Customer Reviews for

We Are Marshall

  • McG
Average Rating 5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Inspiring & Entertaining

    This is a must-see movie for all college football fans out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring

    On November 14, 1970, Marshall University Thundering Herd football team players, coaches, and boosters boarded Southern Airways Flight 932 following a 17-14 loss to the East Carolina Pirates. Less than an hour after takeoff, the plane crashed in a wooded area about a mile from the Tri-State Airport in Huntington, West Virginia, killing everyone on board.

    We Are Marshall tells the inspiring story of how the city of Huntington and Marshall University were able to recover from the tragedy. As we watch the rebuilding take place, we realize that you don't have to outscore your opponents to be a winner.

    Matthew McConaughey stars as Jack Lengyel, the coach hired to rebuild the Marshall football program from scratch. David Strathairn plays Donald Dedmon, the gutsy Marshall University president who provides the leadership needed to make it all happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of a kind

    Making movies about true events is a risky challenge for any director. In the movie We Are Marshall I thought director Boaz Yakin and his co-workers did a wonderful job. A college football team that was so important and beloved by a small town was wiped out in a horrific plane accident. With such a tragic and meaningful event I couldn't imagine the challenge that Boaz and the actors went through.
    The main character, Matthew McConaughey, delivers an amazing performance. The quirkiness and distinct accent that McConaughey must portray is only the beginning of this tough test. In a role that has him put emotion and passion into a bunch of scared and helpless young men, McConaughey tackles it brilliantly by imitating his character to a tee.
    Matthew Fox is the co-star. Representing a coach who was blessed and survived the tragic event, he puts out a performance in which he overcomes heartbreak through all odds.
    Sports movies based on true events usually let the sport aspect take over the message that the director and crew want to represent. Grabbing people's attention and holding it throughout every second of the movie is important. The film keeps people interested by having the emotions of all the characters change and face life-changing decisions.
    McConaughy makes an immediate impact when he comes into the movie, changing the attitude from sad to fun. Being able to laugh when sad and in a bad mood is one of the best feelings in the world. As in real life, other characters are hesitant to accept fun or to start laughing but then you get to the point where you can let it all out, and as you are watching you feel the change like it just happened to you. One of my favorite scenes is when a member from the old team hears a member from the old team crack open a beer that he was saving. At first it was a surprise to the audience and then there was a sense of what happens next? A major turning point occurred when the character cracks open a beer himself.
    My favorite lesson from this movie is that failure and giving up are linked. At a board discussion on the state of the team for the next year a member of the old team barged in and went straight to the window. Thousands of students stood outside staring at the people of the board screaming, "WE ARE MARSHALL!" The main point throughout the movie is to prove that rebuilding a football team was the right choice. By not giving up and allowing a board to see the devotion of all people associated with their school, the town itself paved the way for success.
    Another reason to be easily attracted to this movie is the director Boaz Yakin. Not long before this movie he directed the movie Remember the Titans. The movies both have football as a focal point, but differ in the points being made and lessons learned. Both are true stories and have very serious storylines that are imprinted in history. Boaz took this and ran away with it. Remember the Titans was a very influential movie and if you are interested in the work that was done by Boaz in that film you will be equally satisfied with this one. Making true stories into movies is risky, but when done properly can have serious impact on the viewer. Both teach the importance of overcoming adversity. Life lessons are learned when a person has the courage to stand up to adversity. We Are Marshall deals with the tragedy of the everyday occurrence, death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A funny tear-jerker

    When I first saw this movie I cried through the whole thing. McConaughey played an excellent role that was funny and humorous that kept the film from being utterly tragic. With wonderful performances from all the actors and a stellar plot and storyline, We Are Marshall is a must-see DVD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    McConaughey did a fine job. Once I got past his character's eccentricities, I really enjoyed the film! Not a Matthew Fox fan either, but he really got a chance to show he has chops. I don't like football a whole lot either, but ultimately this film is not 100% about football. It is about overcoming grief, adversity and the ugliness of life to stand up and say bring it on! I loved this movie, even though I had 3 strikes against it, it moved me. Favorite scenes- &quot We are Marshall&quot chant at the board of governors meeting &amp the confrontation between Jack &amp Nate when he begs not to be benched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible Story

    This is the true story of one - if not THE -worst disaster in sports history. Yet despite the despair, the real story is about the human spirit. It's wonderful for families and anybody - not just a football movie! Good acting, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tremendously moving story.......

    This is a fantastic movie. Well worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL MOVIE, FOR EVERYONE!!

    I loved the movie: made me laugh, and cry, and feel good about the human race. It's not all about football: it's about football and the people behind it. I don't like love stories, or mushy movies...this was neither. My 19-year old son like it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1