Customer Reviews for

We Were Soldiers

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A "must own" for my collection

    We Were Soldiers is a "must own" for my new blu-ray collection. This movie has been one of my favorites since the first viewing. Mel Gibson may have lost popularity this past decade, but he can certainly act. I don't know the real Lt. Col. Hal Moore, but the man on screen seems to embody the character. Gibson plays a convincing family man, officer, and soldier with the ease only few actors can claim. The film is an intense drama infused with a touch of light-hearted humor to offset the graphic Vietnem scenes and emotional Fort Benning scenes. Screenwriter Randall Wallace used this same device which worked so well in the film Braveheart in which Gibson also starred. Sam Elliott, Greg Kinnear, Barry Pepper, and Keri Russell shine in their supporting roles. This film is not for the fainthearted. It is a rollercoaster of intense battles and emotional roller-coaster rides that were actually true.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    the most real war movie out there

    this movie is so incredibly good and about the guy who ripped it and the war in Iqah my brother is in the USMC and brave men and women fight in this blunder as you call it so we can stay free and liberals like you can sit on your butts and write reviews ripping the war they fight so hard in!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A powerful film about the American Soldier!

    Mel Gibson partners up with his Braveheart screenplay writer Randall Wallace to tell this true-life story of General Hal Moore (Mel Gibson) and his Calvary Platoon who fought in the first official battle against the Viet Cong in what was called the Valley of Death. This is an unwavering patriotic film about Americans in Vietnam and in my own personal opinion is long overdue. However right or wrong it was to be there, it was not the fault of the soldier and they did not deserve the treatment they received when they came home. To add to that sentiment I feel that soldiers fight for their country until they are in the thick of combat and then it is for each other. General Moore studied the history of the Valley of Death and desperately wants to avoid the massacres that have occurred there previously with the French and the British soldiers and takes it upon himself to train his troops to the breaking point to make sure they are ready for the hell that is about to come. I found myself moved to tears watching this movie at the heroism and sacrifice among the insanity of war and regretted not getting to see it in the theaters. Everyone should see this film if only to honor the memory of the men who fought in Vietnam.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A powerful portrayal of wartime events

    Right from the beginning, you're drawn in. You first get a sense of who Hal Moore is, just a normal guy with a family, caught in war times. As he and his men train and go to battle, you really feel for them, seeing that soldiers aren't crazy killers, just men fighting for each other. This accurately portays the real side of soldiers, and the ugly face of war. The men don't enjoy the killing, they only love their country's cause, and each other. Through this film, you can see through a soldier's eyes how evident these truths are. But not only does this film show the solider's viewpoint, but also their families, as the scenes change between battles in Vietnam, and the battles that the families members must fight with at home, constantly fearing the loss of a loved one. This movie keeps you entertained from beginning to end, while all the while portraying the devastating effects of battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good!

    I love this movie. It really touches you in that sad way. It shows us the results of war. This movie has great action suspense, humor, drama, and romance. This movie is definately worth a check.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a wonderful movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This movie is a moving experence. If you are looking for a movie that tells about a soldier in a time of war then this movie is for you. It has parts in the movie that will make you cry and parts that will make you out right angry. But all in all it gives you an idea of what soldiers and their families go through in a time of war (despite what some people my say).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    To all the military, ''Thank You!''

    I have seen this movie probably a total of 4 times and each time I see it, I walk away with so much pride for our country and our military. I have always supported our military and this movie shows just how much they give to let us live the way we do. Mel Gibson is such a good actor. He makes this movie come alive, so that you can really understand the emotional trama that these men really went through. This is an excellent movie and I would suggest it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We were soldiers was purely apolitical for and about the definition of a soldier

    If you could leave the why out of wars, then you would have an apolital look at war. War is suffered mainly by the combatants of the war. Not to minimize the non-combatants suffering which have little or no choice in the conflict, but to further enhance the fact that soldiers have little or no choice as well. Soldiers are the very definition of apolitical. They fight not for a party or even a country. As this film will elaborate to, they fight for each other and the ideal that what they are fighting for is ultimately the survival of not only themselves but the for the survival of thier fellow countrymen and heirs thereof. Soldiers is a look at comraderey in it's finest hour. Sacrifice should be the underlying theme. But sacrifice to what end? That is what you the viewer must ulitmately decide. At the very heart of sacrifice is not politics, it would have to be more than that. It would have to be for someone you care for. Because only another person can make you sacrifice your self for them or others. I don't believe the ideal is as important as the person. Therefore in this movie we see each other and what would we do in a similar situation. Indeed people believing in the honor of your team or company coming before yourself. What a concept.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Realistic and patriotic

    This movie was very sad and depressing. At the same time, it sparks extreme patriotism and honor towards the veterans who fought for the U.S. You must see this to get an idea of what our soldiers did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best wr movies.

    This movie isn't just about the graphic violence it shows. It has a good storyline, which some other war movies lack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Real And Touching

    With all that is going on in the world today this movie brings it all to reality. It is a heart felt movie that brought me tears of honor for the men who faught for our freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    very exciting and hair raising very original

    i feel that this video is a very good example of ehat the war was like and how the families of the men who were at war coped with all the presures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A war no one wants to remember but no one ever forgets

    Mel Gibson portrays Col. Moore and captures the essence of a leader that every soldier would follow into battle anywhere, anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest movie i ever saw!!!!!!!!!!!

    We Were Soldiers was the best movie i ever saw, Mel Gibson gave an outstanding performance. All the actors did. I give it a 5 star rating. And it should be nominated for an award!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Respect for Soldiers

    From the very beginning, I was captivated by the musical score for the picture as well as the mutual respect for both the American and Vietnemese forces that fought in the battle of Ia Drang. The movie as a whole is incredible from the acting of all involved as well as the direction; I was particularly touched by the paternal nature of the lead officers (Gibson and Elliot) to their troops and their dedication to their country, no matter the problems involved. The effects were appropriatly fascinating and disturbing, showing the realities of battle and reflecting the reason why Americans were horrified to see this for themselves originally. An excellent reminder for the brevity of life and need for the timeless values of honor, integrity, love, and respect. I was and am glad to see a movie that honors those that were honorable in such a horrific period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I was in this battle

    I was in this battle with the 1st BN(Airborne), 8th Cav, 1st Air Cav Divison. We were first on the battlefield, left to go to another landing zone, and returned at the tail end of the battle. So realistic was this movie, that I was scared all over again-expecially at night. This was first time I saw dead American soldiers. A tribute to those 7th Cav soldiers who foutht so gallantly. Most realistic of VN movies. I knew many who died. They were honored in the book and movie. This must win many Academy Awards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very possibly the best movie I have ever seen

    I was 4F during Vietnam (blind in 1 eye) but always wanted to be a soldier. I am the son of a WWII Disinguished Service Cross holder and very proud of my country and the men who have given of themselves to defend it. This movie evoked emotions that a 51 year old man seldom acknowledges. While watching the drama unfold, I was constantly on the brink of tears but when the North Vietnamese commander removed the small American flag from its resting place, I sobbed like a child. This movie was extremely well done and makes no apologies for its patriotic stand. It made me proud of America and proud that, in this PC world, we still have men willing to go on record as patriots. Thank you to all involved and most especially, thank you to Major General Moore and Joe Galloway for making sure the story got told correctly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Vietnam War Movie

    An exceptional movie. As a Vietnam veteran, I can say that the makers of this film stayed close to the feel of things in the 1960s, both here in the U.S., and overseas in Vietnam. It is also a testiment to the superb book by LTG Hal Moore and former UPI War Correspondent Joe Galloway who co-authored the book on which this film is based. Incidently, Joe Galloway is the only civilian war correspondent to have been awarded the Bronze Star with ''V'' device for valor by the U.S. Army. Joe is known, with true justification, as the ''Ernie Pyle of his generation.''

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best war movie in a long long time

    This movie makes the point all the others war movies tried to make. For anyone who was alive during Vietnam and especially for those who weren't this movie will make quite an impact and make you realize no one ever really wins a war.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You Could Have Heard A Pin Drop

    At the conclusion of the movie, when the actual names of those involved were being scrolled through, you could have heard a pin drop in the theater (except for an occasional sniffle). Everyone, and I mean everyone, in the theater was numb, and the proper respect for the men who fought the war was given. NO CONVERSATIONS WERE TO BE HEARD. It was as if we were in church or standing on the blood-soaked and hallowed ground ourselves. For the first time, a closure on the Viet Nam War was at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2