Customer Reviews for

V for Vendetta

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of my all-time favorites

    Amazing. Simply amazing. The cast is absolutely perfect, right on target. Hugo Weaving is spectacular. His performance as the masked V is truly heart-wrenching. The best part is that you never actually get to see him, his face, or know who he truly is. This movie is thought-provoking, a cinematic masterpiece, and a fabulous plot that combines all elements: action, adventure, politics, romance, and even a little bit of humor when it gets too intense. A must-see.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesting, Disturbing, Entertaining.

    V for Vendetta is a facinating futuristic gothic world run by unfair government. His efforts assist the people to their feet. With the combined efforts of himself and the people he fights the unjust government. "the people shouldnt be affraid of the government, it is the government that should be affraid of the people."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What an Explosive Film!

    "V for Vendetta" is one of the best movies I've seen in a long time. I strongly feel that everyone should have it in their personal DVD library! This movie exposes the massive deception that is regularly carried out on a daily basis by our mis-Leaders. When a tiny group of elites own the media (like in the US), it's becomes relatively easy to manipulate an entire population. Besides the action and great plot, this is one of the many things that I enjoyed about this movie. Eventhough it's classified as fiction, one can plainly see the parrallel to what has happened to our freedom in the past 5 years. The message is clear, "People should not be afraid of their governments, governments should be afraid of their people!" - Dr. Matthew J. Loop (Author of "Cracking the Cancer Code")

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Well done - a must see movie

    This film is very well done - intelligent and intricate. Pay attention, and watch it twice if you need to in order to take in all of the very relevant detail. Events in this film, especially those that lead to a totalitarian government in Britian, parallel those of recent years in the USA. Maybe, for some in the US, it will be a wake up call.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Puts a Spell on you

    This movie was spellbounding. You watch and can not believe what you are seeing. It is just awesome. To think that an actor can do and say so much with a mask on. No facial expressions at all. The book is also fantastic if you read it before watching you will want to reread it. If you never read it go get the book and read it also. They are both thought provoking stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Remember Remember the Fifth of November"

    'Remember remember the Fifth of November/ Gunpowder treason and plot~~~" "V" For Vendetta" is a powerful tale set in an Orwellian society. A futuristic Guy Fawkes with a personal vendetta against Britain's despotic government leaders teaches a young woman that "God is in the rain" while Scotland Yard's chief (Stephen Rea)begins to question the methods the prime minister uses to impose his personal policies & philosophies on the country. An excellent cast lead by Hugo Weaving as "V" & Natalie Portman as "Evey" brings this chilling futuristic tale to life. "V" proves that freedom of thought and individual liberty are powerful concepts when a nation's citizens are allowed to practice them. This is a movie that everyone should see and from which lessons can be learned.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    A Modern Legend

    A Modern Legend

    This is the story of rebellion against an Oppressive Government, a Fascist Nation. A society that could imprison anyone at will, could execute anyone, could black list any form of literature, art. music, or fiction. A Regime where all forms of Religion, Entertainment, and employment were only tools of that totalitarian system. A society where Choice was outlawed.
    V was experimented on by that government. They used him as a human lab rat. Their experiments took his memories, and enhanced his body. V's revolution was decade worth of labor, and planning. He studied his enemies, learned their psychological weaknesses, and the flaws in the political system they created. V was a hero fighting the monstrous society that created him.
    Critics of this movie call it Anti-Christian. What they failed to realize was the Regime in the movie had corrupted the Christian Church. All that remained of Christianity, in the that Regime, was a political puppet. A farce of the Church, a Mockery of all that Christ ever was. The Regime even turned the Cross into a sign of Political Dominance, instead of a sign of Christ's Sacrifice. Those who see Anti-Christianity in this movie are right. V was fighting against that Anti-Christianity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    V For Victorious

    This is my 4th favorite movie of all time. (1.Scream 2.The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo 3.Dark Shadows 4.V For Vendetta 5.The Shining) I watch this movie weekly (as i do with all my top 5) because i love it so much. I always cry at the end of the movie because it is so beautiful. Even if you havent seen it buy it anyways it is so freaking amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good purchase!

    My girlfriend and I bought this item and we loved it. It is a definate must for any movielover's collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Might Change Your Life

    This is a spellbounding action movie, with flickers in romance and a brilliant plot. It really changes the way you see things, and is a beautiful movie you will remember for the rest of your life. It helped me see things a lot differently, strongly, passionately, and for the better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie is AMAZING

    This movie is great. I was hooked by the first 5 minutes and it is very suspenseful and great through the rest of the movie. A little parts are violent while the others are scary yet still funny. This is one of my favorite movies EVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am in love with Natalie Portman

    Natalie Portman is my favorite - blessed with incredible brilliance, beauty and grace that only God is deserving of - she truly trancends Hollywood. I think that V for Vendetta and the Professional are the movies that really define her career as an actress - though they cannot even come close to defining her as a person - because only nothing is capable of that. Not even Israel nor Harvard can define her, though she is both their Queen. She is so incredible that I cannot even stand to watch her in movies anymore. That being said, if you cannot help but watch her, if you have to watch her in movies, I recommend V for Vendetta, the Professional, Star Wars part three, and Garden State -these movies may help you to fall in love with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    pretty good

    I liked this movie. I think the only thing that could have made it better was if at some point in the movie V showed his face or atleast a glimpse of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    VVow

    Anyone can tell you that this movie has amazing action sences, great special effects, and an ending that speaks for itself. But this movie dives into what happens when political powers take control and no one stands against them. Parallels can be drawn to the Halocaust though the leaders in this imagined world go about their business differently with a different purpose. The amazing character of V is brillantly three dimensional and brightens the movie with his 'smile'. The ending is not your average action movie ending and it shows the power of one person with an idea.<BR/><BR/>Very insperation and highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    V-cellent!

    Awesome, duuuuuuuuuudes! Boo to haters and yay to lovers! This movie is da smex! I mean, the political parts draw you in, the action scenes really are awe-inspiring and eye-candy, so powerful it blows you away and you really grow close to V. Be prepared for the end... &quot Behind this mask is an idea...and ideas are bulletproof.&quot -V

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies EVER!!!!!

    When I first saw the commercials for this movie, I thought it would justbe another fighting movie with relatively no plot. But on the news, I saw a short preview of the movie, and, learning that it was about a villain terrorist who is actually the hero, I became interested. After seeing it, I fell in love with the story. It is written so well, that, even though I didn't understand everything the first time I saw it, I was convinced that it was a great enough movie to watch it over consecutively. JACKPOT!! I understood the entire plot, and love the themes it displays. I love the fact that the movie portrays the government as corrupt and cruel, inspires the little people, and even defends the homosexual community!! This is one of the rare movies that has really touched me emotionally, such as the movie Cast Away. I love this movie and think that anyone and everyone should watch this movie. P.S. For those of you who plan to watch this for the first time, after the first viewing, take the time to watch it a second time, possibly with subtitles, to fully understand the dialogue (rapid British accented English) and the entire plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The greatest movie ever

    I'm so glad that I saw this movie at Game Stop, (even though I don't know why anyone would return this masterpeice), because it is now my favorite movie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great! Although not much like the comic...

    Being a fan of the graphic novel version of V for Vendetta, I would have to honestly say I was slightly disappointed at the outcome of the movie. The movie in just itself is great! I reccommend it to everyone who will enjoy some dark humour, action, and a wee bit of gore. Keep in mind, this movie and comic book was not created for the dim witted. It's a highly intelligent movie that will leave you thinking hours after it's over. And if you feel the urge to buy a mask and wear a black cape, that's completely normal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant thought provoking!

    I truly loved this movie. Even if you are not a fan of the comic movie translations this movie will truly get you thinking. I totally disagree with a previous reviewer that this film is anti Christian. I am a Christian and I feel as though the movie actually focused how fortunate we are to have free will. The Godly gift of free will and what can happen if someone tries to take it away by force. At first I didn't even want to give this movie a go. I thought oh, . . great another comic book movie adaptation and quite frankly I've been nothing but dissappointed in all the others I have seen but this movie I thought was excellent. The script was great. The special effects and fight scenes were thrilling. I did not like one thing, . . as much as I find Natalie Portman to be a wonderful actress her accent was NOT convincing and quite annoying. Otherwise watch this movie it will truly move you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    V for Vendetta

    V for Vendetta is an intriguing, thought provoking movie. Who is this man behind the mask? What will he do about this fascist regime? Do they fall in love? Who is the hero? Question after question, only, you decide the answer. V for Vendetta is a movie based from a 1980’s comic book series written by Alan Moore sharing the same name. The series was written in the United Kingdom. V for Vendetta extracts many of its ideas from the historic Gun Powder Plot. The movie’s plot shares dates, alliterations and character similarities with its historic precedent. V for Vendetta pits two ideals, anarchy and fascism. The movie takes place in Great Britain shortly after a nuclear war has destroyed all but a few countries. Those that were not destroyed face chaos, poverty and doom. Great Britain survives under a dictatorship. In the movie, V, played by Hugo Weaving, embodies the ideals of anarchy and fights for freedom. V narrowly escapes death from a lab where he is a test subject. But he does not escape unharmed. V takes refuge from his scars behind a black trench coat, white gloves and a mask. His mask is modeled after Guy Fawkes, a 17th century revolutionist in England who was hanged for his role in the Gun Powder Plot. Behind the mask, V saves citizens from the tyranny of the “fingermen,” those who carry out the demands of the ruler. In his heroism he indebts a young woman, Evey, played by Natalie Portman. Little does he know, she would return the favor and indebt him. Evey and V build a relationship, a mysterious love that derives from the hard lessons learned for a free country. Only the country is not free yet. Freedom is a choice that V gives to Evey. An entire country prepares to liberate themselves of malicious rule and unjust demise. V for Vendetta evokes a sense of patriotism. This movie is great for those who do not appreciate democracy. Though it is only a movie, it once started as an ideal and is now a reality. “Remember, remember the fifth of November.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 116 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6