Customer Reviews for

W.

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    w. d. i. k. t. a. g. w. b.

    W. was too good. Josh Brolin went too far with this character. Weeks after seeing W. I kept think how sexy Bush was and I wish I had at least voted for him once. Seriously, why do i keep thinking about george w bush?Lucky, I had only moments of girl-fever. The movie itself was very good. They made Condi look like a dunce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a MUST SEE movie, regardless of your opinions or beliefs!!! Remember how we look at past leaders now, because time will remold our opinions once more facts and less emotions are filtered!

    Is the story factually correct? Only those that were there really know. I do see some similarities in other Presidents history. Watch the movie and leave your biased opinions on the table....watch LATE AT NIGHT like I did... say 1 AM :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oliver Stone Has Done It Again With "W"

    Oliver Stone has done it again with "W". Like with his movie JFK about President John F. Kennedy and his ultimate assasination, Stone confirms in "W" what many of us thought and believed about George W. Bush. Many of the scenes can be corroborated in Scott McClellan's book What Happened.

    If you have not seen "W," I highly recommend seeing it. If you have seen "W," please post your thoughts about the movie in the comment section of my blog The Critical Thinker www.thereadingcircleblog.blogspot.com. I am Looking forward to reading your thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I dont know

    This film is very good in the sense of performances and script writing. However it is difficult to say whether or not everything that happened is true or not. On the one hand if it is than one could only determine that President Bush's biggest mistakes were letting Dick Cheney and Donald "rummy" Rumsfeld into the white house and then listening to what they were telling him. All I can say is it's easy to say what you would've done in his position. Anti Bush people are all about shoulda woulda coulda. They say things like how unintellegent he is. By saying that they are also insulting most of the people in this nation because we elected him. Twice. Other people say that his faith in God made everything worse. Honestly I sleep a lot better at night knowing that our president consulted the creator of the Universe before doing anything. Which is more than I can say for Obama. If Al Gore was elected president for all we know we would've had more terrorist attacks on american soil. See what i did there? I made a completely unfounded assumtion because I'm a conservative. I'll do it again just to make sure the bleeding hearts out there who make unfounded assumtions about Bush because they're liberals get it. If John Kerry had won in 2004 he would've pulled all the troops out of Iraq and Iran would've launched all their nukes at Iraq and us. Who knows right? Liberals need to give Bush A freakin break because what George Sr. says in the film is true. He had the hardest job in the world. Obama has so far continued to dig further down in the hole our econemy is in. Bush did the best he could with what he had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So glad he is gone

    If this movie is even half correct we're lucky he is no longer the President. Good movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Film That Will Gain Respect In Time

    W. is a film not many people want to see or even discuss because of the subject matter - the career of the country's most unpopular President, the debacle of the Iraq War, and the decimated economy. There is a certain 'guilt' that comes with criticizing the leader of the country, from both conservatives and liberals: it is not polite to condemn our elected leaders. But now with the Bush legacy daily being pushed into the past (though the after burn of that embarrassing 8 years will never completely go away), it is time for biographers to examine why the Bush version of Presidential autonomy occurred. <BR/><BR/>Oliver Stone has examined Nixon and JFK on film and now with a terse script Stanley Weiser he summarizes the life of George W. Bush, from his early bad boy drinking years and inability to hold a job through his family collisions (brother Jeb being the obvious successor to George Bush, Sr.), to his bull headed drive toward absolute power to finish the war his father didn't finish - securing the Middle East oil fields to be held by American control by fabricating the infamous Axis of Evil and Weapons of Mass Destruction as drivers to light the preemptive blundering war against Saddam Hussein and Iraq. <BR/><BR/>In lesser hands this film might have become too prejudiced a view of a president. But Oliver Stone's technique of telling a story makes this film work: we see the rise and fall of a pitifully misguided man whose judgment and lack of intelligence brought us to where we are today. Much of the success of the film is due to the casting of Josh Brolin as W., James Cromwell as Bush Sr., Ellen Burstyn as Barbara Bush, Richard Dreyfuss as the terrifying Dick Cheney, Jeffrey Wright as Colin Powell, Elizabeth Banks as Laura Bush, Scott Glenn as Donald Rumsfeld, Toby Jones as Karl Rove, Bruce McGill as George Tenet, and a puzzling performance by Thandie Newton as Condoleeza Rice. Their characterizations are remarkable and give an insider's view as to the tehniques used to change a democracy into an oligarchy. <BR/><BR/>Many people may find this film either too biased and cruel (conservatives) or too watered down (liberals), but at least Oliver Stone has once again placed a key figure on the screen for us all to ponder. In time this film will be better accepted, once the smoke clears from the past 8 eight years. Grady Harp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2