BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Watchmen

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What Happened To The American Dream? You're Looking At It!

I loved this movie. And I loved it the second time I went to see it just to try and absorb everything it threw at me. I also truly enjoyed the soundtrack and how it was used through-out the generational story-line.So that's it, I thought it was a fantastic adult-comic-c...
I loved this movie. And I loved it the second time I went to see it just to try and absorb everything it threw at me. I also truly enjoyed the soundtrack and how it was used through-out the generational story-line.So that's it, I thought it was a fantastic adult-comic-come-to-screen!

Ugh...I tried. I have to admit that some of our reveiws can be so informative in stressing the precision of our opinion that a person can go cross-eyed reading them.

Yes, I read Watchmen when it came out in the 1980's.I also owned a copy long before I knew they were going to make a movie. And I have been involved in reading, collecting, buying and selling comics for 30 of my 49 years. Does this mean that I have a informed opinion....????

And how about how difficult it is to interpret certain literary classics to screen? Does this mean that they should never be attempted? I would rather see an honest effort fall short than for it to never be attempted. Personally I have no problem digesting it and moving on.

Ask yourself which DUNE rendition you liked, the movie or the mini-series? Or which THE SHINING you liked, the J. Nickleson one or the Steven King produced mini-series. How about THE STAND, was this junk, and the LOTR's that could "never be filmed"....seemed like an excellant adaption to me.

So as I said, I really loved this movie. I also enjoyed the comic-DVD and the Black Freighter DVD. They all were great fun in there own ways. Ok I'm done. Time to go back to double-shifts and helping raise 4 kids. Enjoy!

posted by 746007 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Aimed for the stars, landed in a huge pile of disappointing mediocrity

*Review May Contain Spoilers*

How do you take one of the greatest comic book stories ever told, and reduce it to a meandering, claustrophobic, flashy, soul-less husk? Ask Zack Snyder. Admittedly, the opening montage was pretty phenomenal. And Rorschach was pretty per...
*Review May Contain Spoilers*

How do you take one of the greatest comic book stories ever told, and reduce it to a meandering, claustrophobic, flashy, soul-less husk? Ask Zack Snyder. Admittedly, the opening montage was pretty phenomenal. And Rorschach was pretty perfect. Beyond that, the movie stripped away almost everything I loved about the graphic novel and replaced it with this showy garbage. Case in point: the ending. Going in to this, I knew there was no squid. I knew that they removed it in order to make it more "accessible" (something which I don't understand, considered a giant NAKED blue man is in almost every shot, but not a squid. That makes no sense). What we get instead, is a messy, poorly thought out conclusion, which doesnt serve the purpose. What purpose is that? Well the squid, in the novel, was supposed to show an OUTSIDE threat. Something that would get the US and Soviet Union to unite against a common front. This made sense. The same happens in the movie, but for an entirely different reason. You see, Doc Manhattan was always publicised as the AMERICAN Superman. So lets say China has a superpowered guy that does all their dirty work. And lets say that one day he snaps and blows up not only Hong Kong, but New York. I don't know about you, but I'm still going to be ticked off at China. It's THEIR "weapon." It's THEIR fault. But, whatever. That's just the ending, right? The rest of it is so perfect, right? Wrong. There are many other scenes that miss the mark completely. Sally bringing Dan to see her mother at the end. "I love you too, Mom." What the hell is that? How about that awkwardly long sex scene, with the sickeningly embarrasing climax imagery? Degrades the scene to frat comedy level. How about the music? Can't forget the music. I could be wrong (I'm not), but I doubt Alan Moore used the quotes/lyrics to end each chapter as a Stephanie Meyer-ian "soundtrack" to the book. It was not an excuse to use those EXACT songs in the movie. They didnt fit. At all. Then again, they fit better than that My Chemical Romance garbage that played throughout the credits. What I don't get is how the trailers, the stinkin TRAILERS used good music, but the movie gets a horrible mashup of Tyler Bates, Phillip Glass (though awesome), and random classic rock staples. The most irritating was the constrained cinematography. Look, I know that Snyder became an uber-success story with 300 (another shallow piece of eye candy, but at least the source material was the same). But his panel-to-screen adaptations give the movie a shoebox feel. Like the actors/characters are rats, and they're running around in this wholly confined space. You need to let the scenes BREATH. Did it look like the comic? Sure (except for those horrible costumes). But that isnt the point. The art was never what made Watchmen. It was the story, the characters, the sense of urgency. This movie felt like a group of faithfully adapted scenes, not a faithfully adapted piece as a whole. The problem is, the film had potential. You could see it, but somewhere along the line it faltered. It isnt bad. It isnt Elektra. But at least you sort of KNEW Elektra would fail. It was so bad that you could write it off. This movie left me indifferent, and sometimes that's far worse than being flat out horrible.

posted by Alfeetoe on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Aimed for the stars, landed in a huge pile of disappointing mediocrity

    *Review May Contain Spoilers*

    How do you take one of the greatest comic book stories ever told, and reduce it to a meandering, claustrophobic, flashy, soul-less husk? Ask Zack Snyder. Admittedly, the opening montage was pretty phenomenal. And Rorschach was pretty perfect. Beyond that, the movie stripped away almost everything I loved about the graphic novel and replaced it with this showy garbage. Case in point: the ending. Going in to this, I knew there was no squid. I knew that they removed it in order to make it more "accessible" (something which I don't understand, considered a giant NAKED blue man is in almost every shot, but not a squid. That makes no sense). What we get instead, is a messy, poorly thought out conclusion, which doesnt serve the purpose. What purpose is that? Well the squid, in the novel, was supposed to show an OUTSIDE threat. Something that would get the US and Soviet Union to unite against a common front. This made sense. The same happens in the movie, but for an entirely different reason. You see, Doc Manhattan was always publicised as the AMERICAN Superman. So lets say China has a superpowered guy that does all their dirty work. And lets say that one day he snaps and blows up not only Hong Kong, but New York. I don't know about you, but I'm still going to be ticked off at China. It's THEIR "weapon." It's THEIR fault. But, whatever. That's just the ending, right? The rest of it is so perfect, right? Wrong. There are many other scenes that miss the mark completely. Sally bringing Dan to see her mother at the end. "I love you too, Mom." What the hell is that? How about that awkwardly long sex scene, with the sickeningly embarrasing climax imagery? Degrades the scene to frat comedy level. How about the music? Can't forget the music. I could be wrong (I'm not), but I doubt Alan Moore used the quotes/lyrics to end each chapter as a Stephanie Meyer-ian "soundtrack" to the book. It was not an excuse to use those EXACT songs in the movie. They didnt fit. At all. Then again, they fit better than that My Chemical Romance garbage that played throughout the credits. What I don't get is how the trailers, the stinkin TRAILERS used good music, but the movie gets a horrible mashup of Tyler Bates, Phillip Glass (though awesome), and random classic rock staples. The most irritating was the constrained cinematography. Look, I know that Snyder became an uber-success story with 300 (another shallow piece of eye candy, but at least the source material was the same). But his panel-to-screen adaptations give the movie a shoebox feel. Like the actors/characters are rats, and they're running around in this wholly confined space. You need to let the scenes BREATH. Did it look like the comic? Sure (except for those horrible costumes). But that isnt the point. The art was never what made Watchmen. It was the story, the characters, the sense of urgency. This movie felt like a group of faithfully adapted scenes, not a faithfully adapted piece as a whole. The problem is, the film had potential. You could see it, but somewhere along the line it faltered. It isnt bad. It isnt Elektra. But at least you sort of KNEW Elektra would fail. It was so bad that you could write it off. This movie left me indifferent, and sometimes that's far worse than being flat out horrible.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    What Happened To The American Dream? You're Looking At It!

    I loved this movie. And I loved it the second time I went to see it just to try and absorb everything it threw at me. I also truly enjoyed the soundtrack and how it was used through-out the generational story-line.So that's it, I thought it was a fantastic adult-comic-come-to-screen!

    Ugh...I tried. I have to admit that some of our reveiws can be so informative in stressing the precision of our opinion that a person can go cross-eyed reading them.

    Yes, I read Watchmen when it came out in the 1980's.I also owned a copy long before I knew they were going to make a movie. And I have been involved in reading, collecting, buying and selling comics for 30 of my 49 years. Does this mean that I have a informed opinion....????

    And how about how difficult it is to interpret certain literary classics to screen? Does this mean that they should never be attempted? I would rather see an honest effort fall short than for it to never be attempted. Personally I have no problem digesting it and moving on.

    Ask yourself which DUNE rendition you liked, the movie or the mini-series? Or which THE SHINING you liked, the J. Nickleson one or the Steven King produced mini-series. How about THE STAND, was this junk, and the LOTR's that could "never be filmed"....seemed like an excellant adaption to me.

    So as I said, I really loved this movie. I also enjoyed the comic-DVD and the Black Freighter DVD. They all were great fun in there own ways. Ok I'm done. Time to go back to double-shifts and helping raise 4 kids. Enjoy!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who watches the Watchmen?

    I did! It was a great adaptation of the graphic novel, which I read shortly before the movie was released in the theatres. Although, anyone who has read the novel probably would pick the movie apart for what it's worth. Some of the actors didn't fit the role, and some things were left out, and (gasp!) changed. The book had a darker feel to it than the movie did. Plus, the movie was harder to understand than the novel was. I did feel sympathy for Dr. Manhattan in the novel when his g/f left him for another man, but in the movie, you don't have much sympathy at all for him. Particularly the part in the novel that Nite Owl and the Silk Spectre were making love in front of him which is completely left out of the movie. Also, if you can't tell who the villain is within the first 10 minutes of the movie, you are dense. It is far too obvious the way this character came off. But overall, the movie stayed true to the novel and worked in a lot of ways. The message is still there.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the smartest movies in the last decade

    Watchmen is simply stunning. The effects, actors, and direction are all top-notch, however the story is the true highlight of this film. Few other films have critiqued America's foreign and domestic policies of the last 50 years as intelligently as Watchmen. Though the movie is dark, it is not without a hopeful ending. If you have not seen this movie please do. It should become a classic.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Do we seriously still have to wait for this!?

    This is one of the best films I've ever seen. It stayed very true to the graphic novel which was great, because that piece of art you just don't mess with! The actors they picked to be the characters were great all around - no one could've been better. I also loved how they didn't update it, like most of the comic-book-turned-films have been. If you were to update this story you'd butcher it, so it was wise on the film makers' part to keep it true to the graphic novel. DO NOT miss this! It is a masterpiece!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a classic!!

    The movie was brilliant. It leaves you open to discuss life on many levels. From human interaction to global politics. In a what could have been world the viewer gets a chance to look inside the characters, governments and and yourself. The visuals are great. The story has a fantastic edge but sections are still believable. Like a Dan Brown novel. Every aspect from the acting and directing to the brilliant writing and cinematography is great. It will appeal to those who want pure escapism to anyone willing to dig into the social and personal commentary.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mind Blowing!

    I can't honestly say that I read the graphic novel before I watched the movie, though I wanted to, but either way...this is definitely added among some of the most amazing, mind blowing movies I have ever seen. I went right out after work early on the morning of it's release and rented it from a Red Box and watched it after I got home. I went right out that evening after I slept and bought a collector's edition copy of it. It was amazing! I had wanted to see it in theatres, but I never got a chance to, but oh well. I really like graphic novel/comic book based movies as it is, and this one was particularly unique to me. It's emotional, powerful, explosive, humorous, visually stunning, exciting, sexy, and shocking all rolled into one...and I found it rather engrossing and just totally awesome. By the end of the movie, I was just like "Wow!" I have read that some people were just a tad disappointed about some things that were not evident between the graphic novel and movie, but even so...the movie itself was an amazing movie in and of itself. I definitely would like to read the graphic novel now though, at some point, and see the story in it's orginality and kind of compare, but regardless, I still love the movie for what it is. The moment I finished watching it, it automatically joined a slue of others as one of my all time favorite movies. PARENTS! As a forewarning, though I'm sure most of you are smart enough to check out the rating stuff and everything, this is not a kids movie. It may be based off of a comic book/graphic novel and may look kind of cartoon like in style, but it contains violence, some gore, some foul language, and some nudity/sex. Watch this one apart from the kiddies. Having said that though, none of that stuff wasn't anything I couldn't overlook, because the movie as a whole was truly sensational, and I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys these kind of movies, or that just enjoys movies that are deep and that shock & amaze. Go buy a copy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Aimed for the stars, landed in a huge pile of mediocrity

    *Review May Contain Spoilers* How do you take one of the greatest comic book stories ever told, and reduce it to a meandering, claustrophobic, flashy, soul-less husk? Ask Zack Snyder. Admittedly, the opening montage was pretty phenomenal. And Rorschach was pretty perfect. Beyond that, the movie stripped away almost everything I loved about the graphic novel and replaced it with this showy garbage. Case in point: the ending. Going in to this, I knew there was no squid. I knew that they removed it in order to make it more "accessible" (something which I don't understand, considered a giant NAKED blue man is in almost every shot, but not a squid. That makes no sense). What we get instead, is a messy, poorly thought out conclusion, which doesnt serve the purpose. What purpose is that? Well the squid, in the novel, was supposed to show an OUTSIDE threat. Something that would get the US and Soviet Union to unite against a common front. This made sense. The same happens in the movie, but for an entirely different reason. You see, Doc Manhattan was always publicised as the AMERICAN Superman. So lets say China has a superpowered guy that does all their dirty work. And lets say that one day he snaps and blows up not only Hong Kong, but New York. I don't know about you, but I'm still going to be ticked off at China. It's THEIR "weapon." It's THEIR fault. But, whatever. That's just the ending, right? The rest of it is so perfect, right? Wrong. There are many other scenes that miss the mark completely. Sally bringing Dan to see her mother at the end. "I love you too, Mom." What the hell is that? How about that awkwardly long sex scene, with the sickeningly embarrasing climax imagery? Degrades the scene to frat comedy level. How about the music? Can't forget the music. I could be wrong (I'm not), but I doubt Alan Moore used the quotes/lyrics to end each chapter as a Stephanie Meyer-ian "soundtrack" to the book. It was not an excuse to use those EXACT songs in the movie. They didnt fit. At all. Then again, they fit better than that My Chemical Romance garbage that played throughout the credits. What I don't get is how the trailers, the stinkin TRAILERS used good music, but the movie gets a horrible mashup of Tyler Bates, Phillip Glass (though awesome), and random classic rock staples. The most irritating was the constrained cinematography. Look, I know that Snyder became an uber-success story with 300 (another shallow piece of eye candy, but at least the source material was the same). But his panel-to-screen adaptations give the movie a shoebox feel. Like the actors/characters are rats, and they're running around in this wholly confined space. You need to let the scenes BREATH. Did it look like the comic? Sure (except for those horrible costumes). But that isnt the point. The art was never what made Watchmen. It was the story, the characters, the sense of urgency. This movie felt like a group of faithfully adapted scenes, not a faithfully adapted piece as a whole. The problem is, the film had potential. You could see it, but somewhere along the line it faltered. It isnt bad. It isnt Elektra. But at least you sort of KNEW Elektra would fail. It was so bad that you could write it off. This movie left me indifferent, and sometimes that's far worse than being flat out horrible.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Way too long, way too convoluted

    I understand all of the hype behind Watchmen, and I must say I was excited to see it after seeing the trailer for it. I never read the graphic novel, nor do I plan to, so that may have had something to do with my distaste for this. However, this is not to say I dislike comic book movies. I loved Batman Begins and The Dark Knight as well as V For Vendetta (also an Alan Moore graphic novel before becoming a feature film); I loved them because they were well constructed and had great dialog. Watchmen had neither of these. The plot seemed to plod along, the dialog was amateur at best and the characters never seemed real. I could never get a feeling that they deserved my empathy. Add this to what I consider to be the most awkward sex scene in recent memory and you've got yourself a stinker.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    awasam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awasam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    Amazing! juts too amazing you need to see it i loved it it needs to be made into a sequel and wow i just loved it. i need to see it again, i wanna but it wow i cant wait tilli buy it wow its soo amazing wow i cant beleive it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You thought you knew superhero's?

    Think again. All superhero and sci-fi movies have characteristics that make them what they are. The reserved, troubled, unassuming superhero that steps up to save the world, kicking ass along the way, while occasionally getting his or her ass kicked as well (Must set up those emotional comebacks!). The awesome, unknowable force that can implode space and time, or genetically restructure entire species. We know these movies are like this, and Watchmen embodies these kinds of plot strategies with gusto. But Watchmen provides a little touched center. The innate brutality that exists in people - good, heroic types as well as the villains. Each of the characters in this movie display the ugly, savage, self-centered id that resides in each of us without trying to apologize for it. That is what I call refreshing. From Silk Spectre's self-righteous, I-know-it-allness to Night Owl's wimpish condescension. From Dr. Manhattan's human-undermined godhood to the Comedian's sheer, ecstatic savagery, this movie offers something which is truly different and fun. May more movies of this genre stretch the limits of decency!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this is not worth the money

    if i wanted to see a soft porn, i would have turned on a cable channel that puts on soft porn. it was three hours worth of nothing! the only redeeming qualities were Dr. Manhattan and Roschack characters. the visuals were excellent, but other than that it is not worth buying or renting.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3