BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Vanity Fair

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    Great Movie

    I enjoyed this movie set in the 18th century. It focuses on the friend ship of 2 women caught up in the turmoil or the Neopolianic War. Reese is great in this movie. If you enjoy history and the customes of this period this movie will be very enjoyable. The dance scene is awesome. Its not what you would expect from dance in that period. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Thoroughly enjoyable and gripping story.

    The actors, the story, everything made this such a treat to watch and a great "keeper" for your video library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Definitely a Thumbs Up Movie!!

    A great classic story has been brought to life with inspiring performances by many outstanding actors. As well as being a moving story, the sets and costumes are exceptional. I would recommend Vanity Fair to anyone who would appreciate a great classic done very well as a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Awesome movie

    I thought this movie was great but it is a movie that most people would have to watch a few times to understand. Bascily all this movie was about was a woman named Becky was born to a well known artist and a French courus girl so she wants more for herself and so that is what the movie trys to interpret to the viewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very good movie

    I'm surprized that so many reviewers gave this movie such low ratings. I thought this was a really good movie and will probably purchase this for my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Updated version of the book

    I thought the characters in the book were unbelievable (especially Becky and Amanda). The film version is more agreeable and more believable. I enjoyed the new twist at the end -- and the ambiguity that went with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Boring Disappointment

    This film is a tedious version of Thackeray's novel. Nair tries to integrate too much of her own culture into the story, which makes for both an uneven and, at times, discombobulated film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good start.... then fades

    Very colorful, Reese was wonderful. But the last half of the movie did not flow...it did not match with the aura of the first half. At the end of the film, all of the issues were wrapped up just a little too conveniently. I'm considering reading the book to compare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent!

    A good literary adaptation and an exciting movie. I love the book and the movie did a wonderful job portraying the novel. Anyone who loves literature should enjoy this movie. Becky Sharp is one of the most intriguing characters in literature.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could have been so much better!

    Reese does a great job in her role as Becky; the writing is tight and production values are excellent. Unfortunately, the movie makes too much use of the '12 years later' spacing to pass time (and sometimes the viewer has to intuit that some years have passed, although no one ever seems to age, except for the boys). Also, there are lengthy shots (which are gorgeous but irrelevant to the story). A good rent but buyers will be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'm just so confused

    45 minutes into this movie, my sister said that this may be her favorite movie of all time. For an hour this movie is actually funny and interesting and quite beautiful. Then we got confused. Are we supposed to like any of these people? Why was this movie so funny for an hour and now depressing and bleak? Then we got confused as to when the movie would end...is there a plot? I can't describe the disappointment because it was so funny and enchanting but I couldn't tell where it was going or if there was actually any plot at all. This movie is a chunk of Becky Sharp's life. I'm not sure if I like her or not. That's what I took from this movie. So disappointing. Also, in period pieces, guys haircuts shouldn't be what's in fashion now. Just another thing that irked us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't waste your money.

    I thought this movie was not worth my time. It was boring and way to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1