Customer Reviews for

Up

Average Rating 4.5
( 137 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Hang on Tight!

In short, this movie takes you on an emotional adventure like no other (or as Pixar does best). Up starts off with a heart-wrenching, tear-wiping montage, then escelates forward toward adrenaline-pumping thrills and adventure, finally bringing you back down for a very g...
In short, this movie takes you on an emotional adventure like no other (or as Pixar does best). Up starts off with a heart-wrenching, tear-wiping montage, then escelates forward toward adrenaline-pumping thrills and adventure, finally bringing you back down for a very gentle and satisfied landing, leaving your every cinematic hopes completely fulfilled. Don't hate yourself by not seeing Up (despite your age and taste). In fact, save the rental fee and just buy it if you're a collector. But then again, I really didn't need to write this reveiw. I beleive I speak for the majority when I say the Pixar logo speaks for itself: Your satisfaction guaranteed.

posted by bookin-it on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Heartwarming

I purchased this film as a gift but had the opportunity to watch it myself with the gift recipient. The trailer is deceiving as the story is much more of an adult tale, especially toward the beginning. It is certainly heartwarming and although I believe that adults wo...
I purchased this film as a gift but had the opportunity to watch it myself with the gift recipient. The trailer is deceiving as the story is much more of an adult tale, especially toward the beginning. It is certainly heartwarming and although I believe that adults would take the messages away from this more than children, the characters are bold, funny and Pixar certainly knows how to animate. I recommend the film but knocked one point off since it is marketed more toward children which I am not certain is their best market. It's message does remain with you.

posted by ChristineC3 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Delightful!

    At first, this movie is kinda sad...and when you watch it, you'll understand why within the first half hour, but after that, it really turns from tragedy to uplifting and fun! The dogs in this, primarily the main one (I love dogs), and many of the shennanigans that happen along the course of this movie are pretty funny, and the adventure the old man and the boy have is fun. More than that though, it really teaches a lot about compassion, loyalty, sacrifice, and helping those in need. I would recommend this to anyone...kids, adults, and the elderly alike. It is truly a fun and uplifting tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    UP is a precious gem from Pixar!

    The first scenes of the film introduce us to a young Carl Fredricksen, and hyper Ellie, both addicted to adventures that the great explorer Muntz has inspired. We follow them from childhood fantasies to marriage and missed opportunities for adventure, as life gets in the way. After he loses Ellie, Carl realizes that he failed to keep his promises to her.

    As Carl, and his stow-away Wilderness Explorer Russell will discover, the adventure Carl seeks when he saves his home from demolition is much more than he bargained for. Setting aside reality, we ride with them in Carl's helium balloon-levitated house, to South America, and another world that is without compare.

    Accosted by a vicious pack of dogs, Carl comes face to face with his childhood idol, Muntz, but the meeting is more sinister than he could have imagined. With the help of a loveable golden retriever named Dug, Carl and Russell fight to save Kevin, an amazing flightless bird which has been the driving force of Muntz' life for decades.

    The amazing camera work (CGI nonetheless) can be jarring, and heightens the action. The young Russell risks all to save his beloved Kevin - and Carl, and Carl learns that there is more to life than sitting in a chair, regretting the lost adventures of a lifetime. He finally keeps the promise he made to his beloved wife years before, to have a grand adventure for both of them.

    As the documentary included with the film will attest, the people at Pixar put their hearts and collective souls into research and development of this story. Adventure IS out there, and they found it as many of the creative people (including Academy Award winning Director Pete Docter) behind the film traveled to a remote area of South America that would be featured. As we saw in Dreamworks' MADAGASCAR, this attention to detail paid off in a brilliant world of adventure that was as much a part of the story as the characters or plot.

    Also included in the package are two wonderful shorts, PARTLY CLOUDY, which is as precious as any Pixar short to date, and DUG'S SPECIAL MISSION, which gives us a look at a parallel plot that ties into the film. These alone are worth the price of admission. UP proves that Pixar continues to top itself every time it releases another gem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie- A Must see

    I loved how the movie was able to take a message as important as the relationship between a young boy and an elderly stranger and show that they could have a friendship and help one another in ways that no one else could. Great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie

    This is a wonderful movie my daughter loves watching it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YOU MUST WATCH 'UP'!

    Although it's an animation, i would definitely rank it as one of the top movies of 2009...clean and vividly colorful visuals...very funny characters but with some poignant moments...definitely a movie for the entire family...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Love it!

    This movie is so sweet and funny! is a must have in your movie collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Intense

    I bought this for my 4 year old grandson, but after viewing it with him, I feel it is not age appropriate. The beginning was very emotional and made him cry. It also contained some violent scenes that were pretty scary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful adventure

    this movie had unusual storyline for a cartoon. After getting into it, I thoroughly enjoyed it all and will watch it many times over. An unforgettable adventure for every age

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another genius hit from Pixar

    The way the animators are able to depict emotion with few words and incredible storyline is why Pixar is so successful. Loved this movie and watched it multiple times. Good for kids but even better for adults. Made me laugh and cry - sounds cliche but it's true. Voices and character development was spot on. Definitely something I'll keep watching and will share with others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Up is an upper, indeed!

    It's one of the few "kids'" movies I went out and bought. Adorable characters, poignant, exciting, and just plain wonderful for all ages. The dogs are a riot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    Top rate

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    It was a good kids movie.

    An uplifting movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Christmas gift

    I bought this for my nephews (9,8, and 5) for Christmas. I saw the movie in the theater and loved it! My nephews love the movie too. One of the best animated movies made

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVE the movie 'UP'

    The movie UP is great it is gun for the whole family I have teenagers and they liked and I loved it. It is so cute the plot and the characters are funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What a cute movie

    This is a family treat. You can laugh, cry, be happy, be a little sad and see the winner at the end. I loved hearing the kids talk about this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic Inspirational Film for All Ages

    I have watched this movie nearly 6 times with my 4-year old daughter and I still laugh and cry through the entire thing. Trust me, this one will have you emotionally invested within the first 10 minutes. This is a fantastic, origional film that will surely go down in history as one of the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Squirrels!

    Awesome Movie!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet, funny, entertaining

    WONDERFUL. Didn't expect to enjoy and was highly moved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful. Bittersweet. Unforgettable.

    Very loosely based on the play "Up (The Man in the Flying Chair)" by Bridget Carpenter (published by Samuel French), UP is more of an adult film than a children's cartoon.

    Just as the case is with "The Little Prince" by Saint-Exupery, kids will find this movie delightfully entertaining, funny, and cute; us old folk will have a lot of thinking to do after the credits roll.

    Despite the (at times) heavy sadness that will grip your heart while watching the first thirty minutes of the movie, you will find the movie very uplifting and inspirational once it's over. After all, it's just an adventure!

    Highly recommended to everyone, from adults to childen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Up Is A thrill Ride

    I love this movie. It starts off being very poignant then goes on to being very funny and ends up poignant again. A delight from Disney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 137 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7