Customer Reviews for

Twilight

Average Rating 4.5
( 1450 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(950)

4 Star

(235)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(97)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Two Sides

Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite...
Until the movie, I hadn't even heard of the books...at least not that I can recall. I went to see it in theaters, not expecting much...and was absolutely floored. I loved the scenery; it was breath taking. I thought that the sound track and score were put together quite nicely; the music complemented what was going on in the different scenes. I was riveted by the tension between Bella and Edward's characters, I can't think of anyone better for either role; the chemistry was fantastic. After seeing the movie, I read the book. I can see why fans of the book were disappointed...there were a number of scenes from the book that were simply left out or edited. And I was personally disappointed by the lack of development of the friendship between Bella and Alice...Alice is such a great character...but the movie doesn't portray that well. I definitely think that the movie is worth seeing, and owning. I also suggest watching the movie before reading the book, its actually quite good and I think I would┬┐ve missed out on that if I had read the book first.

posted by missg08 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Read this review!! It's long but if you agree, it'll put a smirk on your face =]

I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the dept...
I'm a little confused as to why so many people thought this was a good movie. In my opinion the books were great (the latter books more so than Twilight I must say), and while I'm not optimistic enough about movie adaptations to actually expect them to approach the depth of the storyline that a book can hold, I was hoping it wouldn't be TOO bad. But, come on, let's be honest, you know the movie was an epic train wreck.

Everyone's bashing Kristen Stewart so I'm gonna do her a favor and give her a break. I will say one thing though. I was hoping she would do a better job at trying awkwardly to be alluring to Jacob when they walked on the beach, but again, I suppose I shouldn't hope. Anyway, how about we get on to Rob Pattinson? The guy was horrible for the role. He was creepy and awkward and had a slight lisp. And was he even trying to achieve somewhat of a velvety voice, or did he realize that it was a lost cause and just decide to cut his losses? (Velvet does not equal raspy.) There was nothing graceful or perfect about him, his features, or the way he carried himself. I'll give him one thing though, it's difficult to tear your eyes from his face, but on the downside I think that's only because there's something awkward about it that you can't quite put your finger on. And there's nothing to be said about the perfect body he was supposed to have. Not exactly an Adonis. Personally, I think they chose him for the role because he's British and Americans tend to love the Brits. But guess what? Edward was born in Chicago. And Chicago is in AMERICA. But I digress.

Another thing that got under my skin about this movie was the plot, of which there was none. To say that they didn't stick to the book is a ridiculous understatement. I wonder how anyone who hadn't read the book first wasn't sitting there completely confused. It was more like a scrapbook than a movie. They threw in some direct quotes from the book, patted themselves on the back, then continued to butcher the story. It was like looking at a science project that was hastily put together the night before it was due. Train wreck. But hey, at least they didn't use the word "incredulously." Not once.

Why is Bella "unconditionally and irrevocably" in love with Edward? Who knows? But Meyer didn't really say why in the book either, so I guess I can't bash the movie for the one thing it remained consistent on.

The vamp makeup was pretty bad too. They looked more like paste than marble.

Edward's glitter-covered skin kind of annoyed me. I thought they might do a better job than that.

I realize I'm ranting now, but I don't really care.

I wish Alice had more of a role in the film, she's the one person who actually convinced me that they read the book.

James was better looking than Edward. Fail.

The baseball scene was pretty good, so kudos there. Emmett was pretty funny, so kudos there. Jasper was pretty funny too, but not in a way that he intended to be. (He looked cramped the whole time.) Rosalie successfully got on my nerves, so kudos to her too. Carlisle and Esme were not very memorable.

It's really not even fair to blame the failure of this movie on a tight budget. I have two words: THE MATRIX.

In closing, I'm looking forward to a parody of the film. It's practically BEGGING for Tina Fey's magical touch.

posted by SweetSilence on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 950 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 48
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome on both fronts

    I never heard of this series until the media hyped it out. Then I read the first book & had to follow the rest.

    People doing reviews seem to forget this is TARGETED towards a high school crowd - not adults. This is not Rated R material guys, its PG-13. So hence, the fire & hormones won't be blasted unlike a Laurell Hamilton vampire book.

    I liked the books and the movie. It was simple but on a fun level geared towards the teenagers, yet adults could enjoy it too. The movie sequel which is currently filming should be interesing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this Movie!!

    I like Love this movie so much.Robert(Edward)does a great job playing a vampire.I believed he really was one!!! I wouldn't be surprised if he was caught drinking human blood. He was even good in the Harry Potter movie. I just think that Robert is an all-around great actor.CUTE TOO!!!!! Kristen(Bella)was a great pick for Bella!! I believed that she was in love with Edward(who wouldnt be??).I just didnt like that they didnt stay exactly true to the book.It was good any way.The rest of the Cullens were great picks too!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh My Edward!

    Oh My Edward people! The movie was amazing! Robert Pattinson's American accent DELICIOUS! Kristen Stewart did her best. Edward's hair the best part! It was hilarious expecially Billy Black! Jacob- well nobody likes him so it doesn't matter! The kiss= YUMMY! The visuals could have been better but that is Catherine Hardwick's fault! Jasper was HOTT in pain! Alice was her percky self and Rosalie was the same girl that I have fell in love with! Emmett was his big brother self! Carlisle was the HOTTEST!! Esme was really pretty! The action and romance was awesome even though I wish there was more romance. The soundtrack was AMAZING! Cam Cigandet was HOTTT! Rachelle was great for victoria and Eddie was the best Laurant expecially his accent! PEOPLE DONT HATE APPPRICIATE!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Thumb Up

    After reading all four of Stephenie Meyer's books from the Twilight series, I was very happy with the outcome of the movie. Although I found that some of my favorite scenes did not make it in to the production so I was obviously a little bit dissappointed.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I <3 twilight

    no matter what you say i love twilight! in the form of book, on-screen, or just in my head (no! i'm not crazy)... yes the technical stuff about edward's eyes or maybe forks being not what i expected... it's all going to come there's no way any director catherine hardwicke (props to her i'm sad she's gone) or whoever directs the next one can fit every single person's ideas into one 2 1/2 hour movie!!! so all you haters stop hating it was a great movie and a great saga to read... peace

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Books vs. Movie

    Personally being a die hard loyal Twilight series fan I cannot say anything very bad about the movie like the chemistry between Rob and Kristen was not there, the script was poorley written, and the plot was cut down WAY too much (all of this is true however). I love this movie but I think that the needed details that Stephenie Meyers had in the books were not in the movie, therefore leaving the audiences confused. Personally, on a scale of 1-10 both the movie and the book would get tens, but if I was not a huge fan of the series (which I am) I would give the movie a four, maybe even a four and a half. My advice is to read the books over watching the movie- you get more questions answered . Good try Summit Entertainment and the cast of Twilight, better luck next time.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Xtra, Xtra, You're off the rocker

    I read all four books and LOVED them. So much so that I read all four then started all over again from book one. They catch your attention and have you so wrapped up in them, you think about them while you're not reading. No, the movie didn't do the books justice but I agree with Xtra Xtra Whatever. If you think this movie was SO bad then why bother to wait for the coming up movies and even go a step further as to go and see them? You're crazy. If you're going to sit through the next movies then obviously you liked this one enough to see what happens next. You have a while so take a seat and read the books. You won't be disappointed.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved IT!!

    I loved it!! I have read all of the books. I being a huge fan of them thought they did a great job on the movie for what they had to work with money wise. I thought the sparkling was a little bit cheesy but over all everything else was very well done. I thought the casting was very well picked, Kristin was a great fit for Bella as was Robert for Edward. Robert has that boyishly handsome face but can be scary too. I thought they were perfect picks for the leads. Ashley Greene was an amazing pick for Alice she was very fun and pixie looking very cute! Jackson Rathbone was a good pick also but if they didn't explain why he as Jasper had the pained look on his face and you wouldn't know if you hadn't read the books. Nikki Reed, Kellen Lutz, Peter Facinelli, and Elizabeth Reaser as Roslie,Emmett,Carlisle and Esme were right on target too I think the whole cast was type casted very well I don't think they could have picked better people to play these characters and bring them to life. I hope they keep them for the rest of the movies.!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So good

    It was the most amazing ever and I personally LOVED it, definetly some thing to add to your collection ;)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it!

    I personally loved the whole series and I wasn't disappointed with the film. Every actor did a wonderful job, especially Kristen Stewart. She was much better than I thought! The music fits perfectly into the movie and the scenes were intense, especially the first kissing scene! Wow! Some of the special effects were . . . cheesy but overall, this was a great movie. And I can't wait until New Moon comes out.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome movie

    Awesome movie. Awesome book. But don't compare the two to each other. I saw the movie before I even picked up the book. Honestly, the book is much better. But the movie is good in itself. I wish that people would stop comparing books to the movies. They will NEVER be the same!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great for lovers of the book and future lovers of the book.

    I took my boyfriend to this movie with him never reading the books. I have taken him to a lot of movies that were from books I love. He has always hated the movies but goes to them because he loves me. So when I took him to see Twilight, I thought it would be same old same old. BUT he LOVED it. He was asking so many questions about the movie and the books. He wanted to know everything... It was really nice to have him love something as much as I did (besides football lol). <BR/><BR/>I loved it too! and the soundtrack was great as well. We both cant wait for new moon to come out. I had read all the books before the movie came out. After the movie, I had to read them again. I think this movie was as true to the book as it could get. I mean, Twilight was almost 500 pages long and they had to sum those pages up into only two hours. I mean, people needed to be more realistic about it. Over all, this movie was one of the best for books turned into movies.<BR/><BR/> I believe the acting could have been better from the girl that played Bella... But over all, I loved it and I believe there are more POSITIVE points than negative for this film. I believe its a movie that can be loved by fans of the book (like me) and people that have never read it (like my boyfriend). <BR/><BR/>Lovers of Harry Potter, Maximum Ride, City of Bones, and more will love this book and movie.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie ever

    OMG this is my favorite movie ever so romantic....:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome

    I will end up buying another because I am going to wear this thing out! My kids love it as much as I do. Clearly different from the books but obvious Stephenie kept her hand in it. The bonus features are amazing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OH!!!! Don't get me started on how good this movie is.

    Yes the beloved Twilight has lighten the way. Also New moon is on the way but thats different. The love birds start to take flight and discover what it means to have found your true other half. Kristen Stewart does look the part of the heart shaped face and the hair, heck even the translucent skin. I think she is even that light for real. Or was that just that one photo. I don't know. But also the one flaw that sperates her and the book Bella is that she looks alot tougher then the book. But it's okay beacuse as the saga continues she turns out to be a fighter in the end strong brave and more potenet to the blood of humans. and of coures Robert Pattinson. Yes he is very handsome. But it's alot more than beauty that arracts bella to him. He is very smart, knows how to treat a lady, and is very passoinite. Not that i can say that to any male out there who is a player or what ever. But he does not see how special he really is. He thinks his soul is damned to the underworld and that he is being punished for a reason he does not understand. But when bella comes to his life he is blinded with beauty and talent that she does not think she has and that is why they need each other. They complete the halfs both of them are missing. It's quite beautiful if you think about it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved the movie

    If you want to escape for a while then this is the movie for you. I loved the movie and could not wait to watch it again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie - Must See at least Once

    The movie was not as good as the book (are they ever?), but is definitely worth seeing at least once. The characters were well-cast and it was well-acted in spite of some corny dialogue and slow-moving scenes.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best love stories ever!

    I can rewatch this a millions times. Can't wait for the sequels!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Edward & Bella is this generation's Jack & Rose

    Loved Twilight. Bought each copy and it was no question that I needed to buy the BluRay version. The visual was as good as though I was watching it in the theater. Felt like I was a fly on the wall watching their story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Twilight: An Unforgettable Perfomance

    A small town girl named Bella Swan moves to Forks and falls in love with a bad boy vampire named Edward Cullen. But, Bella's life is in danger when James learns she is human and wants to kill her. Edward and the Cullens try to protect her. You'll have to see the movie to find out what happens next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 950 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 48