Customer Reviews for

Waitress

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Light Hearted

    I borrowed this one from my parents to watch, and though there are other movies like this I enjoy better, this one was still pretty enjoyable. I rather liked Andy Griffith's part in this, kinda comical, and I really would have liked to see Nathion Fillion and Keri Russell's character wind up together in the end, but it still had a great ending...and I really don't think Nathan Fillion's character wound up with a bad deal in the end, after you see who he's married too. Can't say I really liked Keri Russell's character's husband in this that much, Jeremy Sisto's character, but then again, you're not really suppose to like him. For the most part though, this was a pretty enjoyable movie, and the cast all did well. If you're into romantic comedies & such, check this one out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Quirky fun flick

    Love this movie. Keri Russell is a delight. Nathan Fillion (now of TV's "Castle") is to die for. I just love this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Waitress is a Gem...

    Normally a romantic comedy starring Kerri Russell and the guy from Firefly (Nathan Fillion) would raise a few eyebrows before being dismissed outright. Well, don't. Waitress is moving, inspiring, emotional, funny, and all the things a great movie should be, without insulting the audience's intelligence with banal storytelling. For that Adrienne Shelly can be thanked for that, doing the triple duty of writing, directing, and even playing a nominal role exceptionally well (sadly, she was murdered in her home not long after wrap-up, so she never saw first-hand the fruits of her labor). Also, Russell and Fillion are fantastic as an emotionally-burdened soon-to-be mother with a talent for making pies and her charming, jocular doctor who loves her, respectively. But the best part of the movie may be any part including the scene-stealing Andy Griffith as Russell's boss, the owner of the pie shop she works at. As tender as every moment in the movie is, the story of a battered woman overcoming obstacles to try and find something better while learning to love her unborn child is so real and put together so wonderfully that you can't help but smile all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Waitress

    I must admit--I braced myself to hate this film. My husband kept mentioning that it was receiving good reviews, and, having read a bit about it myself, I agreed to see it, but my expectations were not high. I was expecting a fluffy, faux-empowering chick flick what I received was a revelation. How refreshing it was for me to see a nuanced portrayal of womanhood that did not demean or trivialize its characters. The three waitresses are allowed to be vulnerable, sexy, quirky, strong, independent, and smart without playing to some well-worn stereotype. Even the men of the film are allowed layers, which is rare to see in many "girl-power" movies. The end image of Jenna, her friends, and Jenna's little Lulu is inspiring in every sense of the word. What's more, "Waitress" deviates from the standard abused-wife-finds-true-love structure to allow Jenna to find her own way. One should not venture into viewing this film if looking for a standard romantic dramedy--"Waitress" does not allow such categorization. This is truly a testament to Adrienne Shelley's prowess with words and emotions, and it is refreshing and a little heartbreaking to know that this will be her legagcy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Deliciousy fun, naughty, and sad ingredients!

    Waitress has it all baked lovingly and carefully into it's thought provoking pies -irony, humor, contempt, heartbreak, romance, adultery, discovery, and rebirth. This film is a uniquely entertaining and original character study as well as a journey of self discovery. Jenna, the main character, a pie making and pie serving waitress, takes you with her through the sometimes rocky path we must follow to find our true self. In the film, the black humor and many character flaws and misguided choices along the way cleverly lead to a feel good type ending. Terrific and divergent writing (+ directing &acting in this film) by the late Adrienne Shelly and wonderful performances by the entire cast. This film will definitely make you want to order you own slice of pie and realize that it's only human to make mistakes but neccessary to learn and grow from them...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    From the previews, I thought this was a sweet little fun movie about a single pregnant waitress. I wasn't expecting the verbally abusive husband and Jenna's repetition about absolutely not wanting the baby. However, the movie is beautifully made and the cast is wonderful. I love the made-up names for her pies. I would recommend this to people, but caution them that it's not as lighthearted as one might think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Waitress

    If I were in this story I would ask the protagonist why she married such a man as Earl in the first place, and then why she got drunk if she didn't want to get pregnant. And if I were the baby and one day came across those ugly, self-serving letters my mom the Waitress wrote I would think her every bit as vile and as destructive as her father and her boss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Tis the gift to be simple...

    4.0 out of 5 stars 'Tis a gift to be simple..., November 28, 2007 By Grady Harp (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews (TOP 10 REVIEWER) (REAL NAME) On the surface WAITRESS is a simple, honest, unpretentious, funny, tender, and sensitive film about simple people in a small Southern town: it is the core of the film, the examination of individual's choices, consequences, rights, and fraternity that makes the little Indie so special. And another feature that adds a dimension of significance to the movie is that actress/writer/director Adrienne Shelly did not live to see the magic she created: Shelly was murdered in November 2006, a loss of a superb budding talent. Using a very small cast of characters WAITRESS takes place in a Pie Diner, owned by the crusty and demanding Old Joe (Andy Griffith), managed by the grumpy Cal (Lew Temple), and run by three waitresses - frumpy little Dawn (Adrienne Shelly) looking for love, been-there-done-that Becky (Cheryl Hines) whose married to a drooling waste, and Jenna (Keri Russell), an unhappily married (to Earl - Jeremy Sisto) pie maker expert who longs to leave her marriage but has just discovered she is pregnant. She comes under the care of the OB-GYN Dr. Pomatter (Nathan Fillion -also married) and in the course of her care the two fall in love. How Jenna manages to cope with the disruptive pregnancy and the other waitresses deal with their simple lives is the crux of the story. And while this simple plot lone doesn't appear to offer much, the manner in which it is written and acted makes is a little jewel. Many are touting the emergence of Keri Russell as a serious actress as the reason for seeing this film, but the real genius behind the honest simplicity of the story is the sadly deceased Adrienne Shelly. She will be missed. In a series of fitting homages the featurettes add to the DVD version of this film. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More pie, please.

    I thought this was a very sweet film, and it made me want pie really bad. I loved all the quirky characters. Even the jerk husband was great to watch...Sisto gave an excellent performance as did Russell. I love Nathan Fillion in anything, too...and what a sexy, nervous doctor he played. Wow! Great movie overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No pie in your face here

    This is absolutely one of the best movies of 2007! A great yummy fun comedy that will make you cheer at the end. A definite must-see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2