Customer Reviews for

Walk the Line

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Movie of 2005! Goes to Walk the Line.

    Everything about this movie is great: the music, the drama, the writing, the performances. I Loved It!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS DESERVES BEST PICTURE OF 2005

    This was the best movie i saw last year and so was harry potter. I figured i'd be watching ray again no but walk the line was the best movie of 2005

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one the great moive of all times

    if you have not seen this moive yet you got to see it. it just a wonderful moive. it has everything you can ask for in a moive: dancing, singing, laughter, and most of all great drama in the mix of things. forgot one more imporant thing it has a beaufuil love story. so if you havent go out and see it. go ahead and see it. you are going to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best movie I've seen in a while.

    This movie was awesome! I've always thought that Resse Witherspoon had a certain magic on screen. She played the part so well. And so did Joaqin Pheonix (I spelled that wrong, probably!) I'd reccomend it to anyone who likes a rough road leading to a happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Johnny Cash Fan Man from Sun till death

    I own the org. LP Ring of Fire. When I was in Jr.High, I wanted to change my name to Johnny, but my parents put there foot down.This movie doesn't hold back. The actors did a GREAT job in it.There was laughter and tears from me. I don't care if they all, did not win an Oscar. In my book,an Oscar is beneath there worth. MY NAME IS MICKIE. HOW DO YOU DO!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Joaquin Deserved An Oscar!!

    This is one of the best movies I have seen ever! Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon were nothing short of Great! They both sang the songs in the movie and you can tell they did their homework. I grew up listening to Johnny Cash and June Carter and following their careers and the speech, their movements, singing, and finally the deliverance of these two characters they portrayed was phenomenal. Reese deserved the Oscar for her performance because she is an actress in the league of the best there is. She was spectacular. Joaquin Phoenix did such a great job of portraying Johnny Cash, especially with the way he moved his lips and stood and held his guitar, there were times I thought I was actually watching Johnny Cash perform. Now that is what a great actor does! If ever a Great Actor put out a performance that deserved an Oscar - this man, Joaquin Phoenix, did. I was appalled that he did not receive an Oscar for this movie! Believe me, I have watched this movie 10 times already and will probably watch it another hundred times and it is well worth the few dollars I paid for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love at First Sight

    I have always loved Johnnie Cash and was in the 6th grade when he started his career. I have always seen him from an audience perspective before until this movie. There is an intimate sharing a secret quality in the filming of the stage presentations with which I especially identified. My late husband of 35 years and I sang together for many years and I recognize that intimate approach. This perspective takes this movie out of the biopic class into the classic human drama category. Thank you so much for this testimony to the way human beings can soar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    HUGE FAN!!!!

    It was the best movie ever.It was passionate,sad, and moving all at once.I loved Reese Witherspoons performance.I loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    oh my gosh

    this movie is such a wonderful movie it had a great story although i am not really a johnny cash fan i loved this movie. reese witherspoon is a really good in this movie and i would recemmend this to anyone , its something worth your time and your money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fantastic

    Joaquin Phoenix and Reese Witherspoon did an excellent job portraying Johnny and June. I was amazed that they both did the singing in the movie. They certainly researched the people they were going to play very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies I have ever seen.

    There was never a dull minute in this movie. I don't know why the director wasn't nominated for the Oscar. Joaquin's performance should have won the Oscar. He was so good. They didn't make Johnny Cash out to be Mr. Perfect. They showed that he could be very unkind to his first wife and neglected his children. The first part of the movie where he loses his brother is heartbreaking.This movie appealed to every age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wonderful movie.

    A great movie with great acting and not to mention the singing. I nearly had a heart attack when he opened his mouth and started singing. He sounds so much like Johnny Cash! The movie was throughly romantic and funny. I loved it, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Even if you don't like Johnny Cash you'll fall in love with the movie

    I have never been a fan of Johnny Cash or June Carter. But a friend and I were going to see Harry Potter when we were told the projector had broke and the only other movie for our time was Walk the Line. To say the least we were both disappointed. Until Joaquin and Reese told the story of Johnny and June. It was a great movie, performance and love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Entertaining!

    I have not been a Johnny Cash fan, but I was intrigued enough to see this movie. Whew! What a life. All the characters seemed so natural that it almost seemed as if they were the real people. It was very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie Ever

    I love this movie so much. I saw it 6 times in movie theaters from the day it premiered to just 2 weeks ago. Joaquin Phoenix gave the perfect performance as The Man in Black. He is just amazing and looks so hot in all of those costumes!!! Anyway, Reese Witherspoon is just so awesome as June. There is no way the movie could have been better it was so amazing. They found the perfect people to star in this movie and trust me their chemistry on screen is just unbelieveable. This movie will make you laugh and cry. It's a shame that Joaquin might not win the Oscar because he could have won any other year, but who knows it might be a tie or an upset. I hope so. This movie is so worth buying on DVD. Trust me if you love Johnny Cash and Joaquin Phoenix then this is a movie i would definitely recommend. It is the perfect mix of everything and the singing is unbelieveably outstanding. Did i mention that Joaquin Phoenix looks amazing???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I am now obsessed

    I am now obsessed with John Cash/June Carter Cash. This film pulls you into their lives and their magnificent peformances of singing are nothing short of phenomenal! The fact that "Jackson" went Number One on Billboard is amazing from two people who didn't feel they could sing well anough to do their own singing in this movie. Like Oprah says " God has a bigger plan for you than you could ever have for yourself". Ain't it the truth! Since seeing the movie I have been buying Cash/Carter CDs and researching their lives. This movie has a driving force that makes you want to know these two people more and to follow them through later years in their lives. I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INCREDIBLE LOVE STORY!!

    Walk the Line is an amazing movie with an amazing script and even better actors. Before i saw this movie, I knew nothing about the life of Johnny Cash but once I saw it I fell in love with it. I even went back to see it a second time and cannot wait for it to come out on dvd! The thing that I liked most about this movie is definitely the love story between John and June. Their love story is so real and timeless you can't help but leave the theaters being jealous. Go ahead and rent the movie.........I guarantee you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Walk the Line

    I finally saw the movie "Walk the Line. Boy was I impressed. Very good movie that I'd recommend to all Johnny Cash/June Carter fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3