Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(950)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Two Sides

Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite...
Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite nicely; the music complemented what was going on in the different scenes. I was riveted by the tension between Bella and Edward's characters, I can't think of anyone better for either role; the chemistry was fantastic. After seeing the movie, I read the book. I can see why fans of the book were disappointed...there were a number of scenes from the book that were simply left out or edited. And I was personally disappointed by the lack of development of the friendship between Bella and Alice...Alice is such a great character...but the movie doesn't portray that well. I definitely think that the movie is worth seeing, and owning. I also suggest watching the movie before reading the book, its actually quite good and I think I would┬┐ve missed out on that if I had read the book first.

posted by missg08 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Read this review!! It's long but if you agree, it'll put a smirk on your face =]

I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the dept...
I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the depth of the storyline that a book can hold, I was hoping it wouldn't be TOO bad. But, come on, let's be honest, you know the movie was an epic train wreck.

Everyone's bashing Kristen Stewart so I'm gonna do her a favor and give her a break. I will say one thing though. I was hoping she would do a better job at trying awkwardly to be alluring to Jacob when they walked on the beach, but again, I suppose I shouldn't hope. Anyway, how about we get on to Rob Pattinson? The guy was horrible for the role. He was creepy and awkward and had a slight lisp. And was he even trying to achieve somewhat of a velvety voice, or did he realize that it was a lost cause and just decide to cut his losses? (Velvet does not equal raspy.) There was nothing graceful or perfect about him, his features, or the way he carried himself. I'll give him one thing though, it's difficult to tear your eyes from his face, but on the downside I think that's only because there's something awkward about it that you can't quite put your finger on. And there's nothing to be said about the perfect body he was supposed to have. Not exactly an Adonis. Personally, I think they chose him for the role because he's British and Americans tend to love the Brits. But guess what? Edward was born in Chicago. And Chicago is in AMERICA. But I digress.

Another thing that got under my skin about this movie was the plot, of which there was none. To say that they didn't stick to the book is a ridiculous understatement. I wonder how anyone who hadn't read the book first wasn't sitting there completely confused. It was more like a scrapbook than a movie. They threw in some direct quotes from the book, patted themselves on the back, then continued to butcher the story. It was like looking at a science project that was hastily put together the night before it was due. Train wreck. But hey, at least they didn't use the word "incredulously." Not once.

Why is Bella "unconditionally and irrevocably" in love with Edward? Who knows? But Meyer didn't really say why in the book either, so I guess I can't bash the movie for the one thing it remained consistent on.

The vamp makeup was pretty bad too. They looked more like paste than marble.

Edward's glitter-covered skin kind of annoyed me. I thought they might do a better job than that.

I realize I'm ranting now, but I don't really care.

I wish Alice had more of a role in the film, she's the one person who actually convinced me that they read the book.

James was better looking than Edward. Fail.

The baseball scene was pretty good, so kudos there. Emmett was pretty funny, so kudos there. Jasper was pretty funny too, but not in a way that he intended to be. (He looked cramped the whole time.) Rosalie successfully got on my nerves, so kudos to her too. Carlisle and Esme were not very memorable.

It's really not even fair to blame the failure of this movie on a tight budget. I have two words: THE MATRIX.

In closing, I'm looking forward to a parody of the film. It's practically BEGGING for Tina Fey's magical touch.

posted by SweetSilence on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Two Sides

    Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite nicely; the music complemented what was going on in the different scenes. I was riveted by the tension between Bella and Edward's characters, I can't think of anyone better for either role; the chemistry was fantastic. After seeing the movie, I read the book. I can see why fans of the book were disappointed...there were a number of scenes from the book that were simply left out or edited. And I was personally disappointed by the lack of development of the friendship between Bella and Alice...Alice is such a great character...but the movie doesn't portray that well. I definitely think that the movie is worth seeing, and owning. I also suggest watching the movie before reading the book, its actually quite good and I think I would¿ve missed out on that if I had read the book first.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Both!

    I loved both the movie and the books. Books are always longer and contain more details than a movie ever will. I usually watch the movie first and then read the book, so I can visualize the characters more as I read about them. After I watched the movie, I went out and bought all four books and didn't stop reading until I had finished the last one. I look forward to the other movies. It should be interesting to see how they turn out.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I enjoyed it.

    Obviously not as much as the book... That's a given. <BR/>Though I loved the WAY this movie was shot. I do feel that they kind of rushed it a bit more than they should have. <BR/>Just like any good book come movie... REAL fans will sit through another half hour to see a movie closer to the book (Think LOTR, HP). <BR/>I really hope they realize this while making the second movie. <BR/>I really do like the casting choice for Bella... But I do feel that Edward could have been cast much better. Sorry, just not buying Cedric as a sometimes scarey vamp.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it..Hate it

    I wish the extra sceenes had not been added to this movie. If the 2 sceenes where James, Victoria, and Laurent were hunting, and the one where Edward carries Bella through the trees to a breathtaking view of Washington had not been created for the movie, there would have been more time for more of the actual book sceenes. I really would have loved to see the part about the blood typing in biology class. <BR/><BR/>I certainly hope there are no "CREATED" sceenes for the second movie! I for one would happily sit through a longer movie to include more of the book. I am a firm believer that if the sceene survived the editing process of the book, then it should survive the editing process of the movie.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great cast members

    I am a big Twilight fan...have been from the very first book even before it got crazy popular. So with that said people have to remember the movie is never as good as the book. Hollywood can never capture things the way an author can, but it is still worth your time. In my opinion the cast is what made the movie. At first I was worried about the choices but I have to say everyone was a hit except maybe Jasper's actor. Rob and Kristen were spot on in my opinion. I believe New Moon will be even better because of the director change. So for all you na-sayers....whatever!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    i love this movie it is the best ever!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Pointless to compare movie to book

    They are always different. Hollywood always has to shorten the story and always changes part of it.

    Why can they both not be considered on their own terms?

    It's like saying an apple is better than an orange. Really? I think they are both great on their own merits.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Overall, not too bad..

    Okay, so not everyone's gonna like it. I personally do prefer the book more, but it doesn't mean the movie isn't worth watching. If you're a fan of the series, then you should definitely go see it. It won't please everyone, but a book and and a movie are two different interpretations of one story, and you can only fit so much into several hours of movie.

    In general I found the movie disappointing, but still enjoyable. I expected a little more. The acting was alright, though it could've been better in some parts, and some of the characters were a little flat. At times unintentionally laughable. Bella and Edward had amaazing chemistry together though. But the make-up and special effects were awful and cheesy. And if don't be fooled.. it may claim it's 'action packed', but it hardly lives up to that claim. It's most definitely NOT an action flick.

    Basically, when it comes down to it, it's an adaptation. It has its flaws, but go see it anyway. It really adds a more visual perspective to the Twilight world. Fans of the book are either gonna hate it love it, but just enjoy it. And for those of you that haven't, I highly recommend reading the book first, just so you know all the details :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not too bad

    The movie was pretty good, definitely not as good as the book. I thought that the actors that were cast were all brilliant and had great on screen chemistry. I definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the real world for awhile.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    twilight

    twilight was an overall great movie. It's based on Stephanie Meyer's 'twilight' book. A teenage girl named Bella falls in love with a vampire named Edward, and becomes best friends with a werewolf, resulting in many challenges for Bella. The movie twilight followed the basic plot line as the book, but a few things were a little different from the book. I definitely recommend reading the books, once you start reading them, you can't put them down!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Perfect, But Worth Watching

    I have to agree with those who shout that the movie does not follow the book accurately, indeed the book is better, but the more I watch the movie the better it seems. The only scene that really made me angry was when Edward calls Bella a "spider monkey". It takes away from how Meyer portrayed Edward as the serious and tense man that we all came to love. If it weren't for that, I would give it 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What I enjoyed of this book?

    I was really excited when I first got the book. By only previewing the book, I knew some thiings that would happen throughtout the book. Then I started seeing how the events were going as the plot continued to moved forward. I would recommend this book to a friend that really like romantic stories. And they like reading about how a secret relationship is started but is to be forbidden.


    My most favorite part of the book, Twilight was when the main character, Bella starts investigating and finding proof if Edward was actually a vampire. It was true Edward was a vampire! She knew Edward was thirsting for her blood. She knew that she has actually fallen in love with Edward. My next favorite was when James tries to attack Bella but Edward comes to the rescue and saves her. Then Bella got hurt by the accident. So Edward had to sunk her. But he had a chose, to make her die but not being able to stop sunking her blood or being able to handle to stop sunking her blood in time.


    I would read the continue of Twilight's saga. The books of the rest of the saga are New Moon, Eclipse, and Breakign Dawn by the same author, Stephaine Meyer. I would also read other of the same author like, Proms Night from Hell, Biss, and many others.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    twilight

    ok, so first lets reveiw..... i was up until 2 o'clock in the morning at BLOCK BUSTER to get this movie!!! let me also say i bought two copies incase one broke or something, and i am not going to say the exact price of my purchase but it was over 35$. and not stepping on anyones toes, but the movie stunk! ok, i said it, the movie skiped around so much that if u hadnt read the book i think u might b confused. the movie was kidda more like a flipbook or scrapbook.and i knoww that all those other girls out there might think" oh !!!!!!! it was the best movie EVER" i aint the most critic gal but did u like the movie or robert,eh? yeah i know robert pattinson(edward) was kidda cute but really.oh and a big delema in the movie was how far they srtay from the book!!!! and also u might have seen the big review that that person wrote on this website, the one that was "most helpful" i have to agree with u. i think the pin name was sweetsilence or something. and add something else,u know in the movie how bella said"that was the first night i dreamed of edward cullen" and then he like shows up and disappaers. but, in the book that did not happen. bella had a dream about jake and edward and stuff and i wish they would have put that in the movie cuz it was very crushoal to bella descovering that jake was a werewolf!!!!! overall i guess the movie was ok. i give it 3 and a half stars andd hope that new moon will b better!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Twilight DVD

    Good movie, doesn't follow script as much as I'd like. Waiting for the second movie New Moon

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    I watch the movie about 10 times already including watching it at the theater. I like the actors and actresses chosen for the movie. I think overall the movie could have being a bit longer the movie seemed rushed instead of being a smooth flow. That means the script could of been a bit longer and the plot was good. In general I love the movie, the books like always are better. So I understand why the producers and director had to cut the book short so they could turn it into the movie. This movie is definitely fit for 13 year olds or even adults that are into all that dark romance and mystery and a new twist to todays modern society. It gives vampires a new perspective that as we humans evolve so do vampires. I recommend watching the movie and reading the books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Good Movie, Better Than Most . . .

    'Twilight' was a good movie, although I prefer the book. The book is riveting, and if you know what's going on, you understand the movie better.
    I am a loyal 'Twilight' fan, so I loved the movie as well as the book. I purchased the DVD -- stood in line to do so.
    Although some of my favorite quotes from the book didn't make it into the movie, I still enjoyed it. Since the book is told from Bella's point of view, I can understand how hard it must have been to take it to the big screen.
    All in all, the movie was closer to the book than some movies I have seen that have been based on books. I think that the cast and crew brought Ms. Meyer's characters to life, and when the movie was finished, I was satisfied that what I read in 'Twilight' was captured in the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So Matched The Book

    I have read the entire series and I have to say that the movie did the book justice. I am excited about the next movie New Moon. The characters were exactly how I had imagined them to be in the book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What I THink!!

    I thought the movie wasn't has good has the book but you have to remember that they can not take the whole book and put it in the movie. The movie was orginal. Thats all I can say. It wasn't bad but it wasn't awesome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    omg let it go

    ok so the movie is not as good as the book. Big suprise! (note the sarcasm) i have never watched a movie where i thought it was better or as good as the book, and am constantly annoyed when ppl complain that its not like the book. Its not the book! it is a movie, so they have to cut out all the best parts and keep the basic parts. i know it sux but thats life. if you view the movie as a completely seperate story that is loosely based on twilight then you'll enjoy the movie tens times more. there are actually points i luv more about the movie than the book, i mean it has some seriously funny parts. i luved both th books and th movie personally and if you're looking for a good romantic movie w/ a good sense of humor and a flare of the supernatural then this is probably one of the best!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    disappointing

    i had a terrible time watching this movie the first time. i was almost ran out of the theater because i was verbally complaining so much about the plot mistakes. they also way overdid the makeup. carlisle looked albino, and in edwards hairline its way easy to tell its makeup.plus, and this may just be me) but i thought the contacts were a little to yellow and not really the butterscotch coller i was expecting. it was seriously disappointing at first but after watching it a few times, and knowing what to expect, and accepting that a movie cant posibly live up to the original story, i can say its not the worst movie ever. infact its a rather ok movie if your expectations arent to high (and if you have read the book because if you havent the story is very hard to keep up with).

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12