice.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight DVD

    As is usually the case with highly acclaimed books, the movie version was disappointing. It had the feel of a low-budget film and much of the emotional makeup of the characters was lacking. I would opt for renting this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The book is better

    I only bought this dvd for my husband. I have read all four books and thought this movie was a horrible verison of it. I wouldn't have boughten it if my husband wasn't a huge fan of the movie.

    Over all, the main actress isn't good at acting and the storyline is nothing like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read the book AFTER the movie

    I got the book and LOVED it. I like the movie. There's so much left out, understandably, but things were changed between the book and the movie that just didn't make it as good as the book. The book is always better, and so it is with this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Laughably Lame Adaptation

    I tried to go into Twilight with an open mind and I feel I was able to leave my preconceived notions at the door. With the hurricane of hype surrounding the books and the film, it wasn't easy, but I was willing to give this movie a fair shake. It began interestingly enough. Bella seemed a bit melodramatic and cliche, but I went with it. I mean, she's supposed to represent the every-teen, with equal measure of passion and naivete about love. And Edward, all steel-eyed looks and sculpted eye-brows, was at touch too brooding for my taste, but once again he was perfect fodder for the film's target audience. My problems with Twilight, and there were many, began with the second act. This film takes one of the most implausible pacing leaps I have ever seen. We are barely introduced to the villans and before you know it, we're running all over the country attempting to escape them . It was absurd how unfleshed out this band of evil vampires were. And as soon as they are taken care of, *poof*, we're at the prom! Yeah! This wasn't nearly as bad as the Covenant and some of the other magic-teen movies that have come out of late, but this is by no means a quality picture. It is truly a pop-culture phenomenon and one that will be looked back on as a silly and trite overplayed High School Musical with vampires.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Book is great, Movie, not so much

    I read the book first and loved it. However, I was greatly disapointed in the movie. I don't think the actors portrayal did the charachers justice. I do hear that if you have not read the book, you'll love the movie. I think I'll just stick to books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MAN WHY BOOKS ARE GREAT BUT MOIVE CANT EVEN SAY?

    OK this is making me mad about the movies all the movies that they make and all that dont even fit the book i was a person who was like man cant wait for the movie to come out and its like the book was great i mean awesome and all but when that movie came out man i was like like man can say but anyway another thing i think some of the characters fit well in here and that some of the parts i injoyed but i want to talk about something elso.
    MOVIE MADDNESS
    ok here is i want to say something people if you guys want to make movies make them right cause its like harry potter the books were great but come on half of the movies were bad i am so waitting for the next one to come but after the 5th one it was like man it makes me forget about movies and all but not only that they messed up on such a great book that could have been a great movie which was 'TWILIGHT' now this movie was soppous to be a awesome movie i mean like wow and dang but man it got me disapointed like man i am very angry with the movie makers and i am am afraid of them to make the second one cause if they mess that up well here is to another mess up movie.
    well i just wanted to point out what i thought of this movie and i will buy it just because i still injoy the books i would like to have the movies and all so this is my report.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3