Customer Reviews for

Under the Tuscan Sun

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Get a Great Confident Feeling

I was so inspired after seeing this movie. I don't think my feet hit the ground for days! I am only 5'2'.....but I felt 6' tall! Diane Lane was so good in this movie. I felt she was a friend by the end. If you are a woman facing life alone (as I am)...you will also feel...
I was so inspired after seeing this movie. I don't think my feet hit the ground for days! I am only 5'2'.....but I felt 6' tall! Diane Lane was so good in this movie. I felt she was a friend by the end. If you are a woman facing life alone (as I am)...you will also feel more confident... like you can go out and conquer the world. I loved it. I am currently buying it, to be able to watch it whenever I feel a little low and need an uplift. Enjoy!

posted by Anonymous on March 19, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Don't Bother

I borrowed this DVD from the library, and now that I've watched it I'm SO glad I didn't pay money for it. I did not enjoy this movie at all. It had poor character development, cheesy transitions, and an unrealistic plot. I was hoping to at least get some glimpses of of ...
I borrowed this DVD from the library, and now that I've watched it I'm SO glad I didn't pay money for it. I did not enjoy this movie at all. It had poor character development, cheesy transitions, and an unrealistic plot. I was hoping to at least get some glimpses of of beautiful Tuscany, but I was out of luck. I'd recommend not wasting your time on this one...I mean, give me a break-- a GAY tour of Tuscany!?

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't Bother

    I borrowed this DVD from the library, and now that I've watched it I'm SO glad I didn't pay money for it. I did not enjoy this movie at all. It had poor character development, cheesy transitions, and an unrealistic plot. I was hoping to at least get some glimpses of of beautiful Tuscany, but I was out of luck. I'd recommend not wasting your time on this one...I mean, give me a break-- a GAY tour of Tuscany!?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ya gotta love movies

    This movie was the bomb! It had a little bit of everything:Drama,comedy,Romance,etc. I will definitely be watching it again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2004

    Get a Great Confident Feeling

    I was so inspired after seeing this movie. I don't think my feet hit the ground for days! I am only 5'2'.....but I felt 6' tall! Diane Lane was so good in this movie. I felt she was a friend by the end. If you are a woman facing life alone (as I am)...you will also feel more confident... like you can go out and conquer the world. I loved it. I am currently buying it, to be able to watch it whenever I feel a little low and need an uplift. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delightful, lighthearted and romantic movie!

    The story starts out with Frances (Diane Lane) newly divorced writer who during divorce nogotiations leaves her house to her ex-husband. She moves in an apartment building that mostly has divirced/single tenants (one living next door-constantly crying over his divirce). On her birthday friends get her a gift: ticket on a gay tour of Italy. Something to cheer her up and forget about recent divorce, and also help her to start writing books again. After some consideration (and hearing neighbor crying over his divorce) Frances agrees to go on tour. While in Tuscany it seems like fate and all the clues/signs brings her to the old house that she buys . She makes 2 wishes: one to see a wedding in this house and another to have a family in it. Her wishes come true, but in a very unexpected way. The movie is an absolute delight. Its full of life, dreams to meet a new love and a believe in fate. A must see movie! You will fall in love with it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Visit Beautiful Tuscany Without Leaving Home!

    This movie is absolutely fantastic. Diane Lane's performance as the sweet & quirky Frances was fabulous. And, the beautiful scenery is to die for. I highly recommend this movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    One of my FAVORITE movies, ever. I must have seen it at least 50

    One of my FAVORITE movies, ever. I must have seen it at least 50 times.  A great story about friendship, loss, love, adventure,
    trusting the flow of life: What's meant to be will be & most importantly, getting back up after being knocked down.  I absolutely LOVE
    Diane Lane.  I highly recommend it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great movie

    loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I wish they had followed the book.

    Obviously the screenwriter didn't read the book. The movie was charming and the scenery beautiful but it wasn't the writer's life, just a fabricated story. Very disappointing because I loved the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Read the book, skip the movie

    Although Diane Lane is charming, the star of the novel (upon which the movie is based) is the house--and we see precious little of the expertly-written dynamic tension that was in the book. The (many invented) characters were predictable (except Oh, who is always interesting), the cliches, underwhelming. A pleasant enough way to spend an evening, but I'm sure the author must have regretted selling the movie rights.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Independent Woman

    I really enjoyed this movie- Can't decide if it was just because I had visited Italy for the first time or the fact that I am approaching the big 30. Yes, some of the elements of the big storm were actually unrealistic, yet enjoyable. I loved the message that the movie portrays- value what you have now. The main character spends so much energy wishing she had people to fufill all these different needs: i.e. finding a man, having a baby, having somebody to cook for. The movie is great for woman (or men) who value the fun of taking a chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    I absolutely love this movie..it's beautifully done and makes me want to travel to Tuscany NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Keeper!

    This has officially become my 'feel good' movie and I am buying it now!It touches upon that little bit of 'what if' that I think we all harbor inside of us and balances the doubt out with a noble ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Under the Tuscan Sun

    The movie was nice and Diane Lane gives an alright performance. The setting was terrific as the story is nice. One of those feel good drama type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a movie you'll want to watch more than once!

    What makes this movie so endearing is the positive, uplifting message it conveys at the end! It reminds all of us that life is full of all kinds of wonderful, unexpected, surprises, even when we temporarily give up all hope! We only need to take the chance! Always have faith, and it will change your life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Did the movie writers even read the book?

    Under the Tuscan Sun is a wonderful story and book. This movie resembles the book in the barest way possible. Too bad because if the writers had read and followed the book, the movie could have been great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A New, Expansive Definition For 'Love' & 'Family'

    Few movies leave their mark upon the social landscape in the manner of 'Under the Tuscan Sun.' This journey weaves a new definition of love and family in both fun and serious ways such that the audience is led to expand their definitions, overcome obstacles, and discover a new, healthy and whole inclusivity much needed in our world today. The acting is superb and the sub-plots artfully highlight the central story-line. I heartily recommend this movie as one of the finest of our time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this was good!

    this movie was urprisingly good. i thought i was gonna fall asleep after my mom rented it but i actually ended up buying it. gee, i hope i look like diane lane when im her age!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the Best

    Under the Tuscan Sun is an exceptional film that will never be forgoten. It's meaning is profound and pure. Under the Tuscan Sun is an utterly captivating and heartwarming story that just might change the way you view your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The movie of the year

    A great movie. You must see it! I thought the story was great along with outstanding acting. I'm not a mushy romantic movie lover, but this one was great. If you like romantic movies I think you would like it too. I think everyone should see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant, Bold, and Uplifting

    A moving story that breaks your heart and then gives you back your hope. Truly a journey of the human spirit filled with wonderful advice for those of us trying to survive in the real world. Wonderful cinematography! There should be some oscar nominations coming for the depth of the characters and beautiful screenplay. See this film twice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3