Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(950)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Two Sides

Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite...
Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite nicely; the music complemented what was going on in the different scenes. I was riveted by the tension between Bella and Edward's characters, I can't think of anyone better for either role; the chemistry was fantastic. After seeing the movie, I read the book. I can see why fans of the book were disappointed...there were a number of scenes from the book that were simply left out or edited. And I was personally disappointed by the lack of development of the friendship between Bella and Alice...Alice is such a great character...but the movie doesn't portray that well. I definitely think that the movie is worth seeing, and owning. I also suggest watching the movie before reading the book, its actually quite good and I think I would┬┐ve missed out on that if I had read the book first.

posted by missg08 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Read this review!! It's long but if you agree, it'll put a smirk on your face =]

I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the dept...
I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the depth of the storyline that a book can hold, I was hoping it wouldn't be TOO bad. But, come on, let's be honest, you know the movie was an epic train wreck.

Everyone's bashing Kristen Stewart so I'm gonna do her a favor and give her a break. I will say one thing though. I was hoping she would do a better job at trying awkwardly to be alluring to Jacob when they walked on the beach, but again, I suppose I shouldn't hope. Anyway, how about we get on to Rob Pattinson? The guy was horrible for the role. He was creepy and awkward and had a slight lisp. And was he even trying to achieve somewhat of a velvety voice, or did he realize that it was a lost cause and just decide to cut his losses? (Velvet does not equal raspy.) There was nothing graceful or perfect about him, his features, or the way he carried himself. I'll give him one thing though, it's difficult to tear your eyes from his face, but on the downside I think that's only because there's something awkward about it that you can't quite put your finger on. And there's nothing to be said about the perfect body he was supposed to have. Not exactly an Adonis. Personally, I think they chose him for the role because he's British and Americans tend to love the Brits. But guess what? Edward was born in Chicago. And Chicago is in AMERICA. But I digress.

Another thing that got under my skin about this movie was the plot, of which there was none. To say that they didn't stick to the book is a ridiculous understatement. I wonder how anyone who hadn't read the book first wasn't sitting there completely confused. It was more like a scrapbook than a movie. They threw in some direct quotes from the book, patted themselves on the back, then continued to butcher the story. It was like looking at a science project that was hastily put together the night before it was due. Train wreck. But hey, at least they didn't use the word "incredulously." Not once.

Why is Bella "unconditionally and irrevocably" in love with Edward? Who knows? But Meyer didn't really say why in the book either, so I guess I can't bash the movie for the one thing it remained consistent on.

The vamp makeup was pretty bad too. They looked more like paste than marble.

Edward's glitter-covered skin kind of annoyed me. I thought they might do a better job than that.

I realize I'm ranting now, but I don't really care.

I wish Alice had more of a role in the film, she's the one person who actually convinced me that they read the book.

James was better looking than Edward. Fail.

The baseball scene was pretty good, so kudos there. Emmett was pretty funny, so kudos there. Jasper was pretty funny too, but not in a way that he intended to be. (He looked cramped the whole time.) Rosalie successfully got on my nerves, so kudos to her too. Carlisle and Esme were not very memorable.

It's really not even fair to blame the failure of this movie on a tight budget. I have two words: THE MATRIX.

In closing, I'm looking forward to a parody of the film. It's practically BEGGING for Tina Fey's magical touch.

posted by SweetSilence on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not Surprised...

    that this movie did not live up to the book. Most movies based on books are a let down to anyone who loves the book version. This is not at all a bad movie it just doesn't live up to the book. My biggest problem is with the casting. Not one of the actors fits the character from the book. Most of all I'm disapointed in the casting of Edward. Robert Pattinson is awesome but he's just not the Edward we read about. There is nothing mesmerizing about him in the film, and his SPEECH my goodness! I'm huge on the way characters "speak" in books and when I read twilight I imagined Edward having this refined speech since he was born in the early 1900's...not that he would use early 1900 English but that they WAY he spoke would be kinda like a throwback to that Era...classy, smooth, refined. I imagined his VOICE being like velvet but it wasn't so in the movie. I still think it's worth watching as long as you don't expect it to be a true depiction of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    T_DVD

    I was expecting something more then what was there. Some of the important scenes in the book were left out or altered way to much. Overall it was a decent movie until you get into picking out a little here and a little there. Wonder how the next one will be (hope the acting improves).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A little disappointed

    This movie was okay. I was actaully diappointed because I read the book first then watched the movie. I should have done it the other way around. It is a good love story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Didn't like it the first time, Didn't like it the Second, Finally started liking it on the third

    Now, you may be asking why I even bothered watching this movie repeatedly, since it didn't sit well with me the first time. The answer is simple, I'm a Twilight Fan. Not fanatical by any means, but I have read the books more than once.

    This film was a disappointment. They can't recast the film, well technically they can, and have, but that's an entirely different story. This film adaptation didn't even come close to the book. Some of the actors' performances were weak, sad, and didn't even connect. Everything could have been better, especially the major fighting scene.

    Everyone wants to place the blame on Catherine. I've seen some of her other work, which is much better than this. If anything, the blame should be placed on everyone, especially casting. Some of the actors did a really good job, but the main focus in the movie was the main one that needed to focus. She shouldn't let the reportedly $2 million paycheck get to her head. It's the books that's making the film a star. Not you honey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Thought it was ok until I read the books now I HATE it.

    So I love vampire & other mscience fiction movies & decided to give twilight a try. Its nothing like Underworld or other Vampire/love story movies almost completely JUST a teeny-bopper love story. They fall in love WAY too fast, I was incredibly confused by alot of things in the movie until I read the book. On the plus side of reading it I understood the characters WAY more & some scenes in the movie that were confusing before now made since. However when I watched it after reading the book I was almost MAD! it could have been SUCH a good movie I know it was low budget & the actors arent GREAT but if te story line would have followed the book more & had more naration/insight from Bella it would have been AMAZING! They left out VERY key points from the book like he randomly plays piano but they dont tell u it was HER lullaby, instead they have a whole scene with them making dinner that no one eats, it seemed pointless when they took out sooo much that was more important. Seriously the more I think about it the madder I get, can we just do a remake?!? lol & without the naration from Bella alot of things like her trying to flirt with Jacob on the beach, made NO since! Totally didnt get that impression just thought they were talkin. Also lots of foreshadowing that sets you up for the second is lost in the movie. I have no idea how they will bring depth to the second one now, but I am hopeful, New Moon was my favorite of the series & I HOPE the new director can stay MUCH closer to the book. Theres a reason people are obsessed with the books & it doesnt show in the movie. Oh & I also dont care for the actors they chose.Though I think Alice is PERFECT she is graceful, has a good voice, & looks EXACTLY how ud imagine her to. I Really liked Emmett & Carlisle too. Jacob is ok, so is Bella, Charlie, Mike, & Jasper. But Edward while Sexy just doesnt have the voice or characteristics that he should, hes ok though I guess. It annoys me that Rosalie is not the prettiest I find Alice & Esme to be prettier & Esme didnt even look like a vampire. All in all this is an ok, you should see it 1, but only 1, kinda movie. Unless you read the books then it just SUCKS! & yet still my twilight obsession makes me eager to see the second one! lol watch Underworld instead GREAT movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    twighlight

    i enjoyed the adaption from the book. i am curious how the other books will be presented in film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SUCKS!

    i loved the books thought they were awsome and then me and my friends were all up for seeing the movie i was so bored of it. the cast that they picked i thought was pretty good except for kristen stewart aka bella she sucked i dont think she can act at all shes not even pretty for bella and i think she ruined the movie she had a deeper voice she sounds like a man i think the girl that played alice she have played bella. the makeup was horrible i mean they are pale but to the point that you can see the powder thats bad and the film seemed to go to fast through the sceens that in the book were longer so the reader actually gets whats going on. i blame most on the directer she was the wrong one to pick i am so happy they got a new one for new moon i mean come on mrs. meyer just sat there and let them ruin her shot to become more famous so overall dont watch the movie it will make you think twilight sucks but it dosnt just read the books they are so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could have done better with the delivery of the dialogue...too awkward & slow

    Kristen Stewart's acting was VERY stilted and awkward; I have to say I was disappointed. The book was a lot better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight movie

    After reading the books I soooo looked forward to the movie and I was dissappointed in the movie... there was so much that was left out and I just expected more and diden't get it from the movie ... I do look forward to the next movie with the new director ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Alright

    Its not too bad i guess. I really like the books better. But i guess the books are always going to be better than the movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    good, but not great

    i had expected alot out of this movie, because of the book. the book was amazing! the movie however wasnt. it was ok, the main thing i didnt like was how they skipped alot of the parts.and some of the charators shouldnt have even been cast. otherwise it was a decent movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Twilight - The Movie

    I read the entire Twilight series. They had an interesting plot, plenty of twists, and the phenomenon it created was unforgettable.

    But the movie is a whole other story.

    Try, if you can, to read Twilight or read reviews on it. I know some people will be raving about it, and some marveling about Robert Pattinson. I am a fan, undeniably a fan, of the Twilight series. I'm not blinded by Pattinson or anything else in that movie. The special effects were sadly below my expectations. Quote: "He didn't even sparkle right!" The tree climbing didn't happen in the book, and not only that, it was terribly executed. Nothing in that movie seemed right, special effects-wise. Take a look at it. You'll see what I'm talking about.

    The script was a mangled, rushed version of the beloved books. In no way did it show the characters as they are in the series. The skin tone was all wrong. Vampires are supposed to be chalky white, yet my skin used to be paler than theirs. I didn't like the cast. Rosalie didn't look at all like how she was supposed to. The only reason Nikki Reed was cast was because she knew the director. Robert Pattinson didn't portray Edward right. He should've taken voice lessons to entirely lose the accent, shaved the five o'clock shadow, maybe lose thhe hair on his arms, quit walking like an idiot, try some clothes that fit him better. Jasper [Jackson Rathbone] and Alice [Ashley Greene] I didn't many problems with. Emmett, [Kellan Lutz] only one: They should've done something to make his hair longer and curlier.

    Bella. Oh, goodness, Bella Swan.

    Kristen Stewart is a pretty, young girl. She has acting experience. Okay. Yeah.

    But those are the only good things about her.

    Bella Swan in the Twilight series could close her mouth. She didn't have to sit there with hanging open like an idiot, catching flies. It was very annoying to watch. She stumbled over her own words, like she didn't know the script. She was constantly making odd noises when she talks. Take some notes, Stewart, Bella Swan can speak in full sentences.

    It's become a joke in my family - the hospital scene after that less-than-graphic fight scene. Bella with the tubes in her nose. Oh, goodness, that made me laugh. Not that tubes are bad or anything, but her nostrils were flared so wide that, quote: "Whoa! It's like watching two giant nostrils trying to talk to you!"

    Plus Stewart's chicklet teeth. That was annoying, too. And that she was so serious throughout the entire movie. Bella Swan can laugh, but I only heard a somewhat hysterical giggle burst from Stewart in the tree-climbing scene.

    The two best things about the Twilight movie - a free skin for my cell phone and the soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It was a movie

    I was a one of the millions of people who read the book. I liked the book, the movie to me was good but it did not stand out. I would have picked someone else for Edwards character to me he just does not fit the character. For Bell they did a good job. As for the acting to me it was lacking, at the beginning of the book they had the awkward moment, but in the movie this moment seemed to last through out the movie. Like I said it is a good movie but it did not stand out to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What is so exciting about Twilight?

    I admit I was one of those people who did want to get into the world of Twilight because I thought this too much of a teen thing and it's not for me. Boy was I wrong. My lovely roommate dragged me to the midnight showing of the movie and I fell completely in love with it. I immediately read all the rest of the series and can not wait to see what they do with the rest of them.
    What makes this a successful adaptation was that the director is a fan of the books, which is so important when turning a best-selling novel into a film. But what I think really makes this film is the chemistry between Bella(Kristen Stewart) and Edward (Robert Pattinson). They do such a wonderful job of bringing the characters to life, it really makes the film worthwhile. I do have to admit that some of the visual effects and camera shots in the film are not very good but for this movie don't watch it because you want to see ausume special effects because you will be disappointed. I would say that others should watch this movie because the story gives you a new perspective on vampires and tells a romance that will live on from generations on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight

    Teenagers love this movie. As an adult, I did not like it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight DVD

    I received the Twilight DVD the day after it came out. I was pleased that I did not have to wait in line and with my B&N discount it was cheaper than if I had purchased it elsewhere. My teenage daughters were very happy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It was...okay.

    Now, this will be a review about the MOVIE adaptation of Twilight.
    Trust me, I AM a Twilighter, and pretty darn proud of it too!
    However, the movie... really dissapointed me...
    I think- THINK- that the reason for that is that we just have such GREAT expectations of the movie since it's such a phenomenal book.
    I think that with lower expectations, it still wouldn't be a five start movie, but maybe a 4.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So-so

    Twilight dvd felt like it was being rushed. It passes certain parts like the blood type part in the book, and it was far too short. Meanwhile, the book was way too long, and boring. Twilight is a boring book and an ok movie i wished it was both the same length and detail like harry potter

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not as Good as the Book Series - of course

    The movie failed to give me the same emotional connection that Bella and Edward have for each other in the book. I'm aware the you must change the story slightly to translate words on a page to visuals on a screen, but the actors seemed really akward with/towards each other. Otherwise, I found the movie visually satisfiying, felt like they brought the concept of Forks to the big screen fairly accurately.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    disappointing

    UGH! I love the books and am a huge fan, but this movie was not good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7