Customer Reviews for

Vertigo

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This is as good as it gets

I showed this to my class last semester- a poetry workshop, mind you- as a film I watch when I'm feeling a little lost, a little tapped out. Vertigo always brings me back in- always sets the mental bearings back into place.

As someone who writes poems for a "living,...
I showed this to my class last semester- a poetry workshop, mind you- as a film I watch when I'm feeling a little lost, a little tapped out. Vertigo always brings me back in- always sets the mental bearings back into place.

As someone who writes poems for a "living," Vertigo is something that works on all levels. Hitchcock shot it immaculately as each second has a vision in it that only he could have and one which leads the viewer into the film with the eyes ready. The first scene grabs you: what a traumatic event for anyone to survive, but it gives us Jimmy Stewart and his character's vulnerable nature right away.

If you haven't seen it, the very best is passing you by.

posted by LeoSmith on June 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappionted

No denying a great film by Hitchcock, but personally I was disappointed by the time I saw it. I had heard so many great things about it, that my expectation level for this film was far too high to be met by any movie. I became bored at certain points and was disappointe...
No denying a great film by Hitchcock, but personally I was disappointed by the time I saw it. I had heard so many great things about it, that my expectation level for this film was far too high to be met by any movie. I became bored at certain points and was disappointed by the time it was all said and done. Definitely check it out to see a Hitchcock classic, but keep your expectations at a reachable level.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    This is as good as it gets

    I showed this to my class last semester- a poetry workshop, mind you- as a film I watch when I'm feeling a little lost, a little tapped out. Vertigo always brings me back in- always sets the mental bearings back into place.

    As someone who writes poems for a "living," Vertigo is something that works on all levels. Hitchcock shot it immaculately as each second has a vision in it that only he could have and one which leads the viewer into the film with the eyes ready. The first scene grabs you: what a traumatic event for anyone to survive, but it gives us Jimmy Stewart and his character's vulnerable nature right away.

    If you haven't seen it, the very best is passing you by.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The perfect murder?

    Another brilliant masterpiece by Hitchcock. Vertigo is spellbinding, mesmerizing, visually stunning and a tense ride through the dark side of human emotion and deception with some very good twists thrown in for good measure. The score for this film is haunting and really helps you to feel the mood of the characters. James Stewart and Kim Novak give brilliant performances. Stewart and Novak are would-be lovers who are torn apart by circumstances beyond their control as well as being caused by their own volition. The cinematography is masterfully done. The distorted views and the figures appearing through mist or darkness lend themselves well to the emotional state of Stewart's tormented character. This is a must see film.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    MIND BLOWING AND EMOTIONAL!! CANT MISS THIS ONE!!

    Superbly twisted and confusing, it begs for repetitive watches to grasp everything. And boy, with this movie, you will be more than willing to watch it more than once. the commentary is so interesting, you have to watch it, because it only enhances all of the intentions of hitch that no one can grasp until it's pointed out. that's the magic of movies i suppose. the score is absolutely fabulous, it will be running through your head. You feel such empathy for Jimmy Stewart's character, as the obsessive, demanding, emotionally messed up man. His best friend Midge causes heartbreak even though she's a small character, because she wants so desperately for him to choose her, and to stop thinking about kim novak's character(s). Click add to shopping bag right now, you will NOT be sorry i told you too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Hitchcock

    Vertigo is one of Hitchcock's most mesmerizing and haunting films. James Stewart and Kim Novak give stellar performances. The bonuses are informative and intriguing. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hitchcock's Defining Masterpiece!

    Fans of Hitchcock all have differing opinions on what they consider to to be his best film. Some love the suspense and adventure of North By Northwest. Others prefer the darkness and twists of Psycho. For me, all the elements of what made him one of the great directors of all time come together in his most personal film, Vertigo.<BR/><BR/>Hitchcock was a hit by the time he made Vertigo. He had established himself as one of the most popular movie makers of his era with hits like Rebecca, Notorious and The Man Who Knew Too Much. So, with the power he had amassed in Hollywood he set out to take a chance to make movie that, at the time, could not be considered to have a very mainstream plot. Add to that, the fact that he chose to cast Jimmy Stewart, Hollywood's Everyman, in the title role of tortured former detective John "Scotty" Ferguson, Hitch was taking a gamble that audiences would embrace a tale that hiding just under the surface has some controversial themes that could leave the observant viewer a little wierded out.<BR/><BR/>In my opinion, this is Stewart's best and most nuanced performance of his storied career. He gives the character's obsession with Kim Novak's forlorn Madeline many layers which slowly peal away throught the course of the film. <BR/><BR/>Of course, the movie transitions from well-made suspense into a comment on the nature of obsession and grief when Madeline kills herself. Hitchcock was notorious for his reputation as a control freak when it came to his female characters. He obsessed over their clothes, looks, and their performances. All of that comes through in Jimmy Stewart's performance as he tries to bring his lost love back from the dead through his makeover of new girlfriend, Judy (also played by Kim Novak). <BR/><BR/>All in all, Vertigo is a seriously underrated film, and should be at the top of any serious list of the greatest movies of all time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Obsession, desire, and death

    One of the most visually beautiful films ever made, VERTIGO is a stunning Hitchcock masterwork. The soft-focus &amp pov camera work (Robert Burks) is mesmerizing as is the haunting musical score by Bernard Herrmann. Obsession has never been so suspenseful and heartbreaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappionted

    No denying a great film by Hitchcock, but personally I was disappointed by the time I saw it. I had heard so many great things about it, that my expectation level for this film was far too high to be met by any movie. I became bored at certain points and was disappointed by the time it was all said and done. Definitely check it out to see a Hitchcock classic, but keep your expectations at a reachable level.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    its a classic

    It is pre-tarantino story telling,tone down and sophisticated. The story is very dark and explores compulsion, obsession and nature of longing, maybe, you decide. There are incredible sequences of telling silences. It a mystery of what goes on inside someones head rather than whodunnit. Both Stewart and Novak are outside their typical casting. The ending is so so but the story and character are timeless. It make one think about the senselessness of it all. Each time you watch it, there's another revelation. It's a minimalist film awashed with details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Superb restoration

    If you've only seen older prints of this movie on TV, you have to see this marvellously restored version -- worth it for the lush, vibrant colors alone. The music and sound effects have also been extensively reworked.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Hitchcock's Greatest Achievements...

    at actually finding it's way to a flop movie! I had high hopes that another Hitchcock film would please my senses, but I seriously think that the big guy was trying to hard this time. It had tried to make too many great moments, and it had some, but didn't cease to come up with the greatness of Spielberg or many other Hitchcock movies like North by Northwest, Psycho, Rear Window, The Birds, and Strangers on a Train. Ultimately, when it came to a conclusion point, it went on, trying to impress the audience. His [Alfred Hitchcock's] direction potential for this is great, but poor story. This has been Daniel Amick, random BN reviewer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most romantic vision of despair ever filmed.

    Whoever said "slow movies" had to mean "boring"? At its best, an unhurried tempo is something to luxuriate in. It can lead us to a quieter age, mimic our contemporary ennui, even take us into the world of dreams. I think of "Vertigo" as part hallucination, part bubble bath. To say that this movie is about a man with fear of heights is like saying "Psycho" is about a motel with 24 hour room service. For James Stewart, the retired San Francisco cop, acrophobia is really the fear of life itself. "Vertigo" is a meditation on the idea of plunging, which is exactly what Stewart must do when he "falls" for Kim Novak, the mysterious woman he has been hired to follow. Is Novak really the reincarnation of her great-grandmother? Competing with Novak is Barbara Bel Gettes, as an authentic blonde who pales next to Novak's manufactured glamour. As an actress, Novak never exuded self-assurance, making her the perfect pawn for this Hitchcock exercise in sexual melodrama, and Bernard Herrmann's score is as haunting as Novak's performance. The film is about terror, lust and (above all) mystery. Hitchcock buffs celebrate the movie for its thematic dimensions, yet what really puts "Vertigo" over is that the entire film seems to unfold in a trance state. It's as if Hitchcock slowed down the mechanics of his earlier films, peeked through the cracks, and seen the abyss. Be sure to watch the original ending on the DVD. It should explain why certain cuts are blessedly made (The Production Code be damned!). [filmfactsman]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Hitchcock's best

    I saw it multiple times yet I always see new things that I've never seen. It is probably one of the most sophisticated film that Hitchock has ever made in his career. James Stewart is at his best, so is Kim Novak. This is probably 2 or 3 most beautiful film that I've ever seen in my life. Great acting, great screenplay, great performance, great visual effects. This is must see film for those who proclaimed themselve movie buff. This is undoubtedly best film ever made in 20th century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great

    This is very good Alfred Hitchcock movie. And a good drama .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    This is my favorite movie! Great plot, actors, and cinematography; definitely Hitchcock's best. Go see Vertigo right now!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Masterpiece from the best!

    This an amazing film and one of the best films of all time! Alfred Hitchcock, James Stewart, and Kim Novak have never done anything better! It was definitely ahead of it's time and Stewart and Novak have amazing chemistry. All I have to say is this a must to have in your video\DVD collection. Go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    vertigo

    my favorite movie,very lively and you can't miss a second of it or you will be lost.this is an alfred hichcock masterpeice.my grandmother enjoyed it 45 years ago and I enjoy it today.james stewart and kim novak are fabulas.some parts are frightnig but it is a personal favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There's nothing to say...

    ...but go buy this movie. It is a great movie; Vertigo does not rely on special effects for its attractions (like many recent movies do) but it relies on plot and depth. One of the most important cinematic creations in the 20th century, this movie still retains the power that has enthralled viewers for nearly half a century.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hitchcock's Greatest

    Alfred Hitchcock is back again with what is considered his best work ever, Vertigo, starring James Stewart and Kim Novak. James Stewart plays Scottie, a retired detective who is stricken with the fear of heights after he witnesses a fellow cop fall to his death. The story begins when Scottie is hired by Gavin Elster, a former classmate(Tom Helmore), to follow his wife, Madelene (Kim Novak), who is suspected of being possessed by the spirit of the suicidal Carlotta Valdes. Naturally, the two starring roles fall in love, but in an unlikely twist Madelene dies of the same death the acrophobic Scottie fears most. The depressed Scottie then seeks refuge in an identical-looking woman and falls in love. From here Scottie must solve the mysteries of his past. This marvelous plot, brilliant screenplay, terrific acting, and a surprise ending make Vertigo a must see film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hitchcock's Greatest

    Alfred Hitchcock is back again with what is considered his best work ever, Vertigo, starring James Stewart and Kim Novak. James Stewart plays Scottie, a retired detective who is stricken with the fear of heights after he witnesses a fellow cop fall to his death. The story begins when Scottie is hired by Gavin Elster, a former classmate (Tom Helmore) to follow his wife Madelene (Kim Novak) who is suspected of having suicidal tendencies.As he follows her he becomes aware of her unseemly behavior. She first travels to the florist to pick up a boquet of flowers. Next she stops at an old churchyard cemetary to gaze at the grave of a certain Carlotta Valdes. After that, she travels to an art gallery where she sits in a trance fixed upon a portrait of the same woman, Carlotta Valdes. This ends her trips for the day, but the next day she is out again, and Scottie is on her tail following her to the same places. However, when she is through, she proceeds to the San Francisco Bay where she jumps in in an attempt to kill herself. Scottie then jumps into the icy cold water, saves her, then takes her in. Naturally, the two starring roles then fall in love and begin to see each other. Scottie continues to investigate Madelene's awkward behavior as they are romantically involved. On one of the couple's romantic getaways Scottie plans to take Madelene to the churchyard that he has seen her in to try to get some answers. When they arrive, the spirit possessing Madelene causes her to ascend to the top of a tower and jump off killing herself in the same fashion that Scottie had witnessed before from his fellow officer. Scottie is then depressed as he feels that it was his fault because he could not follow her to the top of the tower because of his severe case of acrophobia. Scottie then seeks refuge in an identical looking woman to Madelene and again falls in love. From her Scottie must solve the mysteries of his past. This marvelous plot, brilliant screenplay, and terrific actors make Vertigo a wonderful movie watching experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2001

    One more Hitchcock classic!

    This film stars James Stewart as a retired San Francisco detective that's hired by an old friend to find the reason behind his wife¿s' (Kim Novak) recent erratic behavior. Also stars Barbara Bel Geddes. This is an exquisite film with marvelous performances by all of its actors, breathtaking California scenery, a surreal nightmare sequence and a splendid music score. This film would make a fine addition to any film collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2